10/15 Regs AMPS 253 +1 301 +2 319 +6 290 +10 287 PMPS 262

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Yesterday

So glad Regs came down a bit over night. He is still not very hungry so I'm not sure what's going on. He had over 3 oz so it's not that he is not eating. I think he knows how to get better things now and he is back to normal weight and his body does not want to catch up anymore. But if that continues he will still have a lovely visit at the vet to make sure.

Today Regs wants to share his family, back in the days when we lived in Berlin. That is sadly the only picture we have with all 5 of them
Gizmo, Plato, Maedchen, Regs and in front my GA Merlin

D9DEE353-4720-45DE-9BE5-7B80ED253617.png
 
Yesterday

So glad Regs came down a bit over night. He is still not very hungry so I'm not sure what's going on. He had over 3 oz so it's not that he is not eating. I think he knows how to get better things now and he is back to normal weight and his body does not want to catch up anymore. But if that continues he will still have a lovely visit at the vet to make sure.

Today Regs wants to share his family, back in the days when we lived in Berlin. That is sadly the only picture we have with all 5 of them
Gizmo, Plato, Maedchen, Regs and in front my GA Merlin

View attachment 80785
Such beautiful kitties! I wonder what they’re all staring at! They’re all so intently focused on something outside - except for Merlin, he’s focused on you and looking extra handsome for the camera :)

Your home and yard were so beautiful - it almost looks like you live in a big forest which has always been a dream of mine!
 
Such beautiful kitties! I wonder what they’re all staring at! They’re all so intently focused on something outside - except for Merlin, he’s focused on you and looking extra handsome for the camera :)

Your home and yard were so beautiful - it almost looks like you live in a big forest which has always been a dream of mine!
I’m sure there was a squirrel or baby zero sitting outside, or maybe just an interesting looking leaf.

I really loved the house, it was backing up right next to Grunewald, the biggest forest in Berlin. The yard had a little gate that we could just use when we walked Zero. The downside was the forest had tons of wild boar and they could be a pain, especially when they had babies. Plus they came in the yard and destroyed everything🙄
 
I’m sure there was a squirrel or baby zero sitting outside, or maybe just an interesting looking leaf.

I really loved the house, it was backing up right next to Grunewald, the biggest forest in Berlin. The yard had a little gate that we could just use when we walked Zero. The downside was the forest had tons of wild boar and they could be a pain, especially when they had babies. Plus they came in the yard and destroyed everything🙄
It looks so scenic! Thank goodness for these five protectors to “guard” you against these pesky wild boars 🤣
 
Following up on yesterday's conversation - you can increase Reg's dose anytime now. More insulin will also reduce those high numbers.

As far as being there for the first dose of an increase, it's hard to tell at this point. Sometimes kitty will give you a preview of what a dose can do in the first cycle of a new dose, but not always. It also depends where he is in the bounce cycle. His latest pattern is a couple bounce cycles after seeing blues before returning to blues. But he'd have to return to blues this AM to continue that pattern and it's not looking that way so far. If you keep a cat at a dose that's not getting good numbers for too long, their body gets used to it (glucose toxicity) and you need to keep on those increases to break through.

Neko had almost 6 months after her first CHF episode, but she also had stage 3/4 CKD and small cell lymphoma. And she did have a second heart failure after we tried putting a very small back of fluids to her regime to help the kidneys. Stable CHF is good. So is RR of low 20's. Like me, you probably test regularly.

Does he like freeze dried meats like chicken? I found that crumbling freeze dried chicken into dust on top of the food helped the appetite. Duck liver also worked well.

Lovely picture of your crew in Berlin. That must have been quite the trip moving all those cats. Boars? probably more disruptive to the yard than bears here - as long as the fruit trees are picked.
 
Following up on yesterday's conversation - you can increase Reg's dose anytime now. More insulin will also reduce those high numbers.

As far as being there for the first dose of an increase, it's hard to tell at this point. Sometimes kitty will give you a preview of what a dose can do in the first cycle of a new dose, but not always. It also depends where he is in the bounce cycle. His latest pattern is a couple bounce cycles after seeing blues before returning to blues. But he'd have to return to blues this AM to continue that pattern and it's not looking that way so far. If you keep a cat at a dose that's not getting good numbers for too long, their body gets used to it (glucose toxicity) and you need to keep on those increases to break through.

Neko had almost 6 months after her first CHF episode, but she also had stage 3/4 CKD and small cell lymphoma. And she did have a second heart failure after we tried putting a very small back of fluids to her regime to help the kidneys. Stable CHF is good. So is RR of low 20's. Like me, you probably test regularly.

Does he like freeze dried meats like chicken? I found that crumbling freeze dried chicken into dust on top of the food helped the appetite. Duck liver also worked well.

Lovely picture of your crew in Berlin. That must have been quite the trip moving all those cats. Boars? probably more disruptive to the yard than bears here - as long as the fruit trees are picked.

Thanks, Wendy! That's good to know that we could increase his dose, but with his recent numbers still being high, would you recommend going up from 2.5 to 2.75 units? Sometimes he drops so much, and those nighttime drops really scare me. On the other hand, I don't want him to get stuck in these high numbers for whatever time we have left together.

I try to count his RR as often as I can. Unfortunately, it takes a while because as soon as Regs sees me, he starts purring. Before he moved into this room, I could easily count it using the camera, but now I usually end up sitting next to him until he falls asleep. Today his RR was between 15 and 24/min, so I think he's doing pretty well.

I was sad to read that Neko had only about six months after her first CHF episode. I was hoping I had misunderstood that in your signature. I know she was also dealing with kidney disease and lymphoma, which must have made managing everything so much more complicated. Especially since I've only recently learned how risky SQ fluids can be for cats with CHF, while Neko's kidney disease made them necessary. It must have been incredibly difficult trying to balance both conditions.

There was a time when Regs absolutely loved freeze-dried chicken breast crumbled over his food, but right now he's more interested in chicken hearts, which are much harder to crumble! I guess he gets bored pretty quickly. I should see if I can find some freeze-dried duck liver or chicken giblets. Although I'm starting to wonder if his recent picky eating is partly my own fault or if there's something else going on. He seems to have figured out that if he doesn't eat right away, something better might appear. He's also been getting some LC leftovers from the other cats. At least I hope that's all it is.

Moving with those five guys and a 100 lb German Shepherd was pretty intense! But we actually had a three-year stop in Dublin after Berlin, so we had a little test run with a shorter flight first. I hated that they all had to fly in cargo, though. Thankfully, all six were able to travel together.
 
With SLGS, you want their nadirs (plural) to be in the 90-149 range. He's not there yet. Yes to the 0.25 unit increase.
how risky SQ fluids can be for cats with CHF, while Neko's kidney disease made them necessary.
We basically sacrificed her kidneys for her heart. Heart wins over kidneys. I had a great internal medicine vet who helped me with the tricky balance.

Locally I can get freeze dried turkey heart pieces, smaller and easier to crumble. With Neko I used to get fresh giblets and either saute or boil them. They were also good for cleaning her teeth. Freeze dried duck liver crumbles very easily, Purebites being one brand.
 
Yesterday

So glad Regs came down a bit over night. He is still not very hungry so I'm not sure what's going on. He had over 3 oz so it's not that he is not eating. I think he knows how to get better things now and he is back to normal weight and his body does not want to catch up anymore. But if that continues he will still have a lovely visit at the vet to make sure.

Today Regs wants to share his family, back in the days when we lived in Berlin. That is sadly the only picture we have with all 5 of them
Gizmo, Plato, Maedchen, Regs and in front my GA Merlin

View attachment 80785
Awww I love this photo. What a sweet family photo 🐈🐈‍⬛💗
And that window is gorgeous on such a lovely yard. They must have had many happy times together watching the live show in your yard 💗
Belly rubs to your gang and safe surfs to Regs 🏄‍♂️🌊💕
 
With SLGS, you want their nadirs (plural) to be in the 90-149 range. He's not there yet. Yes to the 0.25 unit increase.

We basically sacrificed her kidneys for her heart. Heart wins over kidneys. I had a great internal medicine vet who helped me with the tricky balance.

Locally I can get freeze dried turkey heart pieces, smaller and easier to crumble. With Neko I used to get fresh giblets and either saute or boil them. They were also good for cleaning her teeth. Freeze dried duck liver crumbles very easily, Purebites being one brand.

Thank you so much, Wendy! Saturday it is for the dose increase. Although I can already tell you that he’ll probably have some crazy active cycle before then and I’ll get spooked again 😂

That must have been such a difficult balance between Neko’s heart and kidneys. But unfortunately, when it comes down to it, the heart has to come first. I’m glad you had a great vet helping you navigate those difficult decisions.

I’ll look around for some nice toppers and see what he likes. He’s never had turkey hearts or duck liver before, so maybe I’ll discover his new favorite treat! Regs doesn’t have teeth anymore so everything that crumbles is perfect.

He seems to change his mind about food faster than I can keep up but I will try to find alternatives to fancy feast to mix up his food and with some nice toppers he will be fine. I hope 😂
 
Awww I love this photo. What a sweet family photo 🐈🐈‍⬛💗
And that window is gorgeous on such a lovely yard. They must have had many happy times together watching the live show in your yard 💗
Belly rubs to your gang and safe surfs to Regs 🏄‍♂️🌊💕
Thanks so much, I really loved the house, yard and the foreatw in Berlin. And on this windows there was always something for the cats to observe😂 and I went in they yard with the kitties on a leash.

Hope sweet Ivy is giving you some nice greens tonight 😊
 
Back
Top