10/16 Asia AMPS 378, +1 365, +3.5 272, +7 338, +10 610

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-15-asia-amps-345-4-5-317-7-5-386.185482/

Still in the pinks. I'm starting to see some trends. When Asia's numbers are really high (reds and blacks) she seems to drop drastically from insulin in the first 1-2 hours (100 points or more). I'm also seeing an average of 20-30 points drops and rises per hour outside of the initial drop from a high number I just noted. Pretty useful data to have.

I'm also proud of myself for learning how to freehand with a lancet, it's actually quite easy! I was scared to try it at first and was using the lancing device. Asia can't hear anymore, so the sound didn't bother her at all, but I nicked a vein more than one and I didn't like doing that and her losing that much blood.
 
She's totally adorable :) Congrats on learning to freehand with the lancet. That's the way I do it also.

Sorry can't help with dosing just cheerleading :) :)
 
She's totally adorable :) Congrats on learning to freehand with the lancet. That's the way I do it also.

Sorry can't help with dosing just cheerleading :) :)
Thank you so much! I think the hand held lancing is less painful too, not that she was really bothered in the first place, but the lancing device would puncture clear through her ear to the under side and now I have a lot more control.
 
When Asia's numbers are really high (reds and blacks) she seems to drop drastically
You're very observant. Although shooting low is scary at first (wait until the first green preshot :nailbiting:) they tend to not drop as much when shooting lower numbers. Lantus and Levemir have the ability to create flat cycles for our babies but can take a while.

It took me 5 months (wasn't home testing at all thanks to my not so wonderful vet and yes, we ended up in the ER twice) to find this board and when the wonderful people here told me to shoot the same (3.25u at the time) with a green preshot I thought they were all crazy :p Doodles had neuropathy but within 1 month of following the advise here he fully recovered and was able to walk and even jump again. Eventually he stopped bouncing and became a well regulated green cat. Fast forward a bit and his heart failed along with insulin resistance otherwise I'm sure he would've made it to remission. Sorry for getting a bit off-topic.
 
Hi. I just looked at your SS and noticed you are holding the dose for 5 days, instead of 3 as recommended with TR. Is there a reason why you aren't increasing that often? The sooner you can get Asia into lower and better numbers, the better she will feel. :)

Congrats on learning how to freehand... I've been testing for 6 months and I still use the lancing device. :rolleyes:
 
I just looked at your SS and noticed you are holding the dose for 5 days, instead of 3 as recommended with TR. Is there a reason why you aren't increasing that often
The 107 on AT is likely green and Asia is new to green so TR suggests holding it 8-10 cycles.

From the Sticky
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
You're very observant. Although shooting low is scary at first (wait until the first green preshot :nailbiting:) they tend to not drop as much when shooting lower numbers. Lantus and Levemir have the ability to create flat cycles for our babies but can take a while.

It hasn't even happened to me yet, but it is scary. What scares me more than doing it in the first place is having her go hypo and not being able to get her to eat the HC "junk food" to snap her out of it. She just isn't the type of cat to eat on command or get excited for food and I've never found an actual food she's so excited to eat she just goes for it.

It took me 5 months (wasn't home testing at all thanks to my not so wonderful vet and yes, we ended up in the ER twice) to find this board and when the wonderful people here told me to shoot the same (3.25u at the time) with a green preshot I thought they were all crazy :p Doodles had neuropathy but within 1 month of following the advise here he fully recovered and was able to walk and even jump again. Eventually he stopped bouncing and became a well regulated green cat. Fast forward a bit and his heart failed along with insulin resistance otherwise I'm sure he would've made it to remission. Sorry for getting a bit off-topic.

I'm so very sorry you lost your Doodles, but so glad you were able to find this board eventually and he had a good run with the diabetes under control. :bighug:

A friend of mine since I was a little girl is diabetic and when the vet told me just to give insulin and not test I thought to myself "that can't be right?!" I even asked her if I should test and she said I could if I wanted to (but didn't make it sound like it would be useful or worthwhile). That's when I hit the internet and found lots of info, including this board.

OT, but explains a bit why I "need to know". Unfortunately, my daughter was medically injured when she was a toddler (she is perfectly fine now), but that experience scared the crap out of me and from that point forward, I stopped blindly trusting doctors. They are just people, people with many more years of school and training than myself, but they don't know everything and sometimes their decisions are based on old science (or even junk science). I learned the hard way you have to be your own health advocate (or your kids and animals, as it were) and I double check medical advice given to me to make sure it checks out and is the best course of action.
 
Hi. I just looked at your SS and noticed you are holding the dose for 5 days, instead of 3 as recommended with TR. Is there a reason why you aren't increasing that often? The sooner you can get Asia into lower and better numbers, the better she will feel. :)

Congrats on learning how to freehand... I've been testing for 6 months and I still use the lancing device. :rolleyes:
Just because I don't quite know what I'm doing yet and using the guidance of the group to make dosing decisions until I'm more sure of what I'm doing.

No judgement at all, if it works for you, keep at it...I just kept nicking the big vein despite aiming for the sweet spot. :banghead:
 
She just isn't the type of cat to eat on command or get excited for food and I've never found an actual food she's so excited to eat she just goes for it.
Doodles was not food motivated at all. What gave me some relief is that I always had a syringe if absolutely needed. Luckily I only had to resort to that a few times.

I learned the hard way you have to be your own health advocate (or your kids and animals, as it were) and I double check medical advice given to me to make sure it checks out and is the best course of action
Very true and yes, unfortunately most of us have had to learn the hard way but better late then never
 
The 107 on AT is likely green and Asia is new to green so TR suggests holding it 8-10 cycles.

From the Sticky
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Thank you. I thought perhaps there was something in a previous condo about holding the dose longer.
 
Doodles was not food motivated at all. What gave me some relief is that I always had a syringe if absolutely needed. Luckily I only had to resort to that a few times.

A syringe of what? o_O Like a blank one for food and liquid medicine? If that's what you're talking about, won't work for us, Asia is a nil by mouth cat, she won't let you in there without an epic struggle. I'd have a much easier time putting honey in her rear! :facepalm:
 
Doing well (relatively) since the dose increase and now a +10 black, not kinda black, but midnight black: 610. Sigh. Still an hour and a half until her next dose as well, so it's going to go up a little more from there, I suspect.

On a positive note, she chased our other cat, Toki, down the hall today. Weirdly, she seems more active when her numbers are higher! Maybe her body is more used to that at the moment?
 
On a positive note, she chased our other cat, Toki, down the hall today. Weirdly, she seems more active when her numbers are higher! Maybe her body is more used to that at the moment?
A little chasing is a good thing. Yes, unfortunately her body is use to the higher numbers. :rolleyes: She also had a sizable drop early in the cycle which doesn't help :(
 
Titan and I refuse to acknowledge Mr Bl..k when he showed up in Titans SS. Maybe that would help. Plus we went ultra fast track once we knew we had an Acro cat but you have to be able to test A LOT. lots of help from the board here allowed us to get Titan to a dose that brought his numbers down. We were in full panic mode with all the Bl..ks and Reds.
 
On a positive note, she chased our other cat, Toki, down the hall today. Weirdly, she seems more active when her numbers are higher! Maybe her body is more used to that at the moment?

Darwin was the same way! He was much happier in the pinks and high yellows, and cranky when he was green. Once he gave me some blue, and then green, PS numbers that I got brave enough to shoot; he finally started feeling better in lower numbers. It was SUPER hard to be patient, but it really pays off! Haha!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top