10/16 Gracie PMPS 91 +1 115 +2 130 +3 130 +4 155 +5 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27485

Recap:
AMPS: 282
+2: 149
+3: 65
+3.25: 51
+3.5: 56
+4: 56
+4.5: 59
+5: 55
+5.5: 64
+6.5: 70
+9: 194
PMPS: 300
+2: 336
+4: 314


Good morning and Happy Caturday!! We're moving slowly today...our thoughts and prayers are 100% with Krys and Kasha. I know all of us feel the same way. Even though we are newbies, we have felt so close to so many in LL and seeing three cats cross the RB in the month we have been here brings much sadness for their beans and all of LL.

Gracie bounced last night but evidently has plans for me today :RAHCAT :RAHCAT She had a lower AMPS than usual and a lower +2. I've been giving her 5% today instead of her normal 0-3% hoping to slow her down a bit. I worry about overtesting her but when her numbers are in the 50s, I feel it would be irresponsible to not check her every 15 mins until she comes up some. If this is overkill, please let me know. ...when I'm looking at her +3 yesterday, she fell from 65 to 51 in 15 mins...so if I hadn't done that test and fed her 6%, don't know where she would have been but I might have been struggling more to get her up. Instead...she had a nice surf at wonderful numbers. Still, I am learning, so advice is always appreciated.

WCR: she's doing great today...4Ps in place..she's already jumped in and out of her garbage can a few times. Sometimes she gets herself down in there and I have no idea how I'll get her out :lol: :lol: She is such a precious angel and a gift of immeasurable value to us....she has been my saving Grace.

Hope everyone is having a peaceful day....(((SUGARBABIES)))
Hey Mannie...what we up to today?? I'm ready!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125

Good Morning! Would you just look at Gracie! I can't get over how excited I am for you guys! You are all doing so wonderfully! IMHO there is no such thing as too much testing, so I don't think you're overdoing it at all. It's always better to know, than not to know.

It's amazing how fast this place becomes family, isn't it? We, too, are thinking of Krys and Kasha, and of course Bear Man, and Stu, and all the GA kitties, who I'm sure are busy getting ready to welcome Kasha to the Rainbow Bridge. Much sadness for those of us left behind.

Hope you guys have a great day.

Gracie - We goin' to the fish market today! I hear they gots salmons and crabs flying ebeywhere! - Muffin
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76

Morning, Anne!!! Gosh I'm so late with everything today but looks like Gracie is going to need my undivided attention!! Thanks for your thoughts on the testing because I do value your opinion..you have done so amazing with Muffin.

Fed 1/4 tsp 5% with scant 16% gravy to slow this down a bit....would be nice to get her in the 50s again for a long surf but guess she'll make that decision :lol: :lol:
Gosh 10 am and I've only had one cup of ~O) ~O) and no breffis. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

I WANNA GO CATCH FISH I WANNA GO CATCH FISH!! I'll meet yous there!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38

Uh yes..."go" would be the operative word here....1 tsp 16% w/1 drop karo....geez I hate to resort to that but looks like she earned a reduction. Yes??

QUESTION: I know the protocol calls for a .25u reduction but she was doing nothing on 1u before...is it possible to just shave it to 1.1u or do you think
her system is starting to kick in and we should try the 1u again?? THANKS!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38

Wow Gracie, that's a little low, sweetie, come back up a bit for the bean, ok? Not a dosing advisor by any means, but if it were me, I would try the 1u again. But wait for more experienced people.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42

ok..karo helping..42 @ 3.25 ..1/2 tsp 16% w/1 drop karo rechk in 15
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42

Hey Gracie you are diving a little low there come back up to the 50s at least nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42

Whoo Hoo!! This girl is on a green roll!! Feed that baby!--Looks real ral good Marjorie!! Good Job!--
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42 + 3.

Thanks Roni, Lisa, and Pat....gosh..I meant to do condos already but no time...I still haven't had breffis!!

She's at 61 at +3.5....I'm not going to feed this and see if she can surf on the HC I already gave her. I'll recheck her in 15 just to be sure she's coming up and not heading back down.

I'll give her the dosecrease to 1u tonight...I hope she holds it....she's been doing so well and I want to keep seeing blues/greens!!

Shall we all laugh.....three weeks ago, Libby had to hold my hand when Grace got down to 57....wow...you all have taught us ALOT!!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42 +3.5

oh my - i sign off for a few hours and look at what i missed. Gracie - you got a 38!?!?!?!? Way to go girl! I'd go with the 1 unit too - you can always go back up if it doesn't hold.

Very nice job you guys!!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42 +3.7

Thanks....she's up a little now...I didn't feed the 65 either...I'm gonna get some breffis and recheck in 30..give her a break. SURF BABY GIRL SURF!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42 +3.7

Good job! - it will be nice to know what she does with that 65, without more food. I hope she has a surf set up. When is her nadir?
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS 248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.25 42 +3.7

Whew Marjorie! I missed last night completely but looked at it just now before I got here.
Thought I was in an 'oh well' mood for Gracie and what do I arrive to see? +3 38!!!!
Holy Cow does she keep you on your toes or what??????
For anyone interested in how growth works when your the new mama of a diabetic kitty
it must have been only 3 or 4 weeks ago and like day 5 of shooting insulin when marjorie called me with what i seem to remember a +4 175 (or something to that effect) completely MAMA BEAN FREAKED!!! as to what to do????? Her baby girl was dropping!!!
I said is'nt that what we want her to do Marjorie honey?
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I am stunned by the ease she is handleing this +3 38....all the newbies should she this and know how quickly the "shock' wears off!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.75 65 + 4.5

Here you go, Michelle....look what she did w/no feeding..the little devil. Back down to 42 so I gave her 1 tsp 16% and will recheck in 15. Stinker. Nadir....hmmm...she keeps me guessing but I'd have to say between 5 and 6 so we have a bit more time....I will probably watch her closely until +7...she headed up at +6.5 yesterday without any steering.

Lori...you are TOO funny :lol: :lol: I think Mike is more freaked today than I am because he's gone...he's been calling me every 15 mins...but he's about to take-off
and has a long flight so he'll probably be nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile until he can call again :-D

At least I got breffis and my third ~O) ~O) ~O) ..evidently I was being TOOOOO relaxed by letting her go 45 mins when I thought she was headed up. BAD MAMABEAN :!:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.75 65 + 4.5

hey did mike get a read of the 'dear dad' letter (same as dear mom) remember the part..trust DW she knows where all the hypo stuff is, it's in every room of the house. you trust her with your life dad, you can trust her with mine...so relax, calm down and be careful flying that big birdie.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.75 65 + 4.5

+ 4.75 47...gave another tsp of 16%..no karo wash, rinse, repeat in 15

Lori...he didn't read it but guess he needs to :roll: :roll: I think he trusts me....I think it's just hard being away...that 15 mins goes by so slowly if you aren't the one scampering around in between tests :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248 +2 125 +2.5 76 +3 38 +3.75 65 + 4.5

wow, take a look at Gracie lately! Excellent numbers for your sweet baby girl! And look at you...how well you are handling this...all by you widdle self! You are going an excellent job! No, let's see Gracie surf the rest of this cycle!! SURF GRACIE!!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+2.5 76+3 38+3.75 65+ 4.5 42+

Another exciting day for Gracie and you. :mrgreen: You are doing so great, Marjorie. Come on, Gracie, surf please.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+2.5 76+3 38+3.75 65+ 4.5 42+

+ 5 58...just gave some 5% to see how long she can hold this...dare I trust her for 1/2 hour??

Thanks, Deb...it's the military wife in me...or should I say ex-military since Mike is retired? Since he was a pilot, he was gone ALL the time and wouldn't you know as soon as he left, all h#*% broke loose :lol: :lol: When we lived in Germany, he had to deploy to Turkey for 3 months. The night before he left, I tripped over his huge bag and broke two toes and then stood out on the flightline for 5 hours the next day waiting for them to leave..my whole foot was swollen. But that night, we got 80 mph winds and an unbelievable storm and it blew tiles off our roof...our bedroom was on the fourth floor of our house and rain was pouring in and I had to hobble down 4 flts of stairs to the basement to get a bucket and then back up. The bathroom was on the 3rd floor so whenever the bucket got full, I had to take it down another flt of stairs and back up. It wasn't funny then but now I look back and have to laugh esp because it was not an isolated incident...he leaves, SUMPINS gonna make it exciting :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+2.5 76+3 38+3.75 65+ 4.5 42+

Well then, Marjorie, little Gracie dropping is NUTTIN' compared to those other things! :lol: You are so in control.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+2.5 76+3 38+3.75 65+ 4.5 42+

marjorie one day, when all this is over, your going to have to write a little piece on your personal diabetic mama bean growth and post it on health for me to hand out to hysterical newbie's. tell your story. show them how quickly they can go from scared to death to mama in control of those #'s. i will save it and show it when necessary. people really need to see that, they don't believe it but they need to see it anyway. some newbie's come here thinking this is going to cause them to have a nervous breakdown and it helps to talk them off the ledge so to speak... :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 5.5 53

This baby girl is working me like a govt mule!!! +5.5 53!! Fed her more 5%

Lori...what makes you think I'm not having a nervous breakdown :lol: :lol: :lol: If you are serious, then I can...anything to help others but I wonder if you just have
to go through the experience?? I'm willing if you want it!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 5.5 53

This is better than an afternoon at the movies. :lol:
I bow to you, Marjorie, I stll get nervous when Checks goes 'all the way down"..... to 60 :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+2 125+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 5.5 53

Beautiful cycle so far AND a dose reduction! Unless Gracie bounces (anti-jinx) by PMPS, your new dose will be 1.0u. Congrats!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 + 6.7

I know this increase is the karo so I fed her more HC without the karo and will keep checking. She is not about to give this up today!

Sienne...what did you mean unless she bounces shoot 1u? If she bounces, do I shoot 1.25u? Can you explain that to me please....do you mean I shoot through the bounce even tho she wants a reduction? Is that her numbers will come down for the reduction on SUNDAY? Thanks!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 + 6.7

Not about to give this up today - is she? what an incredible awesome day today for Gracie! And a definite dosecrease. YAY!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 +7 82

Oopps..mighta overfed the HC..'nother lesson learned :lol: :lol: That 6.5 of 35 grabbed my attention...she should have been headed up by then...normally is. So no I've HC'd her and she's probably trying to come up on her own...oh well...guess we'll deal with it :roll: :roll: Thankfully, I have 200 strips here and enough pokey sticks--hopemy meter doesn't wear out! I cannot believe how wonderful my baby girl has been today with me sticking her as much as I have. I wonder if it's safe to come out of the water now or if I need to recheck in 30? Last time I waited an hour, she plummeted. Think I'll be sure I have two rising numbers (that are NOT karo) before I take a quick snooze :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 +7 82

Sounds like a good plan. She REALLY wants that decrease, doesn't she? She showed you again, just in case you missed the first one! :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 +7 82

If Gracie bounces into the pinks, you can shoot the old dose one last time. You don't have to -- you can go to the 1.0u dose at PMPS.

And I think you also understand why I suggest testing every half hour (or less) until you get two stable or rising numbers and then test every hour. When numbers are low, they can wobble around. You're doing great.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38 +3.75 65 + 5 58 + 6.5 35 +7 82

Go Gracie - looking really good. you've done well today Marjorie. :-D Come on Gracie - two rising numbers!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

Wow....so I tested until I got what was two stable numbers but she dropped again. I'm going to feed her a bit of 5% and see if that helps any. Any suggestions?

Sienne...I TOTALLY see your point...wobbly is the name of the game today :lol: :lol: Here's my question:

If she goes into pink at PMPS and I shoot 1.25u instead of the dosecrease, then I can probably expect her to do what she has done today and then she might also bounce again tomorrow morning. What if she did and was in pink again in the morning....when would I give her the reduction? I guess I'm a little leery of shooting the 1.25u tonight and having to fight her hypoing all night like I have today...I don't mind being up but we're both tired and DH is gone; having said that, I also don't want to keep her from being in the healing range which she won't be if I don't shoot through the bounce (shoot regular dose instead of decreased dose). I'm asking for advice now so I don't have to make a last minute decision later.

Will there be anyone around tonight if she doesn't bounce and I have to shoot low??? I know I need to wait for a rising number and then shoot the reduction (1u) but someone to help me through it would be appreciated. Thanks!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

i'm not much marjorie....but i'll be around. for support. and whatever you need.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

:-| No Marjorie...we are all going on vacation tonight...you are in charge!
I counted abut 3 questions..one per customer...which one do you want to ask Marjorie?

LaughingSmiley.gif


Would you feel more comfortable giving her the reduction she earned at tonight's dose?
Let's see what she is at Preshot time...or if you want to post a +11....
but you are right...he is gone and you are alone and she doesn't have anything more to prove...
you will still test her a little tonight though, won't you?
I just asked 3 questions too....LOL
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

If I were YOU, I would give her the reduction tonight....then, if she bounces, she bounces and you don't have to second guess yourself, right?
If she doesn't hold the reduction you will know in the next couple of days and then you can go back up to this dose again. But I think she is doing great. Look at those numbers today. And look at YOU Marjorie! Wonderful job today!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

FWIW i would definetly give reduction tonight regardless of bounce #. not out of fear, it just seems the sensible thing to do based on today.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

Thanks, Lori and Pat. I appreciate your support and encouragement. Here's what I'll do if she doesn't like the reduction:


She might just take that decision out my hands as I am having to feed 5% to keep her around 70 at +9. BUT...she is full of surprises and I've seen her shoot up faster than you can blink. I promise I won't feed after +10 :lol: :lol:

But I'm liking the sound of the reduction tonight anyway...she is so tired that she isn't even picking her head up when I pokey her...porr darling. THANK YOU!! Gracie sends (((())))))
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+8.5

Hi Marjorie - i'm around too, should you need help, though I'm certainly not an expert.

I think you need to shoot what you are comfortable with - it sounds like that would be the reduction. Good luck for the rest of this cycle - I am anxious to see what she will do. I sure does seem that Gracie is done with this dose.

you've done so well with her - you will be fine tonight too.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+10 7

Just joking, Pat :lol: :lol:

Thanks, Michelle...I'll take you up on it!!
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+10 7

Wow, look what I missed today! Good work Marjorie! :thumbup Congratulations on the reduction. I'll be around for a while too.
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+11 8

angela, marjorie and i were just looking at you ss in case she has to shoot low tonight. wanted to see what that looked like on paper...will you be around later?
 
Re: 10/16 Gracie AMPS248+3 38+3.75 65+5 58+ 6.5 35+7 82+11 8

Pat asked me to get a +11 and then we could discuss what I might need to do at PMPS. For Gracie, historically those two numbers are pretty close together.
I know it's getting late on the East Coast and Midwest...not sure who is around in an hour but if her PMPS is lower, I know I stall to see if it comes up. How long do I stall, when do I feed, how do I decide whether to not shoot or shoot a BCS...seems I've seen some folks go to +14 before shooting? I know it's best to wait and see what she's doing but if there's no one around...I know I will need some general guidance. Of course, if one of you will be there for me in an hour, thenI don't need scenarios :lol: :lol:
Thanks!!

Thanks, Ann and Angela and thanks for checking in with Angela, Lori. I've been calm all day...now I'm nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile BUT...I can do this with guidance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top