10/16 Cobb AMPS 55 +5 60 +8 66 PMPS 55 pm+2 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Ok, going on the assumption that Cobb's nadir is hitting at shot time, I went ahead and decreased another unit this morning and shot him before I left for work. nailbite_smile No lie...a bit nervous, but I left him with some higher carb food. Matt will be home at +4.5 so he'l watch him after that.

Hold on...a feel another rollercoaster ride coming.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 10/16 Cobb AMPS 55

Is this a first pre-shot this low? Way to go Cobb! It's been written that those using lev never worry about shooting low because onset won't be until later. Show us that it's true for you too, Cobb.
 
Re: 10/16 Cobb AMPS 55

Go Cobb!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:

Sorry, had to do it. ;-)

cat_roller_coaster_web.gif

Cobb goes for a wild one.
 
Re: 10/16 Cobb AMPS 55 +5 60 +8 66 PMPS 55

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Decreased by 2u tonight...down to 12. I'll update Cobb's SS soon.
 
I know it's the depot from this morning. But how the hail (that's hell with a Southern accent y'all, and how I typically say it :lol:) am I suppose to decide what to dose him?

I dropped by 2 units tonight. A decent drop...roughly a 15% drop. And I figured I was being too optimistic with that drop. Crap crap crap...
 
Holy carp again! :shock: Paws crossed this is just Cobb having a nadir at +14. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile This is not the dose you just shot speaking. It could still be the 16U depot. It can take 6 cycles for the higher depot to deplete, especially with the larger doses. Up up up please Cobb!

Cobb may have reached the phase where you need to do a 1/2 or 2/3 dose after a reduction to drain the depot, followed by the new dose the following cycle. If you keep reducing cycle to cycle, it's hard to say how large the depot thinks it is and how much is too much. And apparently the depot can get ahead of you. Argh!
 
Got it. I had tried the half dose before and he would jump above 300, but maybe with these "smaller" doses it won't be as dramatic of a jump? This cat needs to climb up a little bit! Tomorrow is shaping up to be hellacious at work...another threat, another school...wth is wrong with kids? I KNOW it didn't used to be this bad!
 
I really think much of the increase in threats is due to the media, cell phones, and computers. I don't know how anyone can work at middle schools or high schools right now without constantly being on guard. Then again I taught elementary school.

Cobb continues to amaze me. Does he act as good as his numbers look??
 
wowser.

we gots our eyes on you, Cobb! :shock: time to come UP a little bit so your mama doesn't lose her hair!

Cobb is changing - the iaa must've broken. With iaa it could be not only the previous depot, but if the antibodies release the insulin that it had bound up, you could now have more insulin available to his body. That's in addition to what you've been shooting and the depot.

I'd like to see Sandy's input on this.
 
Hi there :cool:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
Cobb is changing - the iaa must've broken. With iaa it could be not only the previous depot, but if the antibodies release the insulin that it had bound up, you could now have more insulin available to his body. That's in addition to what you've been shooting and the depot.

I'd like to see Sandy's input on this.
Being that BK was the first at FDMB to be diagnosed with IAA, there were no ss's to look at and no ones sleeve to tug on. The only information we had that addressed extreme insulin resistance was one excerpt from a book on (human) diabetes . It stated that when insulin sensitivity returns, it can happen quite suddenly. At these times, large amounts of insulin previously bound to the antibodies may be released, so avoiding hypoglycemia is a major concern. The return to normal sensitivity will take at least several weeks due to the half-life of the antibodies and insulin requirements may fluctuate a great deal during this time.
(the antibodies have a half life of 3-4 weeks)

Go with the flow.
Proceed with caution and expect the unexpected. When in doubt err on the side of safety.
"Better a day too high than an hour too low"
 
Hi there!

Long time...

OMG Cobbers, keep letting it go.

I hope that some day,your family and Cobb road trip to the Grand Canyon, stay with us. Cobb and Knute can meet and pretend they're mimes...copy catting!

Best Rebekah
 
checking back in on his ss - and i'm observing that he's had 3 entire days of normal numbers. i didn't go back and look, but am guessing this is the first time ever, isn't it?

having a high dose cat isn't for the faint of heart - ya gotta have courage to cope with it! fortunately, suzanne, you have risen to the occasion and are doing right by Cobb. great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top