? 10/17 Eddie AMPS 76 (stalling) AMPS +2O MINS 92 +3.75 202 +7 153 PMPS 103 +3.5 79 +4.25 92 +10 74

No need to reply, although the green are fabulous. I stalled, tested again at 20 minutes and got 92 so will shoot. I can monitor today.

This was so helpful:

How to Deal with Low Preshot Numbers (the following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only):
You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

I stalled and within 20 minutes tested and got 92...
 
Last edited:
Hi Jodey, just seeing this. With TR you can shoot any number over 68 on a pet meter, provided you can monitor. With Lev you can expect to see nadirs at the end of the cycle and so lower preshots are par for the course!

ETA: Do you have an autofeeder? Does he get food in the PM cycle after you go to bed?
 
Hi Jodey, just seeing this. With TR you can shoot any number over 68 on a pet meter, provided you can monitor. With Lev you can expect to see nadirs at the end of the cycle and so lower preshots are par for the course!

ETA: Do you have an autofeeder? Does he get food in the PM cycle after you go to bed?
Hi Bhooma,
That was quite exciting, TBH. I found the Sticky to do the trick in the absence of replies.

To answer your question: I can monitor today. I don't have an autofeeder because I have open concept and nowhere to feed Eddie (without shutting him in a room) that Blue (or the other two cats) couldn't get into it. But, yes, I regularly feed a snack @ PMPS +4 and often (if I get blue on the PM +4 test will set alarm and feed snack at +9). I didn't last night because he was 250 @+4...Silly me. I should know better with Eddie.
 
You can get autofeeders that are controlled by a microchip, so only open for the cat wearing the right collar.

When you stall, put the actual AMPS you shot into the AMPS cell, and mark it something like 97@+12.3. In the +11 cell from the previous cycle, you can put 76@+12.

Congrats on shooting green. Welcome to Lev, you will get used to it. :D
 
You can get autofeeders that are controlled by a microchip, so only open for the cat wearing the right collar.

When you stall, put the actual AMPS you shot into the AMPS cell, and mark it something like 97@+12.3. In the +11 cell from the previous cycle, you can put 76@+12.

Congrats on shooting green. Welcome to Lev, you will get used to it. :D
Just shot PM @ 103 which is knocking on the green door. Wow.
 
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma, just want to put out the alert on Eddie tonight. He's got some real action going on. I gave him some LC with a dash of MC just now +3.5. I'll test again at +4.5 unless you think it should be sooner?

Actually, maybe I'll go for +4 first...
 
What is your reduction criteria? 2 drops below 76 on 2 separate days or 1 drop below 68? I see only 1 drop this morning viz 74 @+10?
 
What is your reduction criteria? 2 drops below 76 on 2 separate days or 1 drop below 68? I see only 1 drop this morning viz 74 @+10?
It’s 2x76 and I thought it was in a row

Eddie hasn’t really been in this situation before

More: And, if you look at the PM +12 on the day before, that was yesterday's first AMPS and it was 76. @Wendy&Neko suggested I put that in the +12 as I stalled yesterday AM.
 
Last edited:
So 76 and below or below 76, so 76 does not count?
Since this is new territory I'm unsure. This number was determined after last year when he had reductions at higher numbers (see Oct - Nov 21) and the reductions didn't hold...

Honestly, because Eddie is acro, I never imagined we'd be in this situation as his numbers have been climbing consistently as has his dose.
 
I understand. Speaking for non-acro cats, the BG has to fall below the reduction point for a reduction to be earned. So below 50 on a human meter and below 68 on a pet meter for TR and below 90 for SLGS.
 
I understand. Speaking for non-acro cats, the BG has to fall below the reduction point for a reduction to be earned. So below 50 on a human meter and below 68 on a pet meter for TR and below 90 for SLGS.
Ok, Bhooma, I think what I'll do is take it as below 76 unless I hear differently at shot time from @Wendy&Neko since she's got the word on acrokitties. This is really breakthrough for Eddie and I don't want to jeopardize his gains. I can monitor today as well, so that's good. Thanks so much for being there.
 
I am hesitant to say reduce only because I like these numbers on him, I'd be trying to hold it as long as possible. I suppose this could be some element of SRT (ironic I know, seeing as he's up to 27U) but it's not a clear cut case to me - Wendy is better at reading that.
 
I am hesitant to say reduce only because I like these numbers on him, I'd be trying to hold it as long as possible. I suppose this could be some element of SRT (ironic I know, seeing as he's up to 27U) but it's not a clear cut case to me - Wendy is better at reading that.
I hear you. I decided to hold. He is liking these numbers and who knows, maybe he's a late bloomer with his SRT which is well nearly 24 months ago.
 
Back
Top