10/16 Michael pmps 85 +4 329

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40

Thanks.
He dropped another 28pts. I put a drop of karo in his food.
Hopefully he will have a good surf. The green Lagoon goes with his pretty green eyes ;-) .
 
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40

Congrats on the reduction Paula - Michael's new dose is now 1.5U.

Did you test again after that 40? When kitty is below 50, you should be testing every 1/2 hour to make sure they are coming up and above at least 60 before you slow down the testing.
 
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40 + 8.25 69

Thanks, Wendy
No, I didn't. Now I know.
I'm doing a curve for the vet and so I have been testing every three hours. He is coming up. (amps +8.25 69)
I am a bit concerned, I have to leave @ 6pm and won't be back until 9pm. I will test him at preshot which will be at 5pm. If he is till low like in the 60's do I still give the 1.5u :?: I will leave a lot of food out for him.
He appears to be o.k. doing the P's.
 
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40 + 8.25 69

Michael might bounce from the 40 today, but the question is whether he starts bouncing by PMPS time. If he's bouncing by preshot time you can shoot 1.5U. If he's too low for your comfort tonight, you can always give him a reduced dose, say 1U, and then go back to 1.5U tomorrow morning. And as you mentioned, leave plenty of food for him to snack on while you are gone.

Michael really does like to dive doesn't he! :o That 244 to 68 at +2.25 was an indication of an active cycle that needs more testing. For future reference, if the +2 or thereabouts test is a lot lower than preshot like it was today, you'll need to do more tests. When Neko was on Lantus, I'd test at least every hour when she was in the 60's and every half hour below that.
 
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40 + 8.25 69

Wendy,
Thanks for the advice. It helps me so much :!:
Due to my challenges, (complications from 3 brain aneurysms) all of this seems so complicated. I never realized how involved "D" is until I became a member of FDMB. (Vets sure do not keep you informed) With a disease as serious as "D, one needs to have assistance every step of the way. So all the advice, suggestions, information & help I get, I really do appreciate it. Every one is awesome, even though they have to keep helping me again & again.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/16 Michael amps 244 +2.25 68 + 5.25 40 + 8.25 69

Paula please print this out so have something ready and handy to refer to.

When you see a +2 that is less then your amps it is going to be an active cycle and Fequent testing is needed. The 68 @+2 176pt drop in 2.25hrs today was a huge, huge, huge, red flag that more fequent testing is required.

When leaving food out over night because of possible low numbers make sure it is a med carb.

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Re: 10/16 Michael pmps 85

Thanks, Darin.
I just printed this info out so I have it handy. Today was a real surprise, this was a first. Hopefully he is through with bouncing. (Wishful thinking) :smile:
 
Re: 10/16 Michael pmps 85

Paula, I see you shot 1.5 instead of a reduced dose tonight. I'd leave out some medium or high carb food for Michael to eat while you are away this evening.
 
Re: 10/16 Michael pmps 85

Hi wendy,
I left out a bunch of food.(I think to much.) pmps +4 329 (big bounce). I wonder what tomorrow will bring :?:
He ate all the food I left out. Maybe the 329 is a food spike.
Have a good night All,
Michael's Mom I-) I-)
 
i think the +4/329 coming up from 85 at pmps tells us that Michael is bouncing from this morning.

So he might be high for as long as 3 days - hard to say. He might clear the bounce sooner, but if it goes 3 days, don't worry. Just hold his new dose of 1.5u for now unless he goes below 50 again.

He spent nearly the whole am cycle in green numbers! the longer he spends in green numbers like that, the more his body will get used to it and maybe will help him stop bouncing.

i know what you mean about the diabetes. i never understood why people died from diabetes or couldn't get regulated until punkin became diabetic. It helped me to understand when I realized insulin is a hormone. So instead of thinking of all the pills people take that are the same dose every day for years on end, it's more like a teenage girl's hormones - slamming doors and screaming one moment, tears the next, all lovey-dovey after that. hormones fluctuate and their effect on the body changes depending on what else might be going on.

It's so much more complicated than I ever realized before. Fortunately, there are many experienced people on here who keep teaching others how to help their kitty. I'm grateful for the 2.5 years I had with punkin after he was diagnosed - and I give full credit to the people here on FDMB that helped me help him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top