10/15 remi amps257,+2 166,+6 110,+10 227,PMPS326,+2 396, +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

This is the first time I have shot remi on what I would call a low number.

He has just ate lunch at +5.5 and his +6 reading is 110. This makes me nervous as I don't feel I know enough yet about lantus to know how low remi will go. He seems to peak at +6 or 7 but I have to go back to work now. I will leave some more of his normal food down but just wanted to check what others though. I will leave work as soon as I can and test him again but that will be at least another 3 hours.

Advice, support, encouragement all gratefully received.

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

110 mg/dL is a good number.
You can go as low as 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer or 68 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak, so you've got a cushion of safety there.
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

Thanks BJM for the reassurance. It's like walking into the unknown. I have read all the stickies, etc but I still don't quite know how big his drops will be or when I need (time and BG numbers) to begin to steer him with food

I am secretly pleased with the result but half expecting a bounce tomorrow. Luckily enough I can work from home tomorrow and so can gather more info for future reference.

Does remi need to go into the green numbers to get a chance of remission or are the blues good enough?

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

Yes, you'll likely need to see greens.

When/if a cat starts going off insulin, you see lower and lower pre-shots and you run into nadirs that go lower than 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer or 68 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak meter.

Each time the nadir glucose goes below that, you earn a 0.25 unit reduction in dose. It can be taxing on the human if it happens fast, as you need to watch that nadir period frequently and steer the low numbers at times to avoid a hypo.

... and then there was Dusty, who went off insullin in about 4 weeks. He belongs to a woman who couldn't home test, so I went over weekly-ish to test. The 4th time or so that I went, he was low and I monitored him all day without insulin ... and he was OTJ. He always had access to some lower carb dry (Wellness Core, about 12-17% calories from carbohydrates, so I think he was able to eat if he needed to offset the insulin. It is better to be able to see that happening and be able to steer the numbers, rather than risking a hypo.
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

That's really interesting. I hope remi keeps up with the lower numbers but it already nerve racking at this level so will be in full panic mode if we get to the greens.

You can steer low BG with the usual wet food can't you? Why can't you do it when they get into hypo range? Does it just not provide enough sugar quickly enough. Remi has various allergies most of which are unidentified and I am concerned about suddenly introducing a new food. The last time he got very low when he was on caninsulin I used a royal canin convalescence sachet that I made up.

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

Hi Sarah,

Welcome to Lantus Land! I haven't posted on your condo before and am glad you found this Board. It's full of wisdom and experience.

That being said, I'm a relative newby and know what you're feeling about shooting low numbers (just had my first low {below 200} pre-shot test yesterday) and seeing more greens in remi's cycles. You have a precious life in your hands and you want to know how to keep remi safe.

I imagine you've read this and know where to find it, but here is the Sticky about "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" again: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky

I printed it out and have it on my refrigerator door. It's got a lot in it so I've reread it now about 50 zillion times. Going through the low nadirs teaches you that you do have control over remi's lowest BGs, either with high-carb food or with low carb and karo/honey/maple syrup.

Since each cat is different, you'll need to see what remi responds to best. I found that Clare loves baked chicken breast and will eat it even when she's pretty full. So when she goes low (around or under 50) I give her a piece or two of that with a few drops of maple syrup on it and about 30-40 minutes later voila! She's up into the more breathable (for me! ;-) ) numbers. I like the maple syrup (and others have said the same for honey) because the effect of it doesn't last too long. Clare's one of the bouncy cats and not using too much high carb helps to keep her "surfing" in the lower zones which are the most healing.

Fortunately, our cats are very resilient and help us as much as they can to help them get better. Clare has been an amazingly patient patient. I know your sweet remi will do the same for you, too.

You are a great mama to commit yourself to helping remi into remission or what is his best level of insulin.

Wishing you all the best results from your efforts here,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

There's all out hypoglycemia ... like when a vet prescribes too much insulin.

And there's Tight Regulation where you try to keep them within normal numbers as much as possible and hope the pancreas will heal. When the pancreas does start to heal, it begins putting out its own insulin. That combined with the injected insulin could be too much, so when you see that happening (dropping below 50 mg/dL), you intervene to steer the numbers and keep your cat safe.

Its like this:
Low test
feed 1 to 2 teaspoons of high carb OR low carb plus syrup
Wait 20-30 minutes
Repeat test
If still low, repeat.
You want to get past the nadir, have 3 tests rising, and be in safe numbers above 50.
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

Hi georgette

Thankyou for replying and thankyou for your encouragement. I have printed out most of the stickies but you are right I just need to keep reading and rereading.

I like the idea of adding something sugary to just plain chicken. I had not thought of that. I wonder if I could just add honey to remi's frees dried chicken treats? Do you cook up chicken breasts just for clare? Does she not mind the taste of maple syrup? In the uk maple syrup is pretty pricey so I think I would stick to honey . I had never heard of Karo until I came on this forum but then I did notice it in supermarket last week in the ''American section' along with all kinds of strange stuff like marshmallow fluff, Hershey's :-D ;-)

I had a peak at Clare's chart. It is so right what people say about this being a dance and each cat dances to their own tune. Clearly you are very good at following her lead. This is my problem I still feel like I have two left feet. Whilst I get the basics I don't understand the specifics and how thread remi's numbers. When comparing remi's chart to Clare's remi drops more slowly and often rises at +2. He then falls slowly and I think peaks at + 6 or +7. It looks like you steer clare early on in her cycle but I am guessing that remi would need to be steered later at maybe +4 or 5. These are just observations and I really have no idea if they are right but would be interested if anyone could comment.

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

BJM said:
There's all out hypoglycemia ... like when a vet prescribes too much insulin.

And there's Tight Regulation where you try to keep them within normal numbers as much as possible and hope the pancreas will heal. When the pancreas does start to heal, it begins putting out its own insulin. That combined with the injected insulin could be too much, so when you see that happening (dropping below 50 mg/dL), you intervene to steer the numbers and keep your cat safe.

Its like this:
Low test
feed 1 to 2 teaspoons of high carb OR low carb plus syrup
Wait 20-30 minutes
Repeat test
If still low, repeat.
You want to get past the nadir, have 3 tests rising, and be in safe numbers above 50.

Got it. I was probably thinking I had to intervene much earlier on. I am going to print on this off or have it tattooed somewhere on my body. Georgette mentioned just adding honey/maple syrup/karo to some plain chicken. That would be okay to do with dried chicken treats wouldn't it? Do you know which one has the least flavour?
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

First time Remi has ventured in normal blood sugar numbers. :-D :cool:

In the Handling Low Numbers Sticky, it mentions adding a drop or two of syrup to low carb food as an alternative to high carb food. "Karo" is an American term. In Canada, we call it corn syrup. Basically it has glucose and glucose-fructose in it. You may find it in the baking section of your food store. Some people here do use honey as an alternative. And you can also add it to a treat or to a piece of plain boiled chicken breast - which can also be used as a treat. As a high carb food, you want something you know Remi will love and want to eat when you need him to.
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps257,+2 166,+6 110,+10 227,PMPS326,+2 396,

Not sure if remi is bouncing but disappointingly this evening his numbers are high again :cry:

PMPS 326
+2 396
+4 427

Just hope I didn't miss the shot. I didn't think I did :sad:
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps 257,+2 166, +6 110 lower than ever befor

Wendy&Neko said:
First time Remi has ventured in normal blood sugar numbers. :-D :cool:

In the Handling Low Numbers Sticky, it mentions adding a drop or two of syrup to low carb food as an alternative to high carb food. "Karo" is an American term. In Canada, we call it corn syrup. Basically it has glucose and glucose-fructose in it. You may find it in the baking section of your food store. Some people here do use honey as an alternative. And you can also add it to a treat or to a piece of plain boiled chicken breast - which can also be used as a treat. As a high carb food, you want something you know Remi will love and want to eat when you need him to.

Thanks Wendy. I wonder if remi is bouncing now though. I guess I just have to wait and see. Will get some karo from the supermarket as I think this would be easier to give to remi than honey and keep some other gravy type food just in case.
 
Re: 10/15 remi amps257,+2 166,+6 110,+10 227,PMPS326,+2 396,

Remi is decidedly bouncing. So far, every time Remi sees blue numbers, his liver and pancreas panic and boost him back into the red zone. The more time he spends in lower numbers, the less this should happen. His system needs to get used to normal numbers again.

If you look at other people's spreadsheets, you'll see how we handle lower numbers. I tend to make notes of when I give Gabby HC food in the comments section of my SS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top