10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294, PMPS=249 Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
10/15
AMBG=282 no shot
+4=319
+8=319
PMBG=303 no shot
+4=303
+8=289
AMBG=294 no shot

Yesterday
Results are back quickly.....it is pancretitis. He ate a little on his own during the night and I assisted with some syringes....likewise this morning. Vet called with results and then I went over there for some more sub q fluids and another Cerenia shot. She gave us Mirtazapine tablets to begin tomorrow.
He is being such a good boy...hanging out under the dining room table. He had a buprenex dose last night and this morning and we have one more for tonight.....
The vet gave me a print out on pancreatitis to read and I guess I will be reading whatever I can about it later, after my dentist appt. Will try giving him .5u Lev tonight if he eats during the afternoon...(his normal dose would have been S1.5u which includes a new dose reduction from the other day...)
I wonder how long this has been going on with the brewing pancreatitis~guess I can never really know for sure.
Any thoughts and spare vines you have lying around would be appreciated by both of us....hugs to you all!
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294 Pancreatitis

Absolutely sending tons of healing vines to Shadow. Darn on that dx, Pat. I hope he will feel better really soon with the treatment.

Did the vet give you some bupe for pain?

I'm not sure if you saw this post I did on Pancreatitis but it might give you some other thoughts to ask the vet.

Sending you both hugs and good luck at the dentist. Please let us know how Shadow does.
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294 Pancreatitis

Oh Pat Poor Shadoow!!! Good thing you got him to the vet so quickly--Now he will be able to start to get better!! Sending Out Big Green Healing Vines, and Prayers for our dear friend Shadow--You are such a great bean & I mean it!! Know how much you Love them--Hope tomorrow is better--Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294 Pancreatitis

Oh poor Shadow, kudos to you for catching it so quickly! Paws crossed Shadow is feeling better very soon! :YMHUG:

We used the mirtz with Zener once and it made him pretty frantic. We use cyprohexadine now and only a tiny sliver of the tablet.
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294 Pancreatitis

Pat --

Just to be clear, did the vet send the results out to either IDEXX or TAMU for a Spec fPL or do an in office Snap fPL? If the diagnosis was made based on amylase or lipase levels, those labs are not reliable in cats.

Marje's primer on Pancreatitis is great! Pain meds, Pepsid or other anti-nausea meds are essential.
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294 Pancreatitis

+4=293
+8=274

IDEXX Laboratories for the Spec IPL.
He has had two doses of Bupe yesterday and one so far today....one for later on today as well.
Pepcid one time each day 1/4 of a 10mg tablet.
Cerenia yesterday and again today.
Sub Q fluids yesterday and today as well.
Mirtazpine tablets 15 mg (1/4 tablet by mouth every 3 days starting tomorrow.)
I am trying to syringe watered down Recovery RS Feline and Canine canned Roayol Canin.
(Interestingly enough, my dental hygenist gave me syringes that can be cut so the nozzle is a bit larger than the animal syringes....LOL...she used them for her cat and gave me a few of them for Shadow.....so I had quite an interesting day of it all around.)

He is not really eating much. He ate a little on his own this morning but only about half of his 1/4 can of FF.
He is wandering around, alert and aware. He is beginning to shy away when he sees me coming towards him though. Poor little guy.....turns away when I put a plate of food down. He did lap up his Omega 3 oil though. I just gave him the Pepcid so i will try syringing more food in a little while.
Not sure if I can safely give him .5u insulin tonight since he isn't eating that well but i would like to try it.
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294, +8=274 Pancreatitis

Poor Shadow! Sending healing vines and hope for a speedy recovery. At least he should feel better w/ the bupe.
 
Re: 10/16 Pat's Shadow AMBG=294, +8=274 Pancreatitis

(((Pat & Shadow))) sending you healing vines and prayers for a good recovery for your sweet boy. It's so hard seeeing them sick.
 
PMPS=249 ~.5u Lev

He ate a luitte on his own so I am going to attempt some insulin as per the discussion with my vet this morning. Will be watching him and hoping that he will eat during the night...
Anyone using any enzymes after a pancreatitis episode? Just wondering what you have been successful with...and hoping that we can make it through this okay ourselves....
 
What about baby food? I can't remember who found a Beechnut ham flavor. It was a hit!

I'd also not worry if you need to give a higher carb food. As long as Shadow will eat, you can work the dose around the food.
 
Pat, I haven't had any experience with p'itis in cats, just my doggie, and don't remember his course of treatment, it was 17 years ago.

Bupe is a wonderful pain killer for Checkers spine problems, so I'm sure it will give Shadow good relief too.
I'm sending lots of healing vines for a quick and thorough recovery for Shadow.
Sending some eating vines along too, for your sweet boy.


Barb
 
Oh Pat! Sending tons of healing vines for poor Shadow. I agree not to worry about carbs so much right now. We had to pull out all the good stuff when T had pancreatitis. He needs calories. Hugs hugs hugs to you!
 
Hi Pat,
I am very sorry to hear of Shadow's pancreatitis dx. It's good that you caught it early. Rusty had a bout of it last spring. He never really stopped eating, but his bgs went up and his appetite was not normal. I think he had a mild case. I got him to eat by feeding him lots of his favorite food: FF Turkey & Giblets. Since it tended to spike his bgs, I compensated by upping his insulin dose. If you look at April and May 2012 in Rusty's SS, you can read in the comments section what we did.

I hope that Shad-0 will make a speedy recovery and will be eating and acting normally very soon. Lots of healing vines are on the way.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Marje's "pancreatitis primer" is excellent.
 
Aww, poor Shadow. Muffin can totally relate. I tend to use turkey lunch meat to spark her appetite when she's not feeling well, or having a CP flare. It usually gets her to eat at least a few bites of fuds. I know how stressful this dx can be, but it sounds like you're doing all the right things. I hope he feels better quickly. Muffin just got over p'titis - I'm giving her Denamarin, and plan on keeping her on it indefinitely, as she's had several flares in the past.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top