10/17 Fistuk AMPS 106, +3 140, +5 106, +7 92 PMPS 92

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-25-72-7-67-pmps-74-dose.294789/#post-3213918

Good morning :)

Fistuk had lots of higher blues. I raised his dose to 1.75U and after 8 cycles without a change I raised again to 2.0U.

But I started to suspect that his numbers spike because of the new food. Today I'm brining him back to the previous food to see if I'm right.

For breakfast he got the AnitForte but from +3 we gave him from the old food that I'm certain it's 4% and he's been having it for nearly a year.

My poor baby. I checked the dry carb matter so many times and the number I got was 0.024%! This food gave him bette bowl movement, finally a non-smelly poop poop hooray and his eyes are much less teary.

So difficult to get the food the ticks all the boxes :(

Fistuk was a bit more sleepy in the past few days. When his numbers are higher he's less perky.

Wishing you all a lovely day :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

So you feel like the other food he was doing better on as far as bowl movements and how he felt?
Hi Heather :)

Fistuk was doing better on the new food with bowl movement and allergic reactions such as tear eyes.

I can see just by giving him from the old food at +3 and +5 that he's number are coming down. I'll see what he's doing at +7 which is normally his nadir time. But I had the voice in my system already last night that the new food might have spiked his numbers.

He was doing so so well. We came down from 2.U to 1.5U and I just couldn't see a reason why he would systematically go up with his numbers lie that.

I'm pissed off. And I just spent 70$ on buying a big pile of that food
 
Hi Heather :)

Fistuk was doing better on the new food with bowl movement and allergic reactions such as tear eyes.

I can see just by giving him from the old food at +3 and +5 that he's number are coming down. I'll see what he's doing at +7 which is normally his nadir time. But I had the voice in my system already last night that the new food might have spiked his numbers.

He was doing so so well. We came down from 2.U to 1.5U and I just couldn't see a reason why he would systematically go up with his numbers lie that.

I'm pissed off. And I just spent 70$ on buying a big pile of that food
Are you able to mix the 2? I do that with my Fancy Feast sometimes when I want a % in between 2 cans. Like the other day I mixed a 2% pate with a 6% chunky to make a 4%.
 
Hi Shelly, good catch on figuring
Out why Fistuk is seeing higher numbers. You’re so on top of everything, you’re like a detective. :bookworm:
Great job, mum give your boy some chin scratches and belly rubs from me:D
Hope you’re doing well and your back is feeling better.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Are you able to mix the 2? I do that with my Fancy Feast sometimes when I want a % in between 2 cans. Like the other day I mixed a 2% pate with a 6% chunky to make a 4%.
I don't want to mix the two when the new one spikes his numbers up.
I need to find a new food :banghead:
 
Hi Shelly, good catch on figuring
Out why Fistuk is seeing higher numbers. You’re so on top of everything, you’re like a detective. :bookworm:
Great job, mum give your boy some chin scratches and belly rubs from me:D
Hope you’re doing well and your back is feeling better.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci :)
Thanks for the kind encouragement :kiss: But honestly, I'm ready to retire from my detective job :p I just want to have something that's nourishing for Fistuk and that supports his conditions. urrrrgh
I just sent the company and angry email. I'll return the unopened tins.

My back has gotten much better. I'm happy I got to stay two weeks at home. Dreading a bit going back there on Monday. But I've decided to resign and am already on the look out for new opportunities.

Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful days :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Thanks for the kind encouragement :kiss: But honestly, I'm ready to retire from my detective job :p I just want to have something that's nourishing for Fistuk and that supports his conditions. urrrrgh
I just sent the company and angry email. I'll return the unopened tins.

My back has gotten much better. I'm happy I got to stay two weeks at home. Dreading a bit going back there on Monday. But I've decided to resign and am already on the look out for new opportunities.

Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful days :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sorry about the new food and how it elevated his BG. Good to just get rid of it.
And yes, I’d love to retire My detective hat, too. It’s totally exhausting.
I’m glad to hear you’re looking for other opportunities. Maybe something that you feel will suit you better. Did you injure your back while working?
Wishing you good luck finding a job that will work better for you.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry about the new food and how it elevated his BG. Good to just get rid of it.
And yes, I’d love to retire My detective hat, too. It’s totally exhausting.
I’m glad to hear you’re looking for other opportunities. Maybe something that you feel will suit you better. Did you injure your back while working?
Wishing you good luck finding a job that will work better for you.
:bighug::bighug:
I started looking for just chicken because I started eliminating fish and perhaps that's what he's allergic to.
So far I couldn't find only chicken which is low carb, relatively low fat and phosphorous and which they don't add stupid things like wheat (daaaaaa)

Yes, I did injure my back at work. Working with small kids in a days care is really physical. It's also quite noisy. I liked it a lot but the relationship with my boss has also deteriorated and with my back I just got the sign - time to move on.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly! Sorry about all that, it's difficult to find the perfect food.
Did you ever consider raw? I am not sure what you can find in Switzerland, but I like feeding Bella stuff without lots of nonsense adds, as you say!
When did you start that new food? What's in it? It seems weird that you get such a low carb content when you calculate and their number is higher, maybe it's not on the same basis?
 
But I started to suspect that his numbers spike because of the new food. Today I'm brining him back to the previous food to see if I'm right.

Hi Shelly. I think I was meant to see this today, because I've been feeding Chispa some food that is "supposedly" only 2% carbs ... but something is wreaking havoc with her numbers, and maybe that's it.
I totally hear you on the frustrations of finding a food that checks all the boxes. Low carbs, low phosphorous (for CKD), non-allergenic protein source -- ferreting it all out feels like looking for a needle in a haystack. It's exhausting.
I hope going back to the old food will bring Fistuk's numbers into a better range. Also hope you can find a new job situation that works better for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly! Sorry about all that, it's difficult to find the perfect food.
Did you ever consider raw? I am not sure what you can find in Switzerland, but I like feeding Bella stuff without lots of nonsense adds, as you say!
When did you start that new food? What's in it? It seems weird that you get such a low carb content when you calculate and their number is higher, maybe it's not on the same basis?
I know! It's a pain in the b*. From his numbers today I can say with certainty that this food is spiking his numbers.

In the ingredients it says chicken but it does have a small percentage of pumpkin which I didn't see before. It seems unbelievable that such a tiny amount will be responsible for the higher BG but perhaps that's what it is .

I did consider raw. In fact they both had raw a few years ago. I remember it started really well then they just refused to eat it. I think there's a lot of verity of raw around here. I'll look into again.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly. I think I was meant to see this today, because I've been feeding Chispa some food that is "supposedly" only 2% carbs ... but something is wreaking havoc with her numbers, and maybe that's it.
I totally hear you on the frustrations of finding a food that checks all the boxes. Low carbs, low phosphorous (for CKD), non-allergenic protein source -- ferreting it all out feels like looking for a needle in a haystack. It's exhausting.
I hope going back to the old food will bring Fistuk's numbers into a better range. Also hope you can find a new job situation that works better for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Karen :)
Then I'm happy that I posted today! I'm sorry that you too had to discover it like that.
We work so hard to get our babies in a good place and you get food based on the data they share to discover that it's just not true.

Good that I thought about it immediately. I hope that Chispa didn't have much of it as well.

Thanks for your good wishes. Paws crossed that something new will materialise soon.

Sending you both a big hug :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly
Looks like your food detective work will yield good results!
Like @Karen and Chispa says, it can be exhausting to find a perfect portion!
Mikan's so finicky that I have tried so many different kinds - often ended up donating the foods she would not even look at :oops:
Hope this will work well for sweet Fistuk and he gets back on track! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top