10/17/20 - Squeaky! AMPS 376 +5 = 433 PMPS 292 +3 = 223

It’s probably a mini bounce...Which should clear later today by the looks of things.

Isn’t it a shame kitties can’t do their better cycle during the day? :confused:
 
It’s probably a mini bounce...Which should clear later today by the looks of things.

Isn’t it a shame kitties can’t do their better cycle during the day? :confused:

Well, when he doesn't feel well, I don't feel well. :nailbiting: I just wish he would get better. I can't tell by looking at the spreadsheet that there has been any improvement.

Mini bounce, huh. Oh he is so tired of being needled. What time should I test?

Thanks a bunch and I hope your day is going great. Hugs and purrs to you.
 
:bighug: You are doing great!!!! It can take a while (sometimes months) to stabilize. (Patience ;))

Maybe a +4 or +5 today?

Thank you! You too!

Yes and the hard part is, when I walk up to Squeaky to pet him, he kind of shrinks back with a look on his face like, Is she going to hurt me again????

I go over and pet him a lot independently of the shots.

Every day, I take him outside, for a half hour or hour, so he can be in the grass. Sometimes (if he feels well) he walks with halter and leash. (But today we have too much smoke, and can't go out).

We play with his mouse before the routine,.... a mixed bag for him. If he's feeling good he always enjoys playing with his mouse (if not feeling well, though he doesn't play) but now when he sees the mouse, he also knows what's coming.

Sometimes we dance together, or do tricks, but lately he's not been feeling well enough.

Often I pick him up and carry him into the kitchen and let him look at and smell things on the counter (there's always a ton of dishes and other things there). Sometimes I just pick him up and walk outside with him to get a little fresh air.

Just wish I could come up with more positive, fun activities.........

When he feels well (not much of the time), everything is better! In the meantime, I need to keep him as happy and distracted as possible!

Thanks for listening, Tanya!
 
Sounds like fun at your house!

I wouldn’t mind doing some of those activities myself :p (hehe ;))

kitties feel better in better numbers and behave a little ‘funny’ in high ones. That’s natural. I know you are worried about your connection, but I think kitties know intuitively that we are helping them to feel better. Plus... you are the mama. Mama knows best and it’s out of love that you are doing the routine :bighug:
 

Thanks for the hugs! Now, PMPS 292. I will test again in 2.5 hours.

We have the "Cal-wood fire" burning about 10 miles from my house. Looks like it's moving north, away from me. It's surely getting everyone's attention right now.

Time to go to sleep and set the alarms for a wakeup.

Cheers and thanks for support.
 
Hi +3 = 223 so he is going down but slow and not dangerous can I sleep for 2 hours and test again?

He ate about 7 pieces of meat.

Remember less testing is better with this cat.

Doesn't look like anyone is around on the board. I will set alarm for 2 hours and check this board then. Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jan, sorry I missed this. I think he should be fine for the night.

Going by the +3, I don't think you need to worry about him swimming with the sharks.

BTW, is there a reason you haven't increased his dose? You are following TR and it is more than 10 cycles since the last green on 10/10.
 
Last edited:
Hi Jan, sorry I missed this. I think he should be fine for the night.

Going by the +3, I don't think you need to worry about him swimming with the sharks.

BTW, is there a reason you haven't increased his dose? You are following TR and it is more than 10 cycles since the last green on 10/10.

Thanks Bhooma, great no testing great great great.

Nobody told me to change the dose. So you think so? That would likely change things.....

Thanks.
 
From the TR Protocol sticky:

"General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
 
From the TR Protocol sticky:

"General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."

Thanks Bhooma. I appreciate the reminder! I read this a while ago but I'm a bit overwhelmed and I forget.

However we are tapering Squeaky off prednisilone and onto budesonide. Seems to me we should hold the dose steady until he's been off the pred for about a week, what do you think?
 
Hi Jan. I do think an increase is needed. Since the greens and the bounce clearing there have been just some blue nadirs. True he’s bounced again but I still think I would go up to 2 units. I think some of his not feeling well is from his IBD and chronic pancreatitis and not so much from his bg.
 
Hi Jan, I think it might be better if I ask @Sue and Luci or @tiffmaxee to weigh in on this!
Hi Jan. I do think an increase is needed. Since the greens and the bounce clearing there have been just some blue nadirs. True he’s bounced again but I still think I would go up to 2 units. I think some of his not feeling well is from his IBD and chronic pancreatitis and not so much from his bg.
Thanks Bhooma. I appreciate the reminder! I read this a while ago but I'm a bit overwhelmed and I forget.

However we are tapering Squeaky off prednisilone and onto budesonide. Seems to me we should hold the dose steady until he's been off the pred for about a week, what do you think?

He has not had any diarrhea or vomiting since Sunday the 11th, he had a big vomit and diarrhea, I think he may have eaten something that didn't agree with him on that day. Otherwise only one vomit on the 6th and good with his stools.

Here is his tapering schedule: (Meanwhile he's getting 1 mg of budesonide daily, first day was Tuesday).

Last Tuesday was 2.5 mg pred
Wed Thurs Fri Sat he had 1.25 mg
Sun - none
Mon 1.25
Tues - none
Wed - 1.25
Thursday off Prednisilone completely
 
That sounds really good. It’s ok t give both budesonide and prednisolone? Just asking because I’ve never used budesonide and only used prednisolone for my lymphoma kitty. Max’s pancreatitis didn’t require either. I know prednisolone has stopped. I wish they could talk.
 
That sounds really good. It’s ok t give both budesonide and prednisolone? Just asking because I’ve never used budesonide and only used prednisolone for my lymphoma kitty. Max’s pancreatitis didn’t require either. I know prednisolone has stopped. I wish they could talk.

That's just the tapering off of the prednisilone. Vet didn't want to stop it abruptly. So she started with the buprenorphine, and kept the prednisilone at the same level for the first day only......, and then started the tapering of the pred. Just for a week.

Of course I am hoping that once he's off the pred, his need for insulin will drop..... which is why I'm wondering whether it's good to increase insulin right now.
 
From the TR Protocol sticky:

"General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."

Hi Bhooma, I reread this and it just gets me confused. I have no clue if I am catching nadirs and which ones they are. For the most part I don't really understand what is going on with regards to his numbers, just that they are all over the map. I'm glad you are all there helping me figure out what to do step by step.

But I understand that you think I should raise the dose to 2 units, and maybe right away? Regardless of what is happening with his meds. Still tapering the prednisilone.

Elise says, "if you test enough you can increase" but I really can't test Squeaky all the time. Four, five times a day unless he's getting green numbers and I have to be super cautious and so irritate his ears more. He is so sensitive and so patient, but I can see it is hard for him. Sounds like for some cats, it's just like nothing. Not this guy!

Do you think I should check with Wendy about this? @Wendy&Neko

Thank you for your help and instruction.
 
Well, if you can test enough you can still increase. It can take awhile for the lack of prednisolone to reverse the bg from what I have seen here. How long was he on it?

Thanks Elise, makes sense that it would take a while to clear the prednisilone from his body and reverse the bg.

He was on a super low dose (between 1.25 and 2.5 mg) for a long time. And cerenia too.

Something happened early this year and he got really worse, the vet slowly kept increasing the prednisilone until it was up to 12 mgs. So maybe 8 months from 5 mg to 12 mgs. She also had him on buprenorphine.

Then I got a new vet, changed his food, and started decreasing that was in Late August or early September. Took him off the cerenia too. And the buprenorphine.

Thank you for your help.
 
Hi Jan, I don't think you have missed any green nadirs in the last week. I understand your challenges wrt testing Squeaky and you are doing your best.

I think you should increase to 2 units, but let me see what @tiffmaxee , @Wendy&Neko , @Bron and Sheba (GA) have to say since there are other issues at play which I am not familiar with!
 
That’s a huge dose of prednisolone. I gave 10 mg to my lymphoma cat but for IBD it’s usually 5 mg I thought.

Yes that is a huge amount. The vet obviously had run out of ideas on how to treat his IBD. The prednisilone dose kept increasing, but it never made the diarrhea go away. I finally said, we have to change the diet. Off chicken (I could see signs he was experience an allergy) to pork. That helped everything.

Also got a new vet. That helped too. She's a house call vet, that works better during the pandemic. I don't like to drop off my cat!!! She diagnosed the diabetes and I pray it is steroid-induced so that it will go into remission soon.
 
Of course I am hoping that once he's off the pred, his need for insulin will drop..... which is why I'm wondering whether it's good to increase insulin right now.
Of course we hope once he's off the pred, his numbers will drop. But we don't know for sure. Rather than let him sit in higher numbers and develop glucose toxicity, it's best to increase via the protocol. If and when the pred tapering means he needs less insulin, he'll let you know.
 
Of course we hope once he's off the pred, his numbers will drop. But we don't know for sure. Rather than let him sit in higher numbers and develop glucose toxicity, it's best to increase via the protocol. If and when the pred tapering means he needs less insulin, he'll let you know.

Wooo hoooo it's twoooo units today for Squeaky!!!!!
 
Back
Top