10/17 GINGER Hospitalization & visitation BG 170, 217

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579

She is not good.

Every 2 hours throughout the night and this morning I have been syringe feeding her water and watery food.
During the time when her BG went down to the 456, she did use a make-shift litter box for pee and poop.
and went to the hallway towards our bedrooms and was sitting up when I woke up.

Other than that, she's just laying down and not moving.
I held her awhile longer after feeding her the water this morning and she peed on me.

I called both my vets offices but they did not have the answering machine option. They are closed today so any messages would not get received until monday anyway.
Both offices have recordings to go to the ER in an emergency.
And of courst the ER wont see her without money to pay, and wont give me advise over the phone.

I gave her her regular dosage of 3.25 units of Lantus this morning.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 (need Humulin R Advise)

I need humulin R advise how much to give or experience using it with Lantus.

She had 3.25 units of Lantus this morning.
I will wait awhile before I purchase the Humulin R, I want to see if her BG goes down anymore first.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 (need Humulin R Advise)

Sienne, Jill & Libby and others all gave you good advice yesterday--Lantus, unlike other insulins, needs consistancy--That is consistancy of dose--Not for just one day, but for 5-7 days for a new user.
Also .You really need to find out the crux of this current problem.
An infection changes the cat's BGs.
FD is absolutely treatable, Moonie also has had neuropathy since her dx in 2/08--She functions just fine--there are many ways to help This cat having Neuropathy-
This all could be from a medical problem, infection, and new reaction to a new insulin..YOU absolutely need to see a vet today--
Isnt there another vet somewhere near you that can see the cat?? Not necessarily an ER, but just a vet office that is open--I have traveled 45 min. to get to a vet for Moonie..
Mine is open for a few hours on Sunday--Please dont let your DH convince you to PTS--Ginger really needs to see a vet.
Sending healing vines to Ginger!!
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 (need Humulin R Advise)

I've not used R. I'm hoping that someone with more expertise can stop by and offer some guidance. I would suggest getting the R as soon as you can so you are ready to go.

Here's what I understand about R.
  • You'll see some effect over a 4 hour span. It's in and out very quickly compared to Lantus or even N.
  • It is VERY potent and you use only very tiny amounts.
  • You do not want the nadir of R to coincide with the nadir from Lantus. What this means is that you either use R at the beginning of the cycle or after Lantus nadir.
With regard to dosing:
  • You start with a dose of 0.1u.
  • You then test religiously every hour until you see numbers coming back up. What you are doing at this stage is getting a curve on the R.
  • You may not see a response at this low of a dose of R but you have absolutely no way of knowing whether you will see a response or not.

I just can't put into words how concerned I am about Ginger. Please, please, please get her to the ER. There are resources here on the Board that can help if the cost is the only obstacle. We care about you and Ginger. We can help get numbers down but if there's something else going on, it requires the knowledge and resources of a vet before it's too late.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 (need Humulin R Advise)

I can't really comment if R is bad to use when you have some sickness or infection going on, but I do know that very high numbers, sick or not sick, cause problems.

So for my cats, if they top that 400 mark, I give TOR. If they are over 500, I am upset and for sure give TOR. Touch of R is going to give a pull down on the numbers and help in some way.

So, you can look at both of my ss as I did use R quite often, but months ago. It is true that it covers real numbers ... it's like yanking on a dog leash to pull him back ... but you want those numbers to be lower and quickly.

LOW, start LOW.
Test OFTEN.

R is the quick and dirty of the insulins. It's quick, it's harsh, but it serves a purpose:
bring down those numbers.


My Shadoe is VERY sensitive. I don't give her much or often because she does a nose dive in her numbers. Dropping 100 every hour would not surprise me, so she is an example of much sensitivity.
My Oliver acts like "what was that? a fly?" Man, sometimes he doesn't register a thing but he has IAA also, so no surprise there.


If you have R now, be sure you have plenty of strips, and got your hypo kit well stocked.
Then you can try something very small. My very first shot for Shadoe was 0.1u and I tested every hour. Look at 2/19/10 on Shadoe's ss and see what I did.
If that 0.1u does not seem to do much, you can try 0.25u but please remember that it is harsh and fast, so be ready to test often and post in your condo what you are doing and the numbers. Be sure to keep your ss updated so that others can help you along the way.

Those numbers have to come down, regardless of the cause so if you try R be careful, but it may help in bringing some relief. I think of the BG like a temperature. Sure you are sick but 106 can kill ya, so a cold bath to bring you down to 104 is better than nothing.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 (need Humulin R Advise)

Jill and the others were aware that I was going to start the more aggressive dosing, which was started 10-14.

The vets and the ER can never find out what is wrong with her besides the diabetes.
She even had her blood work and urine sent to Georgia for bacterial testing and ultrasounds of her liver, pancreas, kidneys and heart.
She had blood work done a week ago too.
I will keep looking for a sunday vet.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 (need Humulin R Adv

Lori, You should definitely get Ginger to a vet or to the ER today (Sunday). When we had to take Stu to the ER last month (when we were far away from home), the animal-hospital staff very kindly admitted him to the hospital itself so that we would not have to pay the much higher ER fees. Perhaps your animal hospital would do this for you. Please call them and find out.
Sending many, many healing vines to Ginger and hugs to you,

Ella
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 (need Humulin R Adv

OK I am totally lost here; I don't see how R is going to fix things at all.

The dose was decreased, but why? If the numbers are high, you would not reduce the dose, and if you do, you should expect to see higher numbers - new dose wonkiness - you have upset the apple cart.

Dry food? Sorry, but feeding dry is that last thing to help you get lower numbers. If my Shadoe gets ahold of even 3 little pieces, her BG shoots up into the 400s. Just keep adding water to the wet and let her lap it up....mash it to a soupy slop and she will get what she needs, but scrap that dry - you are tossing gasoline on the fire.

What a/b are you giving for the UTI? What's the name? had to go thru 3 diff kinds of a/b before one helped Shadoe, so what a/b are you giving now and how long have you been giving it? I had clavamox which I gave for 3 days or something and Shadoe dis not show improvement so I took the remainder back and said this stuff is crap; give me something that works. If an a/b is not working then you need to try another.

How was the UTI determined? Was a C&S done so that the vet knows just what is the problem? There are a great variety of things that can be found so you could be treating something that your cat does not have, and meanwhile, the cat is getting sicker.

What about fluids? Are you giving any sub Q fluids? They can help a great deal. I don't know the whole story but what if your cat has pancreatitis? She would be in EXTREME pain, so I would suggest you tell you husband that the cat is not going to walk in the room and say "Man, I feel like crap and I am in alot of pain." Not gonna happen; cats hide pain.

By delaying having the cat seen, some small issue could be snowballing into a much bigger issue. If neuropathy is also part of the stewpot of problems, can't B12 shots be given to very easily resolve that problem?

IDK - I think a quick visit to the ER will determine the problem, you can get the PROPER medication and advise, and your cat would be well on the road to good health again.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 (need Humulin R Adv

Here's my concern and I'd be very happy if you can find a vet that's open on Sunday. Many/most are not and you may need to go to an ER to find a vet. I know there used to be a Humane Society in Cleveland. (I used to live there.) Maybe they have a listing of vets or have a vet there.

Just like with people, an infection that wasn't present a week before can be present a few days after you've had labs taken and gotten a clean bill of health. Even changes from pancreatitis can change an ultrasound in a short period of time. An EKG can look perfectly normal and a person can have a heart attack a few hours later. In other words, health status can change quickly and dramatically. You'll hear us mention frequently that this is the case with ketones. There can be none in the morning and you get a positive reading in the evening. You can't rely on what was true a month ago or a week ago or even hours ago being true now.

The other issue is that you've described some significant changes in Ginger's behavior. She's not using the litterbox or not peeing at all. She's not wanting to eat or drink and you're syringe feeding. She's weak, confused, and has balance problems and has fallen and can barely stand. These are behavioral changes that are not subtle and it certainly seems like the amoxycillin hasn't helped solve the problem. It's good that you've noticed this but it is indicative that something is wrong. Even if the ER admits her, like Elle suggested, they can use R to get her numbers down and keep her closely monitored. If she's not peeing, you can't know whether ketones are present. When Gabby was diagnosed with DKA, she was off balance. I am hugely worried about Ginger.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 (going to ER)

going to ER

She cannot sit or stand.
she is peeing where she is laying after I give her water by syringe.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

I am so pleased that you are going to the ER Lori...wishing you well....(((Ginger))) feel better little one....
We will be thinking of you both....
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

Sending healing vines to Ginger. I hope the ER can quickly get her starting to feel better.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

Wishing you and Ginger the best. I hope the vet figures out what the problem is and it is easy to treat, and she is home and feeling better, soon. (((Big Hugs))).
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

Thank you for taking her--We all here will be sending Healing vines & prayers for Ginger's full recovery!!
Hugs are in order--You are doing the right thing..!
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

I'm so glad you're taking her in - I hope they can fix her up. Please let us know.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

I just woke up to this...Oh, Lori, I am sending so many healing vines and snowflakes to you. I hope they can figure out what is going with Ginger.

Have you ever heard of Care Credit? They extend credit to people with medical and vet bills. I know there are resources here but if it's not
enough, you might contact Care Credit to help with the bill.

We are keeping you all in our prayers.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

Sending prayers and support your and Ginger's way, Lori. Knowing this is really hard for you & your's we pray for your inner strength and peace during all of this. We pray for things to become clear as to what's going on with Ginger and for a vet with great know-how & experience to come to Ginger's aid. And for a speedy recovery to you both.

And to our panel of advisors: Lord, bless the people on this board. They keep such a good lookout, we so appreciate them. They really know their stuff. Bless them for sharing it, and bless their very own sugar kitties too. IJN. You folks are awesome!

We pray for "Power for the hour" for all our buddies & beans in battle,

Cee & Gandolf :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(going to ER)

Thanks everyone.

I decided I was afraid to do the R myself and she became very unresponsive so I talked my husband into us rushing her to the ER.

Overnight hospitalization necessary maybe longer. Temperature 94.5. She was put on heated pads to bring temperature to normal. She is Dehydrated, Anemic & has high electolite levels with very high sodium levels that can cause brain damage if brought down too fast. She is on IV fluid set up and chamber. More bloodwork is being done today. She is being given Humulin R and they will be monitoring her BG levels. She will be examined by a Specialist tomorrow.
NO ketones present.

They will call me at 6 to give me updates.

Someone messaged me and said she would call her credit card in, she gave me her phone number.
She said she would contact the people that raises the money to pay her back.

I decided not to call her and wait for a return call (she went to a funeral)
I decided to just rush her in and use my credit card and worry how to pay it later.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Lori

Thanks for updating us....that's alot going on for this little kitty. So her renal values are normal? One might see electrolyte imbalances, anemia, and dehydration with renal insufficiency but I'm sure there are other things that can cause it, too. I hope they update you with results of bloodwork soon. In the meantime, we are sending BLIZZARDS of snowflakes and healing vines to your baby. I'm so glad you took her in when you did.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

I am so glad you got Ginger in to the ER. It sounds like they are taking very good care of her. I think there is an LL fund to help kitties, but I don't know much about it. Hopefully someone more knowledgable will be able to give you more info. Sending healing vines and prayers for Ginger. Try not to worry, Lori, you are doing everything you can.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

She didnt mention the word Renal values, but her kidney and pancratic values were slightly elevated - but no ketones present.
I will know more after the more extensive blood work results.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

((((((Lori)))))) ((((((Ginger))))))

Glad you were able to bring her to the Vet. She's in good hands now. How frightening for you. Just wanted you to know that we are thinking about you and Curry's spice sister, Ginger.

Keep us posted.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Wow, poor Ginger, and how frightening for you! Keeping you in our thoughts and waiting to hear more at 6. Healing vines and snowflakes also coming!
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Thank you for the update. Please let us know what they have to say when you talk to the clinic at 6:00.

Electrolytes have to be changed slowly. Gabby's electrolyte values were out of whack with DKA. They started to reverse and return to normal over night. It just has to be done slowly and carefully. I'm glad she'll be monitored and they will get her BG numbers down.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

i'm so glad you were able to get ginger to an ER!
they'll work to stabilize her and figure out what the underlying issue is.
sending positive thoughts.

please update us when you can. we're worried about her, too.
(((hugs)))
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

I am so glad that you took her in - one sick little kitty. How frightening for you. She will be OK. It is good she will get the care she needs - I hope she recovers quickly and safely. You are in our thoughts. Many many snowflakes and healing vines from Mannie and me, from all of us. thank you so much for the update.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Well done - you guys are doing what's needed for Ginger and at least it's good that you knew what was happening, thanks to home testing.
I DO hope your next update will show some progress and hope Ginger will turn the corner and come around - and soon.
Strength to you and positive thoughts to Ginger at this time.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

(((Lori))) How are YOU doing now? This sounds like a lot more than anything that could be handled at home...and they have the ability to monitor her and deal with anything right there.
I am so happy that you and DH brought her in and hope that you are happy with that decision too.
I think the situation would only have gotten worse and this way, she is getting the medical help she needs.
Deep breath! I am taking some too. :razz:

Sending healing vines to Ginger and tons of snowflakes for a speedy recovery....((((Ginger))))
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Hi Lori....renal and kidney are the same...sorry 'bout not clarifying that. If she does have pancreatitis (usually confirmed by ultrasound and fPLI test), then the hospital is the best place for her where they can keep her on fluids, give her pancreas time to heal, and monitor her. Good job getting her there...I know we all hate to leave our kitties at the hospital but sometimes it just has to be done. Sending more healing vines her way. Pls keep us posted.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Glad you were able to get her to the ER. Get well soon ((((Ginger))))
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Lori you must have been so scared and frantic. I was watching your posts last night and this morning but wanted to leave communication open for the experienced ones. I'm so sorry for what you, DH and your sweet Ginger are going through. I know 6:00 can't come soon enough for you. Bless you all and all the healing power to your girl she knows how much you love her. IL'm thinking of you and will watch for your updates.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

Many, many snowflakes for Ginger.
I hope they find what is wrong and help her feel better.
It is wonderful you got to get her in to the ER.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER amps 579 +1 542 +2 550 +3 532(Hospitalizat

I just called the Hospital.
They are seeing an improvement.

They have her temperature down to normal.
Her BG is down to 268. They are only giving Humulin R at this time to get her under control.
There is a small progress to her electrolytes, which is good. They have to improve slowly so brain damage does not occur.
She is lifting her head up now and looking around.

We are going to go visit her.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

That's great Lori. Don't forget to bring something with your scent on it, for her to sleep with. Give her lots of loves and gentle caresses. All paws crossed here, for a full and fast recovery.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

That's wonderful news, Lori. I hope she continues to improve. I'm so relieved.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

Lori, I missed what was going on with Ginger, so sorry she ended up at the hospital. Glad to hear that she is improving and her BG is coming down! Sending lots of healing vines.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

All fingers and paws crossed here for you, Lori, and for Ginger.

At least no ketones, that's one less in your long line of worries right now.

I recommend Care Credit also. I applied right over the phone while at the vet waiting for results. It was approved before I left the vet that day. You have months of NO interest (the number of months depends on the amount you spend and how much the place you use it at allows). My vet allows 6 months of no interest, but I know others go for a year for high $$.

Again, best of hope and luck to you and Ginger (and DH, too!)
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

To see an improvement in her electrolytes this quickly is a very positive sign. In 24 hours the vets will be able to tell you a lot more. It's also common for an ICU/emergency facility to use R in the way they are doing. It means they are closely and constantly monitoring her -- which is exactly what you want.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

Healing vines and snowflakes for Ginger
forestSnow.gif
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

Lori that is such good news you must be feeling a little better. I hope Ginger continues to improve through the night. I'm so glad you'll be able to see her. I hope you got Dyana's post I was going to suggest the same. Our babies miss us when we're separated. I hope you're bringing her home really soon. I'm sending love and healing to you all.Think of Ginger well and up to her usual self. I'm going to visualize her this way.{{{{{{hug }}}}}}.
 
Re: 10/17 GINGER (Hospitalization) update BG 268

Fantastic news, Lori...so glad her BG is down...still sending healing and peaceful vines for Ginger!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top