10-15 Zhoom Boy -AMPS 270 now on a rollercoaster

CRL

Member Since 2019
Hi me and Zhoom Boy are new here. I need advice on dosing this morning. Zhoom's preshot is 270 which is much lower than his normal. Should I give a whole dose. He is on 1 unit right now.
 
Are you going to be home today to test? 270 is certainly a shootable level - for 1 u. Let's hope as the depot may be building up, that he'll see more of these lower numbers soon!

Welcome to the forum! You've done an excellent job already with your signature and spreadsheet! If you're coming from another forum, could you please add the last url posting to your condo today? That way we'll have some history of how you've come to join us :)
 
Are you going to be home today to test? 270 is certainly a shootable level - for 1 u. Let's hope as the depot may be building up, that he'll see more of these lower numbers soon!

Welcome to the forum! You've done an excellent job already with your signature and spreadsheet! If you're coming from another forum, could you please add the last url posting to your condo today? That way we'll have some history of how you've come to join us :)


Thanks. I'm doing my best over here. this is hard stuff! I had been posting on the main health forum and then I discovered this one this morning. So much to learn. Here is the thread from the main health forum http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cat-eating-urine-clumps-from-the-litter-pan.220377/

I will be leaving for work in about an hour. I will give him his shot and check before I leave. I sure hope we can start seeing some lower numbers soon. That would be wonderful.
 
Tested at just over +1 and he jumped to 411! Is that normal, seems like a big jump.
 
Late for work but worried to leave Zhoom. Numbers this morning AMPS 270 +1=411 +2=299
A lot of fluctuation. Seems like he might go down? Or maybe he is right on track for a decent day? Any opinions?
 
Very bizarre. I wonder if maybe one of those readings were a faulty strip? If they were I would guess the +1. Either way I would say you definitely don’t have to worry about Zhoom today.

by the way! Welcome to the Lantus and Levemir group! Looking forward to getting to know you and Zhoom :) it is a lot of information but trust me; in a month you’ll look back and be amazed at how much you’ve learned!
 
If you’re following SLGS and yesterday was your curve day it looks like Zhoom is due for an increase. That is because the lowest point of his curve (aka nadir) was not below 200.

I’m not sure what you’ve been taught or read so far but for Lantus with SLGS dose changes go in 0.25u increments. That would mean Zhoom’s new dose would be 1.25u.

Do you have syringes with half unit markings so that you can give quarter unit doses? You basically eyeball the plunger to be cantered between the 1u line and 1.5u line


Thanks Amanda. It is great to have found you all.
you’re welcome! It is awesome to have so many people to consult with and bounce ideas off of that are in the same boat as you. It Makes a difference to know you aren’t the only one fighting for your pets quality of life, good for you for taking everything into your hands and putting in the hard work to get Zhoom to a healthier place :)
 
This is truly weird. He really is going up and down. +4 is back down to 294.
 
So bizarre!! What % carbs is zhooms wet food? Could it be extreme food bump? Otherwise I’m inclined to think it’s more of a faulty strip thing.

I see @Marje and Gracie and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) are online, they have a lot of experience, if you have time could one of you ladies provide any insight as to how something like Zhooms numbers could happen? In My limited experience I haven’t seen an up down like this so my only ideas are food bump or faulty strip :oops::facepalm:
 
So bizarre!! What % carbs is zhooms wet food? Could it be extreme food bump? Otherwise I’m inclined to think it’s more of a faulty strip thing.

I see @Marje and Gracie and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) are online, they have a lot of experience, if you have time could one of you ladies provide any insight as to how something like Zhooms numbers could happen? In My limited experience I haven’t seen an up down like this so my only ideas are food bump or faulty strip :oops::facepalm:
Depending on what you fed at AMPS and the % calories from carbs, you could see a significant increase at +1 based on Lantus duration. By +1, the last shot, if given 12 hours before, has worn off and the BG climbs. Add in the carbs from food, and it causes a food spike. Lantus onsets about +2 (can vary by cat) and the BG can drop.

His +3 test looks to me like a bad test. Either there was a strip issue or you didn’t get enough blood. Sometimes, we don’t get an error code even though there might not be quite enough blood. Any time at all you get a test that doesn’t seem to “fit”, you’ll want to retest. Most members use human meters and have a backup meter of the same type to retest with.

I know you have that question of “why” and beyond a test issue, I am not able to further explain it in light of the +4. Generally, one anomaly like that when you’ve been testing every hour is not anything to worry about. Shrug it off as a test issue.

Keep in mind that you could see a climb at +3 if a bounce was starting; obviously, that’s not what is happening here because you got a +4 that is more in line with the +2.

Does that help any?
 
Thanks @Marje and Gracie & @Red & Rover (GA) :)

15% is technically medium carb food. We try and keep food low carb which is below 10%. I do see that Zhoom has other health issues though (IBD/possible lymphoma). One thing you could do is create a question post on the main Heath forum to see if there are some suggestions for low carb foods for cats with these conditions. Use the question mark prefix and write a title like:

? Looking for Low carb options for IBD /Possible lymphoma

there are many members here who have dealt with diabetes in combination with these types of health concerns so you may even find a more affordable food that also will meet his diabetic requirements :)
 
there are many members here who have dealt with diabetes in combination with these types of health concerns so you may even find a more affordable food that also will meet his diabetic requirements :)
Actually i think @Wendy&Neko may have dealt with similar issues

Any LC food advice for a kitty with DM and IBD/possible lymphoma?
 
Hello and welcome.

I dealt with diabetes, chronic kidney disease, and later IBD/lymphoma and heart disease. The latter meant she could not get the tests to properly diagnose whether it was IBD or lymphoma. Anyway, I fed raw food, some premanufactured and some made with premix and raw meat. EZComplete, on the FoofFurLife website, is a complete mix, low carb and low phosphorus. It is really hard to find canned food that is low carb, low phosphorus and contains either just one novel protein or does not contain things like gums which can cause problems with IBD kitties. It didn’t take long to make my own, I controlled the quality of the meat, plus it was cheaper than some of the higher end canned products. For example Ziwipeak has some good options, but their novel protein options are a little spendy.

If you do get the diagnostic tests for IBD vs small cell lymphoma, a diagnosis of SCL means you don’t have to worry about feeding novel protein.
 
Thanks Wendy. I am sorry to hear that Neko had all those things happening, so much for one little body. She was a real beauty and I can tell a loving soul. I watched the tribute video that you made and cried. How special that is.

I do not plan on having the diagnostics done at this time. I just cannot afford it. I will look into the EZComplete and Ziwipeak. Is it important to have low phosphorus for IBD/lymphoma kitties? Or is that for chronic kidney disease?

Again, thank you for reaching out to me.
 
Back
Top