10/16 Ozy AMPS-232,+4-186,PMPS-358

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106377&p=1128874#p1128874

Ozy wasn't interested in his dinner last night, which is VERY unusual for him. His BG was high enough not to fret and I knew he had food out, so I was lazy and didn't get up to feed or test him. It was delightful to have a night off.

He seems good today so far. Best of all is seeing a bounce in his step and to see him get up on a low table easily. He is also just plain more cat like (looking around, interested in sounds and activity. The last few days he has been fine until a few hours after eating and then he has had pancreatitis symptoms. And that could be driving his high numbers. One of my nagging questions is how to deal with that, given the protocol rules about holding a dose. Lantus seems a bit unwieldy when it comes to responding to high numbers.

Because of the Lantus leaks, I am being so careful with his injections.... spending a long time selecting the site, leaving the needle in several seconds after the injection. I think I hold my breath now. I say leaks because he is fine after the injection (no smell of Lantus) and then a few hours later, I smell Lantus. Marje asked if he was dehydrated. I didn't think he was but the subQ fluids should help with that if he is. I have been sniffing him a lot lately because I am worried about ketones that the ketone strips don't detect.

This post got me concerned.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=103223
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

You can also give him 1/4 Pepcid a half hour before a meal (just once a day) to help coat his stomach and settle it before he eats.
Or Slippery Elm Bark. I haven't used that, but people here do.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

I'm glad Ozy is doing better today and has a bounce in his step. I'm sorry about the pancreatitis symptoms. Sending prayers for you and Ozy.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

Glad to hear Ozy's doing better AND you got a night off, too!

I didn't know about the 3 types of ketones, either nailbite_smile . I was using the NovaMax Plus for blood ketones, but I'm not sure its reliable, either. I'm going to purchase the Precision blood ketone meter.

Paws crossed that Ozy keeps that bounce in his step!!!
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

I'm glad Ozy is feeling well and off to a good start this morning! It's good you took the night off while you could . . . sanity break!
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

Thanks Carla, Lara, Suzanne, and Amy.

It is now +2 and Ozy smells of Lantus AGAIN. And he didn't eat much of his breakfast so I gave him Cerennia again. We are going to the vet to pick up some syringes and talk about Zofran. I think for the next few days I will be more proactive about treating his pancreatitis.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

Is what he is eating triggering him? Has he developed an allergy or sensitivity to anything in his food: chicken, turkey, beef?
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

Perhaps I gave him too many meat treats (which he GREATLY enjoyed). He has had bouts of pancreatitis off and on for three years...the good thing is the bupe helps him so much. I can't believe how he is now, compared to a few hours ago. Playing, devilish, lots of attitude, he is the old Ozy. The Ozy whose attitude I fell in love with. I am buping him, Danno.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

Most highly excellent, and rock on.
For what it's worth, see if there's anything that's triggering him. You're good at this stuff.
I'm just saying this because I noticed that veal and beef make my guy go sky high, and really sick.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232

I had a thought :!: :!: :!:

I always overdraw Gracie's dose and then gently push the plunger down to the dose I want; obviously, the needle expels insulin. IF you are holding the syringe vertically when you expel the excess insulin (if you do this), the insulin will run down the side of the syringe and then when you give Ozy the shot, it might get on his fur. This happened to me several times long, long ago and I would smell insulin on her fur long after her shot. I think she was licking herself and spreading the little bit of excess insulin on her fur. Now I make sure I dry the barrel of the syringe off before I shoot.

Do you think that could be happening? Remember that a little bit of insulin can have quite an odor.
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232,+4-186,+8-191

Thanks, Lara. I will think on it.

Marje, possibly. John draws the insulin and I did ask him. I did notice that the syringe smelled of insulin a little this morning. After the shot I sniffed Ozy carefully and smelled nothing. A few hours later, I smelled it within a few feet of him. The Lantus thing bothers me a lot because how can I know what dose he is getting?

He still feels good this afternoon. Playful. Fiesty. Walking pretty darn well. Bathing. Affectionate. So great to see the REAL Ozy again.

His BG is 191 at +8 and it was 186 at +4.....I'd call that holding.

donaleen
 
Re: 10/16 Ozy AMPS-232,+4-186,+8-191

Hmmmm.....I'd try to be sure the syringe is dry first and see if that helps any.

You can also pinch the injection site to be sure insulin doesn't leak out.

So great to hear him feeling so well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top