10-17 Ittle AMPS=434 +2=425 +7=304 PMPS=201 +3=134 +10=169/ Moey AMPS=259 +2=364 +7=329 PMPS=286

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
10-16 (Yesterday) Good morning. I hope everyone has a glorious day!
Looks like Ittle will be getting his increase tomorrow to a full 1.25u...thoughts? Should I give him more time since he has been showing me some "decent" nadir #'s?

Is Ittle's lower BG numbers on 10/11,10/12 and 10/15 the depot working? Then his #'s go back up on 10/13 and 10/16...is that the depot replenishing? I'm trying to understand the depot pattern and get familiar with it.

I see on dose increases that it's about the 3rd cycle when the BG numbers start to decrease. I'm assuming the depot is full. Are they using all of the injected insulin I give them for that cycle and not replenishing any of the depot, hence the lower BG #'s. Or are they using the depot and injected insulin, which is giving the lower BG #'s ? :confused:
I guess the question should be, at what point are they using the depot?

Just trying to understand the low and high #'s better. It takes me a few times, after being told, to really get things. Sorry if it's already been explained to me.

Kitties be good for your Beans! Surf and skim safely today.

***My boys PMPS*** This is a perfect example of why you test more frequently than I have the past 2 days. I'm very pleased with their PMPS #'s but, have no idea why they're running lower than normal. If I would have checked them more frequently today...I'd know!:banghead:
 
Last edited:
Looks like Ittle will be getting his increase tomorrow to a full 1.25u...thoughts? Should I give him more time since he has been showing me some "decent" nadir #'s?

Well, if it were me...and I was able to be at home to test frequently and there wasn't a single green in the last 8 days/16 cycles, I would increase by .25. He did touch on the blues for a bit...but is giving up so easily and sliding back into higher numbers. I think he could use a little more support to help him get to the healing lagoon.

I guess the question should be, at what point are they using the depot?

Hmmm...I think they use the depot when it's full...but I suppose that later on after they've had some time to get used to the regular influx of insulin, that the depot doesn't get as drained as it would have initially...but that's just my theory...

That depot has always been a bit mystifying to me because I can't really tell when it's full or not...I mentioned one day here, that a little gauge would be nice; so we could check it like the gas gauge on our cars...I know when it gets full, it can really extend the life of the insulin and continue to support your cats need for the insulin, even after a missed dose or a decrease...so it's kinda funny ... perhaps someone else could explain it better.. Just talking from my own experience.

I think you're doing a spectacular job with your kitties...still can't imagine taking care of a duo with diabetes...and your questions are pertinent and relevant - and reflect that you're getting a deeper understanding of what's going on here. Try the increase and see if Ittle will show you some green :)

Have a wonderful evening Briere!
 
Well, if it were me...and I was able to be at home to test frequently and there wasn't a single green in the last 8 days/16 cycles, I would increase by .25. He did touch on the blues for a bit...but is giving up so easily and sliding back into higher numbers. I think he could use a little more support to help him get to the healing lagoon.



Hmmm...I think they use the depot when it's full...but I suppose that later on after they've had some time to get used to the regular influx of insulin, that the depot doesn't get as drained as it would have initially...but that's just my theory...

That depot has always been a bit mystifying to me because I can't really tell when it's full or not...I mentioned one day here, that a little gauge would be nice; so we could check it like the gas gauge on our cars...I know when it gets full, it can really extend the life of the insulin and continue to support your cats need for the insulin, even after a missed dose or a decrease...so it's kinda funny ... perhaps someone else could explain it better.. Just talking from my own experience.

I think you're doing a spectacular job with your kitties...still can't imagine taking care of a duo with diabetes...and your questions are pertinent and relevant - and reflect that you're getting a deeper understanding of what's going on here. Try the increase and see if Ittle will show you some green :)

Have a wonderful evening Briere!
Thanks for your info Sue! I hope you have a wonderful evening.
 
Ok, wanted to get some dosing advice before it's time to shoot Ittle this morning. I was planning an increase to 1.25u. I'm not sure what his #'s are going to do in the next 2 hours but, he's sitting pretty at 169 right now. He's had a very smooth morning at the beach this PMPS (am cycle). Thoughts? Should I hold off on the increase and shoot a lower # this morning. I shot 201 last night, which I was very comfortable with. It's likely he will rise up to the 200's before shot time but, if he doesn't achieve the 200's I want to shoot anyway...going against SLGS method. I will be able to test throughout the day. Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top