10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319 +2:284 +4:221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Today, still high, still wet, snarfy breathing, but in a good mood as always.
I understand that bouncing is part of the process, but I hate the high. long bounces.
I hope everybody's having a great Tuesday.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Hi guys .. sorry about the snarfy breathing and the long high bounces .. we all hate those .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

The bounce breaks today!
I think you mentioned he was drinking more a couple days ago? Is that still the case?
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Just trying to see if there's a link to more drinking and a trend in numbers? AKA - grasping straws?
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Oh, ok, good...any ideas welcome. But I think it's just one of those things I have to wait out. He was at the vet on Saturday and the vet said she didn't hear any congestion in his lungs, and at that time, his numbers were too low. I'd just like to get the curve less curvy. Big highs and low lows are not a good thing.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

I thought it might be a subliminal message... "Mom, I'm feeling a bit dehydrated, and arthritic this weekend....see, I'm drinking more.".
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

I hope River clears the bounce soon and his breathing gets better. Sending prayers for River.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Thank you Carla. You know he listens to you!

Carl I think you have a valid point. This is exactly how he communicates - and you can add congested to that list. I learned the hard way that he's trying to tell me stuff all the time (which is why I sometimes use a pet communicator as well) and I shouldn't ignore him.

This week I'll be sourcing some of the arthritis remedy that Wendy mentioned, and giving him more lysine. And telling him that I'm listening cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Hi Lara - sorry you're having to spend so much time wearing those patience pants ;-) Hope they still fit after all the pumpkin pie . . .

With the drinking water - with Papaya I factor that in to help decide whether I'm dealing with a bounce, or high numbers from a failed reduction. She doesn't usually seem to drink much if it's just a bounce that is going to clear quickly, but will more often be thirsty if she's just not getting enough insulin. I don't know if that's the case with River but it might be something to watch in case there's a connection in his case as well.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Thank you Amy. I have a bad feeling about 2.75, as the reduction from 3u to 2.75 didn't take the last time. And that's fine - I don't care how much insulin he gets, as long as he's in good #s.

I'm thinking that the greens were a result of the 3u dose still being felt. If I don't see better numbers tonight, I think I'll put him back at 3u, minus one drop.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Im in the same spot with Crushy and the solid pinks.

bleh!!

Hope both our kitties come down soon
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Oh Crushy, what are you thinking?
That's it - time to wave the rubber chicken around (this always helps fix electronics so it's worth a try).
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

If you're going back and forth between doses a lot (if you see a lot of reductions not holding) you might consider trying the modified approach where you wait to see between 40 and 50 on three separate days before reducing. (The safety caveat is that if you see below 40 once, you immediately reduce.) I've been doing this with Papaya because she does so much up and down that I can't reduce every time she decides to pull one green out of the hat! It seems to have helped in that she is more likely to really be ready for a reduction if she gets the low numbers on three separate days. Reducing the one time I saw a low number just seemed to leave her stuck in high numbers way too much of the time.

And I totally agree - who cares how much insulin the kitties need, as long as it is what they need! (Although I am sure finding that the insulin cartridge goes on and on and on now that Papaya is on about half of what she used to be!)
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

thats an interesting idea Amy

I assume you dont feed any HC or LC food unless you see below 40 with that approach?
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310

Amy, this is zackly what Marje posted in Donaleen and Ozy's condo, and it sounds like a good approach at this point. I saw you were asked today what Papaya is sitting on or in, and that it's a shoe box, but because of the colour and logo on the box, I thought it was a container for radioactive materials. Thought you might like that.

Michele, I'll PM Marje and see what she replies so we can share the knowledge.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295

Hi - just to answer Michele's question - the choice of carbs depends very much on the cat. You still want to keep them surfing so you use whatever does that for your cat, the same as you would with any other approach. It just means that you want to see more evidence that the cat is ready for a reduction than one low day.

Marje will have a better perspective on how it has worked for more cats, Lara, so definitely check with her. I did see she suggested it for Ozy. I just thought I'd mention it when I saw that you said River was drinking a lot because that can be a sign that his insulin should be increased. I think around December last year I decreased every time Papaya gave a number below 50, which resulted in a lot of reductions and a very miserable cat on too little insulin. So now she has to work a bit harder for her reductions . . . and they are holding better.

Lara - I like the "radioactive" idea . . . if she wore a collar that would need to go on it for sure!
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295

I think River is more bouncy than Ozy so a method to even out the distance between highs and lows seems to apply. And that is in conjunction with feeding the bottom of the curve to keep the numbers at the bottom from being too low. In Ozy's case, I think he had too many reductions too fast.

I wish he hadn't lost his momentum last night....I hope it won't take too long for the depot to recharge.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295

Thanks gals, I think it's time to put him back to his last good dose of 3u.

He earned his last reduction by hovering around the 40 mark, if you look at Oct 9 on his SS where he got a 43. But I think I'll make him prove he wants it, because as soon as I reduced by .25, he started drinking like crazy.

So it goes.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295

I think, today, River is
bouncy-957.gif
. Remember "follow the nadir"? He was just green night before last. I'd at least let him clear this bounce and see where he lands before you increase.

The modified protocol does state:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

River has gone up and down alot between 2.75 and 3u but I'm not sure if that's really failed reductions or whether his CG (no names mentioned) is like me and just doesn't like to wear her patience pants :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I prefer to see a kitty be on insulin for a bit before resorting to the 3 times between 40-50 on three separate days as the reduction method just because it does take a bit of time for a kitty's body to adjust to the insulin. However, I think River has been on insulin long enough and you test enough, that you could certainly see how it works for him. Here's some fun reading on Reductions starring the LBG.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295

OK, thanks for the homework interesting reading, Marje! ;-)
I'll keep him at 2.75 and see what happens overnight and tomorrow. I won't be here for the nadir during the day tomorrow, but if he is not lower in 24 hours, back to 3 we go.

I just want him to feel well, and stop drinking water like a marathoner. I don't mind being high from bouncing, but high from a failed reduction makes him feel really sick. When he's bouncing, he doesn't feel all that bad, but the last time his reduction failed, he was looking very ill, and frankly it was an awful week for me, as he was acting like he did before he got ketones.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

Lara

Keep in mind that I can offer you suggestions based on a SS but I'm not looking at him to see how he is clinically. I'd be a liar if I told you I never took the dose up in the middle of a bounce. I have and I sometimes still do. If you think he's looking like he did before, then take the dose up but then you need to be really vigilant.

Since you will be gone tomorrow, you might want to take him up tomorrow night. Or tonight if he's acting ill but I don't know how you could monitor tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

I'll do it tomorrow if need be, as I'll be around on Thursday to check him.
So P. Pants back on. Thanks for your advices (as they say here) Marje! I think it's sound, and I appreciate it!
24 hours and then maybe dossse increassse my Preciousssss...
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

The gauntlet has been tossed.

But....my take home is still...if you see him starting to show symptoms, keep an eye on the ketones, and increase the dose.
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

River has gone up and down alot between 2.75 and 3u but I'm not sure if that's really failed reductions or whether his CG (no names mentioned) is like me and just doesn't like to wear her patience pants :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Lara, Marje and anyone else who is feeling a bit impatient....

I think these are big enough for all of you to share. :lol:
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 448
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

Hi Lara,
Have you made a change in River's diet and, if so, could that have caused him to drink more? Rusty hardly ever drinks water (I do add it to his wet food, however); when he does head to the water bowl it is because he got a fur shot. So I agree with the beans who say that unusual drinking is owing to not enough insulin.

I hope River finds his good dose soon and that he breaks his bounce.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

PM +2 is 284, but I'm willing to consider it a step in the right direction.

Carl, are those pants or a pup tent?
Marje, the gauntlet indeed has been tossed.
*clicks heels, swirls cape and vanishes into the mist*
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319

Thanks, Ella. There's something up with the water. All he's had that's different recently is some Thanksgiving turkey. No cranberries or stuffing, pie or thimblefull of Port. Tomorrow = increase unless I see different.

Liz, touche! I have enough cats for a Clown Car.

hC326F19D
 
Re: 10/15 River AMPS:360 +2:310 +7:295 PMPS:319 +2:284 +4:22

Carl, are those pants or a pup tent?
I think it's a circus tent.

Wow, tough crowd... ;-)

Those are literally "one size fits all" patience pants. There's room for 10 people in them.

You know the dreaded question that all men are asked but none should ever be asked? : "Honey, do these pants make my butt look fat?"

Well, my patience pants instead ask the question "Honey, does my butt make these pants look fat?"

No man would have any problem answering that question with a big smile and a "Yes honey, you could fit ten of your butts in those pants...my you've lost a lot of weight lately!"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top