10/16 Alska AMPS=286 PMPS=-248

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Interviewed a new catsitter last night. I am really impressed with her and she lives in my neighborhood. Alska was very calm around her - in fact he didn't even react when I gave him his shot (that stinker). She paw tests but I am only going to have her shoot and feed. I am so relieved and hoping to have a worry-free getaway this time even if it is for only a day and a half.

I will reduce his dose to 1u while I am away.

Just wish his numbers would get out of the yellow. I know, I know... patience!
 
Re: 10/16 Alska AMPS=286

Congrats on finding a great pet sitter they are worth their weight in gold!!!

One thing you might want to do is leave her a sample syringe with colored water. So she knows exactly where his dose is.

And since she lives close perhaps you can help her expand her skills by teaching her to ear test. I'm betting she is more use to testing droolers than kitties since dogs don't have that nice ear rim vein like cats. Dogs are routinely tested on either the paw or lip.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/16 Alska AMPS=286

I was so spoiled for 20 years because I had a Scottish woman who lived in my building who took care of my cats like they were hers - for FREE while I traveled the country giving speeches about recycling plastic. She is now a dear friend but doesn't live close enough. I have used services but it is so impersonal.

I did show her how I test the ear and she was willing but I don't think Alska was. I want Alska to get a little more use to her then I will have her come back and have a more in-depth training because I will want her to test during longer trips. She has shot and filled syringes many times. She works for a service so she does this all day. I am hiring her outside of the service. I asked her how much she charged to come in twice and day and feed four cats and give one insulin. She said $10 a day. I told her that that was not acceptable. She looked at me funny and then I told her that her service to me was worth more than that. After we settled on a higher price, she said that I would get white glove service even though that's really what she gives all her clients.
 
Oh well crap! The syringe expelled the insulin before I got it near the skin and before I put my thumb on the plunger. I think the caps on the UtiCare syringes must have some sort of suction action when pulled off. I don't think he got ANY insulin in tonight's shot :-x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top