10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=282, vet appt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
10.14
AMBG=88 no shot
+1=104
+3=136
+4=148
+8=173
PMPB=215 no shot
+4=217
+8=239
AMBG=282 no shot

Yesterday
Morning everyone and Happy Monday! Was able to get Shadow right in to see the vet at 9am this morning. He has lost a bit of weight...down from 12 to 11.3 oz. Vet saw redness in his throat/tonsils. He has no fever. Ears were fine. Teeth had some redness at the gum line but nothing too awful. Stomach felt normal, bladder was empty but there was nothing out of the ordiary when she was checking him. I was so happy to be able to get him in right away...originally they said to come in at 11am...
(I told her that he came to say good morning to me as usual...and jumped up on his testing towel as he always does each morning. He turned away from his food once again though. Last night I syringed some tuna water but he didn't want to eat anything. He had vomited between 4 am and 8 am but I didn't see any hair this time.)

She is doing bloodwork to check for pancreatitis but there wasn't anything in the examination that set off any red flags. His behavior is quite normal except for the inappetance. She did give him some sub q fluids although at first glance she said he didn't seem dehydrated to her.... when they took him in the back to draw the blood, they decide to give the extra fluids just in case. He got a shot of Cerenia for nausea and also some Bupe. They sent home a few more doses of the Bupe as well as Clavamox. I will wait until he eats before giving him the clavamox.
It will be a day or two until the blood work comes back. He is happy to be home but has not eaten as yet.....

Will try some different kinds of foods now....fingers crossed that he will start eating again. I am very upset and feel so bad for him. He is such a good boy....(He only growled at the vet office when he saw one of the resident cats and a doggie in the back room...LOL...otherwise, he was very good when they drew blood, gave him a shot and sub q fluids and also did his nails....) It is only a few blocks from my house, so it is a very short ride...what a joy that is compared to my old vet office....ok, heading to the kitchen now...sigh.
 
Pat, sending your boy Shadow healing and appy vines. I know what a worry it must be for you. Keeping you both close in my thoughts. We'll be watching for updates. (((Hugs)))
 
Glad that the vet visit went smooth & there is nothing serious. Send good blood work vine to Shadow!
If there is redness at his throat & tonsils , will it hurts that caused him to refuse food? The AB will help if that's the issue bugging him.
 
Morning Pat - extra strong feel better vines for Shadow. I now how upset you muts be - it was the same for me when Mannie went through this a few months back. I hope the cerenia helps. many hugs to you too. I will be thinking of you guys today.
 
I'm glad you got him in to see the vet. Honestly, I'd give him whatever he'll eat. If he'll chow down on HC, that's fine. You can always adjust the insulin.

One other thought is regarding his teeth. There are some dental issues that you can't see are going on with a visual inspection. If Shadow is having any problems with FORL, the vet can't usually tell from just looking. She'll need x-rays. Some dental issues are painful and could be putting Shadow off his food.
 
Hi guys .. I'm so sorry, I didn't realize shadow was not eating well for you .. I sure hope this turns around soon and he starts feeling better ASAP! I know how much you love this little guy and only want him to feel his best .. we all do Pat ...
 
Aww, poor Shadow. I'm so glad you were able to get him in first thing this morning, and it sounds like the visit went well. Are the AB's for the throat/tonsil issue? I hope the specfPL comes back normal and the meds he's been given are enough to do the trick. Sending lots of feel better and eat vines!
 
Oh gosh, Pat, I'm so sorry that Shadow isn't eating well. That is so frustrating. I hope your vet figures out what is going on. And especially I hope that Shadow begins eating again very soon.

I understand your worries. ((((Pat))))
((((Shadow)))))
 
(((Thank you all))) I syringed some watery LC food at noon and gave him some fish oil. He then ate a little bit on his own both at noon and at 2pm! Been trying to offer him food whenever he seems slightly interested. I haven't given him the Clavamox yet...will do that now since he did get something in his stomach. I am so afraid of him vomiting up the little bit solid food.

He had a dental in August...hoping nothing gigantic happened between then and now to his teeth....but since his gums are a little red, maybe the inflammation is just putting him off...or his throat is bothering him....or something else...oh, i do hope it's not his pancreas....oh well.
Glad it was Monday and glad we could go to our own local vet instead of the ER....
We are trying to eleiminate things as we go along....while waiting for the blood work to come back.
 
Sending my strongest Healing Prayers to our Dear friend Shadow & hope it's something easy to fix..
Sounds like his poor throat is bothering him, but I hope all will be well!
Thinking of you all--Hugs & Love from us!!!
 
Went to vet for the food they told me about earlier....it is Roayl Canin RS http://www.petfooddirect.com/product/88 ... anned-Food that can be easily syringed. I added some water and gave him a syringeful. He then got up and trie eating from the regular LC bowl so that was an encouraging sign.
Want to make sure he doesn't vomit but so far he seems to be taking to the new stuff well enough.
Gott ease back into the food again..... (I was hoping the Cerenia would work miracles but I guess I need to be more patient...)
Come on Shadow boy....feel better soon!
 
((((Pat & Shadow))))

Hi Pat,
It's good that you were able to see the vet right away. It sounds like the inflammation in Shadow's throat may be causing his reluctance to eat. Well, you'll be more informed when the bloodwork comes back. In the meantime, I hope you can get him to eat something to cushion the Clavamox. What did the vet say about giving him insulin? He seems to be doing OK without it.

Please keep us posted. We are thinking positively and sending lots of beautiful healing vines to our pal, Shad-0.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Pat....I know how worried you must be. I'm glad Shadow ate some food, at least. If his throat is sore, it's natural that he won't want to eat.
I'm sending healing vines and prayers to sweet Shadow, and to sweet you, 'cause your heart is sore too. :YMHUG:

Also, maybe baby food would slide down smoother than lumpy cat food?
 
Thanks again to all of you guys....HUGS!!!

+ 8=319
PMPS=303 no shot

HE ATE on his own!! Yay! I put out his food as usual and had the syringe ready but he went right over to his own bowl and ate enthusiastically! I am thrilled. Now, if he will just keep that down...and then eat from now on, fingers and paws crossed...and toes too!

Ella...she said it's better to be a little hyperglycemic with the not eating for now...it's temporary, hopefully....so I won't give him the insulin until I am sure he will be eating regularly. It's better to focus on getting him to eat rather than giving the insulin at the moment. If he eats some during the night, i will give him his shot in the morning...
What do you guys think? Sound about right or what?
 
(((Pat)))

I'm so glad he ate on his own tonight and I hope he continues to eat. That clavamox is a double edged sword....it's really a great A/B if it doesn't make them vomit.

The tuna juice you give...is it kitty tuna? If it's human tuna, be sure to read the ingredients. Even if the front says "in spring water", you have to check them closely. If it has vegetable broth in it (many of them do), then it has soy and kitties should not
have it. I think Bumble Bee tuna is veg broth and soy free but not chicken of the sea.

Sending many healing vines Shadow's way and I hope he is much better tomorrow. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top