10/16 ChrisFarley AMPS 97 +2 69 +4.5 76 +6 67 PMPS 107 +2 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
I almost didn't test when I got up to feed him at 4:30 last night just so I wouldn't see if he snuck into blue and messed up that perfectly green day. ALMOST!!

Seems like we should do something with his dose after having been on it for this long, but I don't see anything that says we go back up. I don't see anything screaming we go down yet. We are going to be gone Fri evening into the night and then at an adoption event for quite a while after Sat morning shot (with our other fosters, not Chris) so we won't be able to monitor him. I am thinking of maybe taking his dose down for those just to be on the safer side. Maybe if it looks like its going to hold we stay there.

Since the feeders we have aren't seeming to work, picking up a new 5slot Petsafe today for him.


Yesterday: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0
 
Re: 10/16 ChrisFarley AMPS 97 +2 69 +4.5 76 +6 67

Here's your link to Yesterday's condo. The link you've got goes to his spreadsheet instead. Must've been the headache typing!

I would just hold his dose for the moment and try to catch him going under 50.

If he doesn't go under 50, then you're looking at the second clause under reductions that says if he holds normal numbers for 7 days straight at one dose, then try to reduce his dose and see if he will hold the good numbers.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I would start counting yesterday as day 1 at 1.25u, in all normal numbers. Not sure what that crazy 182 is about or where it came from!

Pretty exciting things happening for mr. farley! I'm not sure what to suggest about Saturday morning, although the thought is tickling in my head that perhaps you could take him along with you. I'd hate to see him setback by reducing his dose in advance, but obviously he can't just be left alone while he's like this. He has moved into a great phase - ya just want to keep him safe while his pancreas is healing.

Some cats go OTJ very slowly and methodically, reducing 0.25u per week of normal numbers and taking months to do it. Some cats go OTJ over the course of a day or two, or maybe a week. There's no predicting how it will happen, but it is typical that the nadirs come down into normal numbers first, then the pmps comes down, and last is the amps. You've solid green nadirs and pmps tests. Now 5 of the past 8 days have had green amps. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/16 ChrisFarley AMPS 97 +2 69 +4.5 76 +6 67 PMPS 107 +

Thanks Julie. The 182 was after the longest stretch he's went without food. You'll find all the blues in the recent weeks right after a stretch of white in the spreadsheet - no testing and no food :) Tonite he didn't get as much of a creep because I left a note for the cleaning people feed him while we were gone. We got a different style auto-feeder set up tonite to see how it works for him.

We can't take Chris with us Fri night or Sat. We will be meeting my dad at a concert at a casino Fri evening and will get home in the middle of the night. Our sitter/tech will be giving Chris his shot, but then he will be on his own until +6 or +7 when we get home. On Saturday morning, the adoption event is for our fosters for a different shelter than Chris is from. The organizations get along enough to accept we are fostering diabetics for both, but there really won't be anywhere for us to have Chris other than our car during that event, they won't put him in with their animals up for adoption. Jason is going to have to tend to our two fosters and I am there as a volunteer to tend to the cats coming from the shelter and talk to anyone interested in the cats. Our other fosters NEED the exposure or we wouldn't both go. We'll only be gone a little over 4 hours which wouldn't be that bad if it was +1 to +5, Chris's low time. :roll: Hopefully the timed feeder makes a big difference and he stops shooting into the blues!
 
Re: 10/16 ChrisFarley AMPS 97 +2 69 +4.5 76 +6 67 PMPS 107 +

did you get the Petsafe 5 compartment feeder? that one lets you set 4 compartments to open. I used it and set it to open every 1/2 hr when i was worried punkin might go low. If you have that one, perhaps you can set it to open frequently in the hours he might be low, then the petsitter could refill and reset the opening times.

the biggest glitch people complain about online with that particular feeder is that it sometimes doesn't open fully. I found that if you had the feeding tray fully seated in the base, it always opened. There is a button to manually advance the feeding tray and doing that lets you be certain the tray is fully seated and it will open as expected.

Someone mentioned that they had 2 feeders so could set 8 times to open. I thought that was brilliant.

Food is the tool you use to bring up low numbers, so if you can get him the food as though he were having low numbers, that would be the safest.

you've got a big weekend coming!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top