10/16 Billie PMPS 346 +4.5 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127029

Thank you to everyone who stopped by last night's condo! I went promptly to sleep after seeing that her +4 was pretty high! We are on the every other day pred schedule now...and she coughed this morning. It wasn't bad at all, especially compared to the pre-pred coughing fits. But, it was a cough, so I'm on high alert.

Pred aside, I am wondering about a dose increase. I wanted to hold the dose in case her numbers came down as we tapered off the pred, but I don't think that is happening. Right now, it looks like she is either trending up or bouncing from yesterday AM's blue...and if she is bouncing from blue now, that's no good. I wish I had gotten another test after the +4.5 yesterday, but she was at 143 and I would be surprised if she went much lower than that. Does a dosecrease sound reasonable?

I hope everyone is having a nice day!! Sending vines to all the cats and beans needing vines!
 
Re: 10/16 Billie AMPS 351 +5 230 dosecrease?

Hi Deanna:

I am not going to give you dosing advice - I'll leave that to those that are much smarter than I. I will, however, offer moral support on the coughing issue. You may never be able to fully eliminate the cough, but reducing the frequency and violence of the episodes is a good goal, too. Minka still has been coughing every few days lately, but it's so much better than it was before we started her on the Pred. I wish I could back her down to every third day again, but as long as she's still having these episodes, I'm afraid to do so. Billie may be the same way. Not trying to discourage you, but just wanted to let you know it's not catastrophic if you can't conquer the cough. Getting it somewhat under control is still a win.

That said, sending lots of anti-coughing vines.

Good luck with the dosecrease, if you decide to take one.
 
Re: 10/16 Billie AMPS 351 +5 230 dosecrease?

Thank you Tricia! I appreciate that. It would be lovely if the cough would just go away forever. But, I know that may be unlikely, and I just want Billie to be as happy and healthy as possible. I will probably PM you with some coughing questions!
 
Re: 10/16 Billie AMPS 351 +5 230 dosecrease?

Thinking of you! I hate the sound of a cough. It puts me on high alert too. We know how easily it can get out of control. It is possible to balance it all. Big hugs for you Deanna!
 
Re: 10/16 Billie AMPS 351 +5 230 dosecrease?

Thank you Melissa!! I really appreciate your help!

So far, no more coughs today...just some snuggling and lots of napping! That is a relief for now at least!
 
Re: 10/16 Billie AMPS 351 +5 230 dosecrease?

Less coughing sounds good! :-D Good luck with the every other day pred dosing. Thanks for putting that in the SS, it does help.

I think you are fine for a dosecrease, as long as you are around to monitor, which you usually are. As you said, Billie is bouncing from blue so it would be great to see some green and dampen down those bounces with some more juice.
 
Re: 10/16 Billie PMPS 346

Thanks Wendy! I went with the dosecrease, so we're at 1.75u again.

I don't like this stinky pink business at all. I guess I will just go by her numbers instead of worrying about what the pred taper may or may not do.

Speaking of the pred...she got her dose tonight and immediately headed under the bed. She was furious. I think she thought she was in the clear after we skipped yesterday. It took quite a bit of bacon to get her out! I tried to get her with pork first, but that wasn't good enough. I had to call in the big guns. Thank goodness for bacon.
 
Re: 10/16 Billie PMPS 346

Bummer about the coughs....and having to pull out the bacon! Poor Billie....I take it she doesn't like pill pockets? Maybe you could make a little bacon pocket for her pred! I agree with the others....even if it means more juice, controlling the cough with pred is important. It's a balancing act, but doable. Work that dosecrease, Billie!!
 
Re: 10/16 Billie PMPS 346

Who wouldn't come out from under a bed for bacon! :lol: Have you ever tried the Orijen cat treats? They have one that is freeze dried wild boar. My kitties are currently sampling that as their test treat.
 
Re: 10/16 Billie PMPS 346

Thanks Amy and Wendy!! Billie is unfortunately not interested in pill pockets, although Brooklyn thinks they are cool treats. I will look for the Orijen wild boar! That sounds good and is definitely worth a try. When Billie could have dairy, it was super easy to get her to take meds, because all I had to do was mix them with milk. I tried mixing the pred with pork broth and fortiflora, and that worked for about a week, but she gradually got less enthusiastic about it and ended up refusing it. I'll have to experiment with different options if this is a longterm thing. Maybe I could make bacon pockets like Amy said. I feel bad - I tasted a drop of the pred and it is super bitter. She is still holding a grudge from tonight's dose. Sorry Billie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top