? 10/16 Pudge if anyone awake, need some help.. AMPS 79/80 +2 72 +3 79/69 +4 78 +5 96 PMPS 143 +2 117 +3 68 +4-4.25 53 +4.5 55 +4.75 67 +5 75 +5.5 83/79

kitten68

Member Since 2024
10/14/25 Prev Thread Pudgles..

🎃👻🍂..

I really need to go to an appt tmw (he has his appt w the new vet Mon in the early afternoon, too) and I'm wondering if it's cool to reduce by 1/2 U or so, or more maybe.. cuz it would be ideal no lower greens etc. these times so we could make our appts..

he will NOT eat or nothin if we're out. he's too nervous and distracted.

I tried it once (afraid he wouldn't eat too well that day) and his numbers were good/doable.. that time I did 1/2 u.

appreciate any thoughts. x
 
Last edited:
If you find that you're having to use carbs often to keep his numbers up, it might be better to try a reduction to 4.5U rather than skip doses - more so if you can't monitor. The idea is to find a dose you can safely shoot twice a day without skips. However, till the depot adjusts to the reduction (which can take 4-6 cycles), you will still see the effects of the 4.75U dose. By Monday, the higher dose will be out of the picture.
 
If you find that you're having to use carbs often to keep his numbers up, it might be better to try a reduction to 4.5U rather than skip doses - more so if you can't monitor. The idea is to find a dose you can safely shoot twice a day without skips. However, till the depot adjusts to the reduction (which can take 4-6 cycles), you will still see the effects of the 4.75U dose. By Monday, the higher dose will be out of the picture.
hii!!! 🫶🏼 ~ the dose is ok I think, not having to use carbed food regularly (i keeping an eye ✨..) just need to be home mostly for the first half of them and trying to avoid active cycles on these days we have to be out the house during that time ~ asking if reducing it a bit (and by how much) would be ok since being out will take time, he wont be eating much, etc..

just have some appts and he has some.. especially since now we tackling BP too and we cant check that at home.. (understand theres ways but yeah.. 😭..) and they all around +3 - + 5.. oof. gotta take wut times there are sometimes..

like on days you gotta go somewhere.. what to do really? ☺️
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom he dropped a bit after the +1 hour.... :/ haven't had this happen before.

do I need to check see his +8?.. or its not too bad?.. idk what to do. :/
 
he may have eaten a little less of a snack at +6.5.. but he's not that hungry. :(

maybe will take that reduction after all.. depending what I see at +8?.. do I test +7.5?

no sleep for me.. :(
 
his numbers continuing to slowly drop.. hm. 🤔..
Hi there, so sorry you had a tough night 🫂
Pudge never went to limes, so that’s good!
Looks like a Lantus double dip where he dips at the end of the cycle (but not as low as his nadir, earlier in his cycle).
I’ve had this many times with Ivy.
As you know, I’m not qualified to give dosing advice. So I hope someone who is qualified comes along soon!
I agree with Bhooma, it’s best to try to find a dose which you can safely shoot twice a day. So if you need to reduce, then maybe best to do that.
Of course since you need to be out today, you may want to give a token lower dose for his safety and your sanity.
And you could go back to 4.5 u after that tonight.
Just some thoughts to consider! 💝
Pudge may continue to drop until his shot time, or he could start to rise at the end of the cycle.
And he could bounce in his next cycle.
Bhooma I see you’re around, what do you suggest? @Bandit's Mom
 
Sorry sorry! I'm just seeing this. I see that he's headed up and that you fed only LC tonight. It was OK to call it a night at +4.75 when he started heading up.
🥲🥲🥲🫶.. thanks for getting back.. well i keep checking and hes still slowly dropping back.. even w LC snacks. 😕 kniw variance.. but hes 68 at +10.. might be like that morning before.. but he always has gone back up after cycle like this one (50s)... idk wuts going on.. maybe the medicine.. (helping his pressure..) but theres no studies saying it.. say no effect.. but idk. i known ive been dosing right. 😕..
 
Hi there, so sorry you had a tough night 🫂
Pudge never went to limes, so that’s good!
Looks like a Lantus double dip where he dips at the end of the cycle (but not as low as his nadir, earlier in his cycle).
I’ve had this many times with Ivy.
As you know, I’m not qualified to give dosing advice. So I hope someone who is qualified comes along soon!
I agree with Bhooma, it’s best to try to find a dose which you can safely shoot twice a day. So if you need to reduce, then maybe best to do that.
Of course since you need to be out today, you may want to give a token lower dose for his safety and your sanity.
And you could go back to 4.5 u after that tonight.
Just some thoughts to consider! 💝
Pudge may continue to drop until his shot time, or he could start to rise at the end of the cycle.
And he could bounce in his next cycle.
Bhooma I see you’re around, what do you suggest? @Bandit's Mom
hiii!! no thankfully.. right 🫶🏼 i seen this too w him, but not in a cycle like this one before.. but maybe that it. ty for clarifying a bit.. woof. never thought in cycle this..

ugh my god.. idk. im thinking to skip altogether haha and then 4.5 u tonite.. yes. 😕🫶

(right! just the thing is w TR.. i give snacks to help active cycles along. that doesnt work too well if we gotta go somewhere, whatever reason, what to do then? just reduce/skip dose i assume.. but been asking. ❤️‍🩹..)
 
hiii!! no thankfully.. right 🫶🏼 i seen this too w him, but not in a cycle like this one before.. but maybe that it. ty for clarifying a bit.. woof. never thought in cycle this..

ugh my god.. idk. im thinking to skip altogether haha and then 4.5 u tonite.. yes. 😕🫶
Just remember, even if you skip, the first 1/2 of the cycle can be still lower (if he’s surfing low) since the higher depot is still in play.

But So if you need to give him a little bit of medium carb (or whatever brings Pudge up) before you go out, that may keep him safe while you’re gone.
Just another thing to think about ❤️‍🩹
 
Just remember, even if you skip, the first 1/2 of the cycle can be still lower (if he’s surfing low) since the higher depot is still in play.

But So if you need to give him a little bit of medium carb (or whatever brings Pudge up) before you go out, that may keep him safe while you’re gone.
Just another thing to think about ❤️‍🩹
good to keep in mind.. im wondering if i can even go. things been strange for us.. new territory kinda. not familiar. trying to roll w it. 🥲🫶🏼
 
Im not sure what to do.. never dealt with this before. i usually stop snacks at +10.. but thinking to skip cuz things crazy. guess will check his +11?.. idk. and give snacks still?.. then his breakfast? Or wait to give breakfast?.. 😖😫.. this weird. scary.
 
ugh my god.. idk. im thinking to skip altogether haha and then 4.5 u tonite.. yes.
This is not as per the TR protocol, but I think that's what you might have to do since you can't monitor today and she's not really heading up yet. I missed the bit in your notes for tonight where you fed her syrup. She seems to want to head lower in dosing and has held all the unearned reductions so far.

Like I said earlier, better to reduce and see if you can get her to a dose you can shoot consistently without skips and without carbing her up.

Not to lurkers: this is advice specific to Pudge
 
Im not sure what to do.. never dealt with this before. i usually stop snacks at +10.. but thinking to skip cuz things crazy. guess will check his +11?.. idk. and give snacks still?.. then his breakfast? Or wait to give breakfast?.. 😖😫.. this weird. scary.
When do you have to leave and when are you back? She's been pretty flat for the last few hours.
 
When do you have to leave and when are you back? She's been pretty flat for the last few hours.
This is not as per the TR protocol, but I think that's what you might have to do since you can't monitor today and she's not really heading up yet. I missed the bit in your notes for tonight where you fed her syrup. She seems to want to head lower in dosing and has held all the unearned reductions so far.

Like I said earlier, better to reduce and see if you can get her to a dose you can shoot consistently without skips and without carbing her up.

Not to lurkers: this is advice specific to Pudge
right.. 🙌 ❤️‍🩹 but thinking so also.. this went on long. :/

he went up to 73/74 at PS test now.. buttt... idk to shoot a whole or any at that number (cus I seen em go down from 80s, upper 70s..) and from the long night.. yeah. :/ and I do really need to go today if I can go... ugh.

but I also am not sure what to do cuz his sight has been suffering w the BP, and a high sugar would not help this.. trying to make sure he keeps what sight he has. maybe 1/2? ohh what to do.. :(
 
thanks!!! @Bandit's Mom to save the day.. was just about to half it.. but 2 u is good? wut u think of his eyes?.. idk :/ but fine w skipping or 2 u.. ugh.

he is eating; actually need him to eat more.. 🥰
 
I think it's okay to skip (or give a token dose of 2u) and go down to 4.5u tonight. Will he eat or is he too full from eating all night?
I realize.. that day.. we had gone to the vet, a long drive. and a long visit. that skyrocketed his sugar I think.. he's just gonna be home today, chilling.. haha.. which was usually it and skips weren't too bad.. so hopefully its okay. (skipped.. and he had a good breakfast ☺️)

(for future tho, im wondering if to give token doses if we need to go to doctor, etc so sugars won't be too bad and hurt his eyes potentially.. lmk what maybe think.. appreciate so much. 💘..)
 
I’m trying to understand your concern about his BG in reaction to eyesight and high BP. Max had both and his fight was not effected by either and I was never warned about this. Uncontrolled BP can cause blindness but Pudge is on medication.
 
I’m trying to understand your concern about his BG in reaction to eyesight and high BP. Max had both and his fight was not effected by either and I was never warned about this. Uncontrolled BP can cause blindness but Pudge is on medication.
✨ perhaps its coincidental.. maybe not.. but once his pressure started getting addressed, his numbers got better again.. after weeks and weeks of increases.. i was fearful like what if he just goes up and up and up? thats not sustainable.. 🥺.. (and w everything going on this last cycle.. i forgot to give him his morning BP dose.. omgggg. 😖😖😖..)
 
Max had high bp of unknown cause since he was 12. That was years before becoming diabetic. I suspect it’s coincidence with Pudge but I don’t know.
 
Back
Top