10/17 Blizzard...looking for advice on shooting low

Hilary B

Member Since 2021
Hey there, my 15 year old, Blizzard, has been having some low nightime numbers. I'm usually quite nervous to shoot but would like to start shooting lower Last night he had a PMPS number of 4.1 mmol (73.8 mmg). I didnt shoot. His number weren't that high this morning 9.4 mmol (169 mmgd). I shot an hour ago.

Any advice on if he is low this evening would be helpful. Do people shoot at 4.1 (73.8)?

He is on .5 units of Lantus
 
You can shoot any number over 50 (2.8) if you can monitor. Shooting green can be scary initially, but once you get used to them, it gets addictive.
As long as you have higher carb food and test enough, you have the tools to keep Blizzard safe.

I see that you changed to the Freestyle Libre - you want to cross-check low readings with a regular meter. It sometimes throws the odd low numbers / wonky readings.
 
I'm going to make an assumption that you are following TR since the mantra with TR is "shoot low to stay low." If this is the case, could you put that information in your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet in the area above your meter? You also still have the Contour listed as your meter.

What I typically tell people is to give some thought to where you would be comfortable shooting. We initially suggest that with TR, you post and ask for input if you get a pre-shot number below 150. It looks like you've shot as low as 120. What would be the next lowest BG number where you'd be comfortable shooting? Ideally, you progressively lower the number where you're willing to shoot. I would typically shoot anything above 50.

As Bhooma said, if you're going to shoot low you need to be sure you have the supplies you need (MC and HC food, plenty of extra strips) and can monitor. It's also helpful if you have a good idea of when your cat's onset and nadir fall -- in other words you've got the data to support shooting low. I'd encourage you to review the sticky on becoming data ready/shooting low.
 
Thanks for all of your help. I just updated my spreadsheet. I will post again this evening if I end up shooting low. I have a hypo kit all ready to go. Looks like he starts to fall about 2 hrs post shot.
 
Back
Top