Jan D & Squeaky
Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...57-3-307-pmps-191-2-25-202.236974/#navigation
He always looks terrible in the mornings......
He always looks terrible in the mornings......
It’s probably a mini bounce...Which should clear later today by the looks of things.
Isn’t it a shame kitties can’t do their better cycle during the day?![]()
I just wish he would get better. I can't tell by looking at the spreadsheet that there has been any improvement.
You are doing great!!!! It can take a while (sometimes months) to stabilize. (Patience You are doing great!!!! It can take a while (sometimes months) to stabilize. (Patience
)
Maybe a +4 or +5 today?
Thank you! You too!

I’m sorry the fires are so close...Stay safe!
Hi Jan, sorry I missed this. I think he should be fine for the night.
Going by the +3, I don't think you need to worry about him swimming with the sharks.
BTW, is there a reason you haven't increased his dose? You are following TR and it is more than 10 cycles since the last green on 10/10.
From the TR Protocol sticky:
"General Guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
However we are tapering Squeaky off prednisilone and onto budesonide. Seems to me we should hold the dose steady until he's been off the pred for about a week, what do you think?
Hi Jan, I think it might be better if I ask @Sue and Luci or @tiffmaxee to weigh in on this!
Hi Jan. I do think an increase is needed. Since the greens and the bounce clearing there have been just some blue nadirs. True he’s bounced again but I still think I would go up to 2 units. I think some of his not feeling well is from his IBD and chronic pancreatitis and not so much from his bg.
Thanks Bhooma. I appreciate the reminder! I read this a while ago but I'm a bit overwhelmed and I forget.
However we are tapering Squeaky off prednisilone and onto budesonide. Seems to me we should hold the dose steady until he's been off the pred for about a week, what do you think?
That sounds really good. It’s ok t give both budesonide and prednisolone? Just asking because I’ve never used budesonide and only used prednisolone for my lymphoma kitty. Max’s pancreatitis didn’t require either. I know prednisolone has stopped. I wish they could talk.
From the TR Protocol sticky:
"General Guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
- Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
Well, if you can test enough you can still increase. It can take awhile for the lack of prednisolone to reverse the bg from what I have seen here. How long was he on it?
That’s a huge dose of prednisolone. I gave 10 mg to my lymphoma cat but for IBD it’s usually 5 mg I thought.
Of course we hope once he's off the pred, his numbers will drop. But we don't know for sure. Rather than let him sit in higher numbers and develop glucose toxicity, it's best to increase via the protocol. If and when the pred tapering means he needs less insulin, he'll let you know.Of course I am hoping that once he's off the pred, his need for insulin will drop..... which is why I'm wondering whether it's good to increase insulin right now.
Of course we hope once he's off the pred, his numbers will drop. But we don't know for sure. Rather than let him sit in higher numbers and develop glucose toxicity, it's best to increase via the protocol. If and when the pred tapering means he needs less insulin, he'll let you know.