Gracie's Yesterday
10/16 Recap:
AMPS: 289
+5: 183
+6: 153
+7: 120
+8.5: 136
PMPS: 139
+2: 204
+5: 237
Good afternoon! Sending lots of healing vines today to Fitzel, Pat's Shadow, Rocket, Comet, and any others who need them.
Missy G appears to still be in a bit of a bounce after her 30s the other night but so far, it's not too high of a bounce. I gave her the dose reduction last night so we will see if she can hold the f.5u this time. Paws crossed. Her chin looks really good but the vet said she wants her to stay on the clavamox one more week to be sure that it thoroughly addresses the infection. I'm glad she's cautious. Other than that, our little brown girl has all 5Ps in place....although her playing "P" is a little reduced today since her sidekick, Tobey, had a dental appt.
Speaking of Tobes, we just got home a little bit ago and YAY....no extractions necessary!!! He carries the herpes virus and so it affects his gums....he's more prone to gingivitis even though we brush every single day. We had the anesthesiologist there and she said he did beautifully and induced and woke up very nicely and calmly. He's doing great....he's been eating and napping. He is so funny because any pain drugs at all and his normal lovey self becomes super duper uber lovey. He cracks us up! So all is good. The vets are going to put their noggins together and see if they can come up with some other treatment we can do at home that will better address his gingivitis issues....just brushing isn't getting it.
And, lastly, I had a long talk with the anesthesiologist about Gracie and an eventual dental for her when she needs it. I love love love this vet. She was on the AAHA working group to write the anesthesia protocol for feline diabetics. She said that in order to keep them stable, they should have their regular dose of insulin AND their regular foods before a dental and the dentals should always be done in the afternoon. We've used her for anesthesia for all our cats and her philosophy has always been to not withhold water at all and to let them have a small meal (tsp of food) which is finished 5 hours before the anesthesia. She said if FDs get their insulin and fuds early in the morning, the dentals can be done five hours later in the afternoon and the cats are more stable. Unfortunately, many vets do dentals in the morning and won't work their schedules around doing a dental on an FD in the afternoon and they still want to fast cats for 12 hours before anesthesia. So....if your cat needs a dental, ask your vet to check out the AAHA guidelines for anesthesia for FDs.
Working on cat insurance paperwork this afternoon....I've let it amass. Shame on me. Will BBL. Have a great day.
10/16 Recap:
AMPS: 289
+5: 183
+6: 153
+7: 120
+8.5: 136
PMPS: 139
+2: 204
+5: 237
Good afternoon! Sending lots of healing vines today to Fitzel, Pat's Shadow, Rocket, Comet, and any others who need them.
Missy G appears to still be in a bit of a bounce after her 30s the other night but so far, it's not too high of a bounce. I gave her the dose reduction last night so we will see if she can hold the f.5u this time. Paws crossed. Her chin looks really good but the vet said she wants her to stay on the clavamox one more week to be sure that it thoroughly addresses the infection. I'm glad she's cautious. Other than that, our little brown girl has all 5Ps in place....although her playing "P" is a little reduced today since her sidekick, Tobey, had a dental appt.
Speaking of Tobes, we just got home a little bit ago and YAY....no extractions necessary!!! He carries the herpes virus and so it affects his gums....he's more prone to gingivitis even though we brush every single day. We had the anesthesiologist there and she said he did beautifully and induced and woke up very nicely and calmly. He's doing great....he's been eating and napping. He is so funny because any pain drugs at all and his normal lovey self becomes super duper uber lovey. He cracks us up! So all is good. The vets are going to put their noggins together and see if they can come up with some other treatment we can do at home that will better address his gingivitis issues....just brushing isn't getting it.
And, lastly, I had a long talk with the anesthesiologist about Gracie and an eventual dental for her when she needs it. I love love love this vet. She was on the AAHA working group to write the anesthesia protocol for feline diabetics. She said that in order to keep them stable, they should have their regular dose of insulin AND their regular foods before a dental and the dentals should always be done in the afternoon. We've used her for anesthesia for all our cats and her philosophy has always been to not withhold water at all and to let them have a small meal (tsp of food) which is finished 5 hours before the anesthesia. She said if FDs get their insulin and fuds early in the morning, the dentals can be done five hours later in the afternoon and the cats are more stable. Unfortunately, many vets do dentals in the morning and won't work their schedules around doing a dental on an FD in the afternoon and they still want to fast cats for 12 hours before anesthesia. So....if your cat needs a dental, ask your vet to check out the AAHA guidelines for anesthesia for FDs.
Working on cat insurance paperwork this afternoon....I've let it amass. Shame on me. Will BBL. Have a great day.