10/17 ELI PMPS 352, +2 337, +3 303, +9 288 +10 388 DOSE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrienne & Eli

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Wow, I don't know what to say. I assume this is due to him probably eating all his food last night around 12:30 to 1:00am, and then not having anymore. Regardless, I will retest iabout 10 minutes (orginial at 6:30). I probably will be to apprehensive to give him a shot. Please advise.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

20 minutes later 153. No shot. I'm off work today, how often do I need to test to get a handle on what is going on? How do I remove 911? Or do I just start over later with a new post and a new condo?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Good morning. :smile:

Sorry I don't have dose advice (still too new to Lantus). Any tests you can get through a cycle helps the bigger picture. Helps you and those in the know see how Eli reacts to the insulin. A few things the experienced folks may want to know:

Did you shoot 1.25 last night or stay with the 1u (your spreadsheet doesn't have the info)? Did Eli poo yet? How's his hip?

Other than that, welcome to Lantus Land! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

I have to log off real soon, but I need to know have you fed Eli yet? And, are you available to monitor him today, if you give him his insulin. I would just stick with the 1 unit and not increase, if you do shoot. I do not see any numbers on his spreadsheet past mid day yesterday. What was his PMPS, and did you get any mid cycle tests last night?

I'll check back with you, on and off, until I leave in a half hour.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Oh! To remove the 911...go to your original post and hit edit. Then click in the button next to None (instead of 911) and that will take it off. :-D
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

acrutch said:
20 minutes later 153. No shot. I'm off work today, how often do I need to test to get a handle on what is going on? How do I remove 911? Or do I just start over later with a new post and a new condo?

Sorry, we cross posted.
To remove the 911, go to your first post and press the Edit button and then click on the circle next to the word None, and Submit.

Since you are skipping the shot, you can test again in an hour to see how he is doing.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Thanks for the info. I've updated his spreadsheet. And I did stick with the 1.0 last night - I didn't want to increase to the 1.25 until this AM when I could monitor him throughout the day.

Yes, Eli did poo last night. The vet thinks his hip pain may be a factor in not going earlier, but he finally did go last night. Hip pain still exists. Also, he is holding up his front left paw when he sits - no pain I can touch it with not issues. I mentioned it to the vet and she wasn't too concerned. Any insight on what that might be?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Just checking in.
I would add that 153 to your spreadsheet too.

Have a good day. I have to run..
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

On the spreadsheet - how do I get the color codes to work when I enter additional info into a cell? I see it works on others, but it refuses to work on mine.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

If you add more than one number to a cell, you have to manually change the color. At the top of the spreadsheet, there's a row of icons/menu items. There's one that looks like a black box with the letter "A" in it. It you hold your cursor over it, it will say "Text background color." Click on it and select the color you want.

I'm also getting an error message when I try to open Eli's spreadsheet. Google is saying that the page can't be found.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Hello Adrienne, Jane here :smile:

Welcome to LL (since this is the first time I'm posting in Eli's condo)!

I have the same problem with you current SS-Link - it gives me an error message. Oddly, the SS-Link in Monday's Condo works for me - have you changed the link (in the User Control Panel) since then? For now, here is Eli's Spreadsheet.

Fantastic job getting everything set up so quickly, and starting to test, and switching to wet food. You're doing great :mrgreen: And a blue BG too, already - woohoo! Hang in there!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

I did change it - but it's working for me when I click on it. Can someone please try again. If it doesn't work I'll go back to not being fancy and just copy the link and not change the name.

A few questions - assuming the BS increases today - do I stick with the 1.00 of dosage for the PM shot, or do I go to the 1.25 dosage that I was going to start this morning?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Hi again Adrienne,

the link is working for me now :smile: How odd! Ah well. It's fixed, whyever it wasn't working before, so good job!

A little thing: We use the abbreviation BG (blood glucose) here - BS tends to stand for something else entirely :lol:

Regarding your dose: Since you stopped giving dry food over 72 hours ago (which is as long as it can take to clear out of the cat's system), that can now be discounted as a factor, thankfully :mrgreen: How much will you be able to monitor the next couple of cycles?

Jane
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Are you able to shoot late? It would mean that your PM shot would be 12 hours from whenever you would shoot this morning. You could begin to shift the time back either by 15 min. at each shot time or 30 min. once a day.

I also want to urge you to always get at least one test per cycle. Even though your PM test was a high number, it would have been useful to have a test to inform you that Eli's numbers were heading down during the PM cycle. Most of us try to get a before bed every night.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195

Are you asking can I give him a shot now and then again at 9:45 tonight and then start to back off in 15 minute intervals? Yes, I'm off work the next couple days and can do that. Should I go ahead and give him a shot now? He just ate - is that a factor? The 285 was prior to eating.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195, +3 285

Given the way numbers are heading up, I'd shoot. Unless you fed something with high carb, I doubt this is a food spike.

What you will need to do is call whatever the test # is that you actually use to shoot your AMPS. The clock then starts with that shot. Your PMPS will then be either at +11.75 or at +11.5.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195, +3 285

Thanks - I had already given the shot b/c I thought that was what you were relaying. How do I modify the spreadsheet to document this?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195, +3 285

acrutch said:
Thanks - I had already given the shot b/c I thought that was what you were relaying. How do I modify the spreadsheet to document this?

I would go into the (+11)-Box, add the (+12) etc., enter the actual preshot BG into the AMPS-Box, and then add an asterisk, noting in the Remarks column for that day the (+)-Hour which was your AMPS (i.e. if you shot 2.5h late, it would be "(+14.5)=AMPS").

Does that make sense?
Jane
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195, +3 285

LOL, I appear to be having issues getting this. I'm going to attempt to update the spreadsheet, when someone has a chance look it over and see if I'm headed in the right direction or still lost!

And to confirm - since I gave the shot at 10:00am, I now do either 9:45 or 9:30PM. 15 minute decrease for each shot to get back to normal, or 30 minute on day decrease to get back to normal.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 195, +3 285

Hi guys .. don't think I've been to Eli's condo before, so welcome from us! Glad to see you had lots of eyes and help here this morning .. that sure was a nice start to the day! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/17 ELI +3 305

Eli's neuropathy is getting really bad. It's moved into his front paw - has anyone else had this happen? It's really sad to see him this way and it's depressing me.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI +3 305

I would order some Zobaline for his neuropathy. It's also available through Amazon. It takes at least a month or two to show any change. Also, the sooner Eli's numbers begin to come down into better territory, the more improvement with the neuropathy you'll see.

Your SS looks good. The only suggestion I'd made is to change the text color in your +11 box from last night. I use white for the text in the blue and green cells. It's hard to read the black text.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI 271 +6.5

Little update - Zombaline came in the mail today, so I will start that with food after PM shot.

Vet perscribed buphrenorphine in place of Medacam and was very nice about it.

Do I stick with the 1.00 for the PM dosage or increase to 1.25?

+12 195
+12.20 153
+13 226
AMPS 285 (10am per advice from Sienne - much thanks!)
+3 302
+6.5 271

After the below 200 +12 number this morning, what is the normal protocol for that? I saw to test in another 20 to see if it's going up - if it's going up do you give the shot? When does food come into play? Do I go ahead and give it to Eli and then continue to monitor? Just want to have all my ducks in a row should this happen again!
 
Re: 10/17 ELI 271 +6.5

Hi Adrienne

Good job this morning. One housekeeping thing to recommend if I could, please. On his AMPS column this morning, I'd put "285 @ 15.5"....your shot was 3.5 hours late, right? That way, we see at a glance exactly how late you shot. The comments in the remarks are good and work fine but it's better to have the annotation in the AMPS column. Thank you.

I'd like to see how much Eli might come down today before we decide on his dose tonight. I'm leaning towards you shooting the 1u again and I'm glad you paid close attention to my note yesterday to leave him at 1u last night and if he did not come into blue, increase him this morning. He did come into blue so great that you held the dose!! Super job!

The reason I'm leaning towards 1u tonight is because the protocol states to give them 6-10 cycles at a dose if nadirs are less than 200. He has been at more than ten cycles on this dose BUT he's only been a few cycles at it without dry food and that is why I'm leaning towards the 1u again so we can give him a chance at this dose without dry. You've got about 3 more hours to your shot time. Could you please get a +11 and post it with "Dose ?" in the subject line and one of us will get back to you on dose. I'll set my ipad alarm to check back in on you but Sienne or Dyana might also be around. OK?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI 271 +6.5

Adrienne

I was just checking his SS to see if you tested. Since you got a +10 and he's at 288, I don't think you need to do a +11. He's been flat yellow for quite some time today. Often, flat yellow can mean they are going to come down.

I'd hold the 1u dose tonight, ok? Let's see what he can do on this dose with the dry food gone once he refills his depot....which was drained a bit with the stall this morning.

Let us know if you have questions.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 DOSE?

Actually.....I'd like to see you get a PS and a +2 test tonight and post it please. Then we can let you know what other tests you might want to get tonight. OK?
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 DOSE?

Ok on the PSPM and +2. What else would be helpful? I'm sleep deprived, but I'll do whatever is necessary as long as Eli cooperates. How should I be handling food with this testing? He's not very mobile so I'm not sure he'll even do free range, it's pretty much up to me to put the food in front of him.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 DOSE?

If his +2 is up a lot from his PS, you can go to bed. We typically test, then feed.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 DOSE?

I agree with Marje -- you need to get a test or two in this evening before you go to bed. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. It's important to get at least one test in during the PM cycle.

Adrienne & Eli said:
After the below 200 +12 number this morning, what is the normal protocol for that? I saw to test in another 20 to see if it's going up - if it's going up do you give the shot? When does food come into play? Do I go ahead and give it to Eli and then continue to monitor? Just want to have all my ducks in a row should this happen again!
On the Health board, they recommend that new members don't shoot if they have a pre-shot number that's less than 200. Here, we use 150 as a cut off. The decision to shoot depends on how much data you have, whether you will be home to monitor your cat's BG, if you have supplies, and if there's someone here with experience to lend you a hand, should you need it. When your cat decides to throw you a lower than usual number, you have three options:
  • Stall -- don't feed and re-test in 15 - 20 min.
  • Skip the shot
  • Shoot a reduced dose
These options are laid out in detail in Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers (which is also duplicated in the sticky note on shooting and handling low numbers). Over time, you will learn to shoot progressively lower numbers. If you look at the subject lines on the board, you'll see that people here routinely shoot low.

Why you were advised earlier this morning to not shoot is because you initially tested and found Eli's numbers were dropping (i.e., the 195 to 153). While it can be OK to shoot a dropping number, it's best that you have more data and more experience before doing so. As it was, when you tested at +15.5 and got the bounce to 285, it was clearly safe to shoot.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 PMPS

What is a recommended feeding schedule with testing? I just saw on another post that it's not recommended to have food b/w +10 and +12. Eli did have food tonight b/w the +10 test and PMPS test. Partially b/c with the AM shot being later today, he's a little off of his normal feeding ritual.
 
Re: 10/17 ELI AMPS 285@15.5, +3 303, +6.5 271, +10 288 PMPS

In general, you want to try to not feed after nadir. If you feed after the effects of your shot are waning, there's less insulin to offset the effect of the food. This can result in higher pre-shot values. We recommend not feeding between +10 and shot time since the food may inflate your pre-shot test numbers. This is less of a concern if numbers are high. But, if numbers are lower, you could end up shooting on a food inflated pre-shot number when it's really not safe to shoot.

You can try spreading food out at pre-shot, +2, +4 and +6. However, every cat responds differently to food and Eli's nadir may not be at +6. For example, Gabby tends to have an early nadir and she can drop quickly. As a result, I feed her early in the cycle (meals are at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3).
 
Re: 10/17 ELI PMPS 352, +2 337

Based on the +2 #, do I need to test anymore tonight or can I wait and get +10 in the morning. Please advise. Thanks!
 
Re: 10/17 ELI PMPS 352, +2 337, +3 303, +9 288

Good morning, still sleep deprived but I did get a +9.

Here's what we have so far:
AMPS +15.5 285
+3 303
+6.5 271
+10 288
PMPS 352 (could be altered from food in the +10 range)
+2 337
+3 309
+9 288

Do you want a +10 or +11? Dose increase or stay the same?

I want to move back to 9:30 today, I assume I can do that this morning?
 
If you test at +11 (sorry if I'm late), you could even shoot then if numbers are still this high. Otherwise, shooting at +11.5 is fine. I would hold your current dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top