10/16 Lilly AMPS 139 +4.5 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

terri1962

Member Since 2011
I am a little concerned this morning as she seemed like she is not wanting to eat and I had to give her FF Ocean Whitefish two days in a row. I know it is not good to give them fish to often but she would not eat the Liver and Chicken she usually eats. She did not eat much of the fish either. She now has two plates of food in front of her if she decides to eat and I will have to watch that the others don`t go in there and eat it.

Terri
 
Re: 10/16 Lilly AMPS 139

Terri:

We link our previous thread (aka "condo") to the current one. That way, if we need to backtrack to find something, it's relatively easy to do vs. trying to search the entire Board. Here's your link to Lilly's condo from Saturday.

Regarding treats, you mentioned you don't keep poultry in the house. You could always get some deli turkey or ham as a treat. Just make sure you look at the ingredients carefully. Some brands will contain sugar. The Fancy Feast Appetizers are find to use. However, they are expensive.

I know you said that Lilly can be challenging to test. Please do what you can to get some tests in during the cycle. In order to effectively use Lantus and to keep Lilly safe, you need to get at minimum, one test during each cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle, the nadir. This is somewhere in the middle of the cycle but it varies with each cat and the nadir can change. (For example, Gabby typically has her nadir at around +4 but it's been as early as +2 and as late as +6 or +7.) I'm particularly concerned about testing because Lilly has a low pre-shot number today. Whenever you shoot your lowest number, we strongly advocate getting a +1 and a +2. If you look at the sticky,Shooting & Handling Low Numbers, you'll note that we suggest that you don't shoot if you have a pre-shot below 150 unless you have data to inform you about when Lantus onset and nadir occur.
 
Re: 10/16 Lilly AMPS 139

Sienne

You will have to explain to me how to link the previous day condo to the current one. I will also try to test Lilly soon and get a mid day reading if possible.
Her ears are all pokied up as she does not bleed real well and some times I have to keep trying to get the blood which I hate.

Terri
 
Re: 10/16 Lilly AMPS 139

I hate poking over and over again, too. It hurts me, probably more than the cat.

That's a really nice AMPS there, Lilly :mrgreen: You might be in for a really healthy and healing cycle, today. Hope so.

I'll try to explain how to get the link to yesterday attached to your first condo.

The first thing I do in the morning, is to go looking for my thread from yesterday and read any additional posts that have been added. Then I click on the http:// address at the top of my computer screen to highlight it. Once it's highlighted, I can do a right click of the mouse and select Copy.
I then start a new condo. I click on the URL button at the top of the box where you write. This will add to the box. I put my curser between the [/b] and the [b] Do a right click of my mouse, and select Paste and the address to yesterday's thread will then show up in a light blue color when the Preview or Submit button is pressed.
 
Thank You. I just printed that out so I have it on hand. I feel so bad Lilly came out of the bedroom for the first time all day and I snatched her up to test her now she is back hiding in the bedroom like I have abused her, this makes me feel so bad. Of all four cats I have this is the absolute worst one that could have been diabetic. She is so sensitive and skittish.
So Sienne said if she is under 150 I do not give insulin. I did this morning. So tonight when I go to test if she is under 150 I do not give any shot . She is on.5

Terri
 
Terri:

These are great numbers! If you can't reliably test, I don't want to suggest that you shoot a lower number and then Lilly's numbers take a nose dive. My concern is over Lilly's safety and your piece of mind.

One thing to be aware of is that the more that you test, the easier it is for the cat's ear to bleed. As you poke, the capillary bed along the edge of the ear builds up making it easier to get blood. Also, for most cats, one ear bleeds easier than the other.

The more you can make testing a non-stressful, special time, the easier it will get, as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top