10/17/12 Oliver Twist hold dose 1 more day?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
Good evening all!! cat_pet_icon
Oliver is getting 1.5u Lantus
today his numbers are
AMPS 331
+4 210
+7 306
PMPS 327
He's been at 1.5 for 9 doses

He's due for an increase, i think. He's so improved the last 2 days> i'd like to hold this 1.5 and wait one more day for the increase.???
Do you think it's too goofy to hold him one more day and see what happens?

His nose is wet and cold for the first time since his diagnosis. (9?27) His urine output is the size of a hardball instead of HUGE. His eyes are bright, pupils normal size, and he's his playful old self, negative for ketones. He even curled up with me this afternoon and it's been forever since he did anything but hide under the bed.


bless you all. I thought you just didn't understand "my cat"... after all... my cat is sooooo unique. You were right about cats getting used to having their ears picked. Ollie has calmed down about testing. it's not the struggle we thought it would always be. We still keep the bedroom door closed anytime within a couple hours of testing, so we don't have to pick up the bed to find him. But he doesn't run and hide from us anymore. Even one of the "little boys" jumps up on the counter when oliver is having his test.. If ANYONE is having something.. Greg has to have it also!

Have a great night all of you dudettes and angels. thanks so very much for being !
xoxo
mary,mark,oliver,greg,marble
 
What a wonderful whole cat report (WCR)!!

It's certainly up to you whether you increase or hold the dose. I think Oliver needs an increase. HOWEVER, if you're going to increase the dose, you really need to get at least one test each and every night before you go to sleep -- a before bed test. I know it's tempting to not want to poke your cat when you see a higher pre-shot number at night. However, many cats experience lower numbers at night. You don't want to miss a dose reduction nor do you want to risk Oliver's numbers dropping low and you're not being aware in order to intervene. In addition, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data.
 
Such a nice report Oliver. I'm not one for dose advice but just wanted to stop over and welcome you to LL.

We also like to link the previous days condo. It helps others when reviewing all your information to have it in one spot. Here's yours from 10/14.
Previous Condo

The next time you post, open your previous condo in a separate tab. Go into the browser window and copy the URL.Go to the new condo you're opening.

In there, type the following:

Previous Condo

(If you want the link to have a specfic name, instead of "Previous Condo" you can type the name you want.)

Hit "Preview" - that will tell you whether you did it right.

You are doing great. Keep asking questions as there are so many helpful volunteers on this site. Have a blessed evening! :smile:

Karen
 
Thanks very much Karen and Sienne,
I will hold one more shot tomorrow am. then up his dose to 1.75 ? The protocol i read seems to indicate that he could go up .5 but i'm more comfy with .25... I almost got him for a test tonight at 10:30 but he ran under the bed. I will get a nighttime test tomorrow. And will say prayers to the "don't go too low at night" angels .

very cool to link the last condo.. will do a preview and make sure it's correct.

Also, Sienne
You were so right about feeding more small meals. I tried your +1,+2,+3 which works out pretty darn well! But i did have to add a +7 because Ollie is starving by then both morning and evening... He bit my toes this morning at 3am.... I guess that's better than being starving an hour before his shot. then i'd try to have a conversation with him about not eating for 3 hours before his test.

later dudettes
:YMHUG:
mary
 
Hi,
At the beginning of this, my cat was also hiding under the bed, especially every morning right at shot time.
I found boxes and cut some to size to fill the middle area under our bed so that our cat could not get way up under there out of my reach.
They had to be the right height so she could squeeze by them.
She still had some hiding spots but there weren't so deep that I couldn't reach under and pull her out.
That might help keep Oliver from ducking that bedtime test so you know how he is doing before falling asleep.
Plus if he ever has a real low number, you want to get to him as quick as you can.
 
OMG!! that's the ticket!! I have boxes broken down in the recycle bin... Tomorrow am...
thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Based on the protocol, if nadirs (lowest number in the cycle) are under 300, you increase by 0.25u. If the majority of nadirs are over 300, you can increase by 0.5u. You don't have that many spot checks. Holding for another day is a good thing but you've got to get more spot checks. The minimum number of tests you need so you can make a good decision about a dose change is 4 -- your two pre-shot tests and one additional test during both the AM and PM cycle.

A +7 snack is fine. It's especially fine if it means you keep your toes!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top