10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 +1 117 +2.5 107 +4 114- BCS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Third drop below 50 on this dose...reduction earned nailbite_smile ! She hasn't earned a reducie since July, and back then she was earning them so quickly. All of a sudden we hit a bad dose, and had to zoom all the way up to F4.00 before we started seeing action again, so even though I'm happy to see Trix spending so much time splashing around in the lagoon, I am actually apprehensive about reducing her dose! Because she historically hasn't held reductions all that well, I'm leaning towards shaving, rather than going with a full .25U reducie...

Today's breffis blend: 50/50 Friskies T&G/Purine One Chicken Pate. She approves.

Fortunately, today is my day off this week, so I can easily monitor. And I am NOT painting - woohoo! Instead, I have to catch up on all the chores I neglected while painting last week.

NOTE TO NEWBIES: The reason I waiting for Trix to drop below 50 three times before reducing her dose, and the reason I'm considering just shaving rather than going with a full reduction, is because she is a "long term diabetic", having been diagnosed 1.75 years ago. If your kitty was recently diagnosed (less than a year) and drops below 50, you'd want to take the full reduction right away!

Have a great day, everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie AMPS 144 +4 44

Hi guys .. yay for a reduction!! I can understand your hesitation, but you know what they say, sometimes you have to go up in order to come back down .. fingers crossed trixie holds this reduction for you! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie AMPS 144 +4 44

Hi Amy, congrats on the three below 50's! I sure understand your hesitation with all the increases you've had to do lately. You know her best and how she reacts to doses. I think you've found a good fuds mix. Enjoy your day off and hope you can get out some, too.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie AMPS 144 +4 44

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

Congrats on the reducie. I oftne will shave with Mannie when reductions were earned way back when. it just worked better for him as he just didn't hold reductions well.

Very nice on the approved fuds! YAY!!!

Enjoy your time off - sounds good to me. Have a good one.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 - SHOULD I SHOOT???

ARGH - Not sure what to do here. I've never shot below 57 before, and I'm sure a bounce is inevitable here. Should I BCS this one, or skip all together? I really hate the thought of skipping, but.....


Her shot is due at 5:45 EST...any thoughts are appreciated.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 - SHOULD I SHOOT???

Congrats on the reducie! I cant advise you, I think skipping might be more iffy than giving her the reducie. If you are ready and can keep a close eye on her tonight, I think BOS makes sense, BCS or not based on what feels right to you.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 - SHOULD I SHOOT???

I'm thinking of shooting 2U, which is half her dose....that 50 has always been my cutoff, and she's sitting right on it. Stalling is out...for one, I already fed, for another, I really can't shift my schedule, and for a third, it never goes over well 'cause I have to stall fuds for everyone, not just Trix.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 - BCS

I BCS-ed with 2.5U.....hopefully she'll follow her past trends - whenever I've shot low in the past, it's been a non-event. At the same time, no need to bounce into the stratosphere, either....OK, Trix?
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 - BCS

Wow Amy, I'd say Trixie is on a roll. Good luck with the BCS. Come on Trixie, let's see you come up and surf some nice greens.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 +1 117 - BCS

That +1 is probably mostly fuds talking, but maybe the start of a B, too. I don't want a bounce, but I am glad she hasn't dropped. Obviously we'll continue to monitor closely this evening!
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 +1 117 - BCS

Cutting the dose in half is a rather big BCS! I'll be very curious to see if that +1 is a food spike.

FWIW, with 3 drops below 50, you really need to take a full 0.25u reduction. That strategy (the 3 below 50) is aggressive. For safety's sake, you don't want to pair that approach with a shaved dose.
 
Re: 10/15 Trixie PMPS 50 +1 117 - BCS

Actually, I was thinking the same thing about the reduction, Sienne. My original thought was a shave, but as the day wore on, I moved towards the .25U. I just hope she holds it...she's never real great at holding reductions.

With that 50, I was just a bit too nervous to shoot closer to the full dose - psychological thing, since she's close to 4U now. ETA: I didn't cut the dose all the way in half. With the reducie, her new dose is F3.75, and I went with 2.5U tonight.

I'll be surprised if that +1 is all food...she probably is starting a bounce. I wish there was a way to predict that for sure...If I knew she was going to bounce, I definitely would've shot the full dose.

We'll see....
 
Look at Trixie go!! Hope you can get some sleepus tonite...Know what U mean with reducie--Moonie never used to hold hers for years, so I always did shaves after 3 under 50's...Not for newbies, but good for us longies :lol: --Hope this one holds...Those shaves got Moon ie to where she is now-0.1+U
Hope Trixie does terrific on this & Have a good night--Hugs & Love from us-missed U!
 
Congrats on the reduction. Paws crossed she will hold it but it is best to give her the full reduction.

You can do it Trix...and no bouncing!
 
Fingers firmly crossed for you and Trixie, Amy - I hope that reduction takes. Hopefully, this is a turn-around point for her, and it will :mrgreen:

Boy, do I hear you on the wanting to be able to predict for certain what a cat will do!

Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top