Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Reducie Condo
AMPS 110
+1 86
+2 66
+2.75 62
+3.5 49
+4 58
+4.5 71
+5 76
+6.5 76
+8 81
+11 126
PMPS 109
+3 129
+5.5 183
Leo earned a Reducie last yesterday afternoon, and to my utter surprise 1) didn't bounce after scraping the bottom of the green lagoon and 2) didn't go high after last night's reduction. Wonders never cease. He will go higher today though. He must, else he mock me.
Today's Condo is dedicated to the "Marje Read my Mind" post that Marje put up yesterday called 10/16 TODAY'S LESSON--REDUCTIONS and my reaction to it. I'd started steering Leo before her post, and he was recovering from a little bounce because I'd lowered his dose for safety so I could go to work and then raised it back that night. He hadn't earned that reduction in my mind at that point. So I thought, dammit, I'm not taking a reduction for a 49 when this is a bounce recovery. Then Marje's post went live ONE HOUR after Leo hit a 49 and I thought, is she sending this out to me? And I continued to steer Leo.
Now as it happens, yesterday, I was simply exhausted. I'm either sick right now, or my body has shut down and forced me to stay home and take afternoon naps. But I continued to steer Leo into a surf (and dammit I'm proud I did it without causing a spectacular bounce to pinks/reds at the end of the cycle - yay for mamabean!). And I started wondering about the folly of a night of greens with its concomitant alarms and continued exhaustion, despite the delight of wonderful surfs.
So considering the circumstances, I asked for reduction advice. Both Dyana and Libby recommended a reduction based on the fact that 1) he came darn close to earning one a few days prior on 10/14 and 2) I had to steer him early in yesterday's cycle with some 20% yesterday. I didn't want to play the "it was a 49 and with meter variance it doesn't count as a reduction" card. I played that card once on 10/2 and it was the right thing to do at the time. But I also took a reduction once on low 50's on 9/2 (rather than waiting to go below 50) because that day it was also the right thing to do, looking at the Big Picture. So the protocol is the protocol, but what I've been told before it that the protocol is a guideline. I'm learning that it should be taken as such 1) because ECID and 2) it should be viewed within the Big Picture of the last several cycles.
Thanks Marje, for a very timely post. I'm not the only one you poked (inadvertently or not) into thinking about (and taking) a deserved reduction.
Many thanks go out lost of you for your advice and support throughout the day. Dyana and Libby for dose recommendations. Mannie the Kitteh Barista for a special brew yesterday morning, and Maggie for coming over to keep Leo company last night. Also to Jane and Karre, Ann and Maggie, Michelle and Mannie, Teresa and Poopy, Rhiannon and Shadow, Ann and Muffin, Wendy and Neko, Melanie and Racci (Happy Birthday again!), Leslie and Jasper, Barb and Checkers, Carla and Furball, Ann and Zener, Karen and FurrBall, and Deborah and Shasta. Hope I didn't miss anyone.
Leo is Leo. Slept with me all night. I got up this morning, shot him, set up the feeder for his +1 and set the alarm for +2. Got up and the feeder didn't open all the way :shock: And he'd been surfing blues in the night and he shed is dumping. It was half cocked so either I didn't align it well when I put it in, or Farty Leo has started to realize he can force the wheel to move, and made it jump the tracks. Sigh. Hopefully just Bean Error.
I slept for a whole 6 hours in a row for the first time weeks - Yay! And got another nearly 2 hours after the shot - yay! But still ordering out from Mannie, but dear Coffee Kitteh!
Have a great day all!
Lisa & Leo
AMPS 110
+1 86
+2 66
+2.75 62
+3.5 49
+4 58
+4.5 71
+5 76
+6.5 76
+8 81
+11 126
PMPS 109
+3 129
+5.5 183
Leo earned a Reducie last yesterday afternoon, and to my utter surprise 1) didn't bounce after scraping the bottom of the green lagoon and 2) didn't go high after last night's reduction. Wonders never cease. He will go higher today though. He must, else he mock me.
Today's Condo is dedicated to the "Marje Read my Mind" post that Marje put up yesterday called 10/16 TODAY'S LESSON--REDUCTIONS and my reaction to it. I'd started steering Leo before her post, and he was recovering from a little bounce because I'd lowered his dose for safety so I could go to work and then raised it back that night. He hadn't earned that reduction in my mind at that point. So I thought, dammit, I'm not taking a reduction for a 49 when this is a bounce recovery. Then Marje's post went live ONE HOUR after Leo hit a 49 and I thought, is she sending this out to me? And I continued to steer Leo.
Now as it happens, yesterday, I was simply exhausted. I'm either sick right now, or my body has shut down and forced me to stay home and take afternoon naps. But I continued to steer Leo into a surf (and dammit I'm proud I did it without causing a spectacular bounce to pinks/reds at the end of the cycle - yay for mamabean!). And I started wondering about the folly of a night of greens with its concomitant alarms and continued exhaustion, despite the delight of wonderful surfs.
So considering the circumstances, I asked for reduction advice. Both Dyana and Libby recommended a reduction based on the fact that 1) he came darn close to earning one a few days prior on 10/14 and 2) I had to steer him early in yesterday's cycle with some 20% yesterday. I didn't want to play the "it was a 49 and with meter variance it doesn't count as a reduction" card. I played that card once on 10/2 and it was the right thing to do at the time. But I also took a reduction once on low 50's on 9/2 (rather than waiting to go below 50) because that day it was also the right thing to do, looking at the Big Picture. So the protocol is the protocol, but what I've been told before it that the protocol is a guideline. I'm learning that it should be taken as such 1) because ECID and 2) it should be viewed within the Big Picture of the last several cycles.
Thanks Marje, for a very timely post. I'm not the only one you poked (inadvertently or not) into thinking about (and taking) a deserved reduction.
Many thanks go out lost of you for your advice and support throughout the day. Dyana and Libby for dose recommendations. Mannie the Kitteh Barista for a special brew yesterday morning, and Maggie for coming over to keep Leo company last night. Also to Jane and Karre, Ann and Maggie, Michelle and Mannie, Teresa and Poopy, Rhiannon and Shadow, Ann and Muffin, Wendy and Neko, Melanie and Racci (Happy Birthday again!), Leslie and Jasper, Barb and Checkers, Carla and Furball, Ann and Zener, Karen and FurrBall, and Deborah and Shasta. Hope I didn't miss anyone.
Leo is Leo. Slept with me all night. I got up this morning, shot him, set up the feeder for his +1 and set the alarm for +2. Got up and the feeder didn't open all the way :shock: And he'd been surfing blues in the night and he shed is dumping. It was half cocked so either I didn't align it well when I put it in, or Farty Leo has started to realize he can force the wheel to move, and made it jump the tracks. Sigh. Hopefully just Bean Error.
I slept for a whole 6 hours in a row for the first time weeks - Yay! And got another nearly 2 hours after the shot - yay! But still ordering out from Mannie, but dear Coffee Kitteh!
Have a great day all!
Lisa & Leo