10/15 MarLei Lantus AMPS 493, +2 407, +5 353. +8 364 PMPS 317, +2 295, +3 268

Jdubs

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...295-6-317-pmps-592-2-355.269594/#post-3008250

If the insulin is too high and causing excessive bounce - am I putting him in more danger because of these higher numbers?

Or do these higher numbers do less damage because they are artificially caused?

He's looking and acting a bit better than he did last week, so it would imply he feels a bit better with too much insulin rather than too little.

Is he taking way longer than most cats to regulate?
Are some cats never able to regulate?
Or is this a completely standard timeline of finding the right dose?
Thanks so much in advance
 
Last edited:
If the insulin is too high and causing excessive bounce - am I putting him in more danger because of these higher numbers?

Or do these higher numbers do less damage because they are artificially caused?

He's looking and acting a bit better than he did last week, so it would imply he feels a bit better with too much insulin rather than too little.

Is he taking way longer than most cats to regulate?
Are some cats never able to regulate?
Or is this a completely standard timeline of finding the right dose?
Thanks so much in advance

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@tiffmaxee
 
Not sure what can I add to make you feel better that I haven't said already :-)

The current dose is not too high. You are testing and seeing how low he is going on each dose and reducing when he drops too low. Unfortunately bouncing is inevitable. Some cats bounce harder and longer than others. Even in terms of flattening out over time, it is different from cat to cat.

It has been only 2 weeks since you have followed TR. It can take a few months for a cat to get regulated. Though some cats get there faster than others. There is no "one size fits all" here. Unfortunately feline diabetes is not linear or logical and can really test our patience. We just have to keep following the numbers.

I think some of the higher numbers look worse with the AlphaTrak.
 
The current dose is not too high. You are testing and seeing how low he is going on each dose and reducing when he drops too low. Unfortunately bouncing is inevitable. Some cats bounce harder and longer than others. Even in terms of flattening out over time, it is different from cat to cat.

It has been only 2 weeks since you have followed TR. It can take a few months for a cat to get regulated. Though some cats get there faster than others. There is no "one size fits all" here. Unfortunately feline diabetes is not linear or logical and can really test our patience. We just have to keep following the numbers.

I think some of the higher numbers look worse with the AlphaTrak.

Thank you for your patience. I know it probably seems like I am asking the same questions day after day but they are slightly different questions, with the previous answers taken into consideration, just a new layer, a nuance added.

I just like to be prepared. I just want to know, if there comes a time that this is it, this is the best we are going to get, that. I know that so I can adjust emotionally to that.Really good to know that it can takes months. Knowing that can help me not be so panicked that it is not happening immediately and I feel calmer knowing that there is hope, and that there that we haven't got there yet doesnt mean he is dying! That cats can survive this terrible deregulated time.

Your answer today has helped me a lot! Thank you so much! I will probably carry on asking what seems like the same (super annoying) questions, but doesnt feel like it to me, feels like I have taken in a whole new level of understanding and awareness. Thanks again
 
I am happy to answer all your questions. Sometimes there is nothing to be done but wait and I know how frustrating that can be. You are doing everything you can. Hang in there. :bighug:
 
He might just give you lower numbers tonight. You don't want to increase too soon and have him drop low only to bounce even harder after that. With TR, you give a dose at least 6 cycles when you see nadirs below 200 on it.
 
Your fears are totally understandable. Have you looked at their spreadsheets of cats that switched to TR and cats on lantus? It took Max about 9 months to stop bouncing but he did have periods of time in normal bg until he became tightly controlled. Some cats bounce all the way to otj. You just have not hit the correct dose. Some of up on dose every 6-10 cycles and then once they hit that dose fly down the dosing ladder. Fd teaches us patience. It’s often frustrating. Hang in there. Follow the TR method. It’s proven to work. :bighug:
 
One more thought from me. I just looked at your ss and you were not following either of our methods from what I can see. I see increases and decreases in various ami(bra and reductions not taken. Since that was stopped you didn’t reduce when under 68. If the bg is 40 or 50 with the AT a reduction should be taken. It’s too low for the AT.
 
Your fears are totally understandable. Have you looked at their spreadsheets of cats that switched to TR and cats on lantus? It took Max about 9 months to stop bouncing but he did have periods of time in normal bg until he became tightly controlled. Some cats bounce all the way to otj. You just have not hit the correct dose. Some of up on dose every 6-10 cycles and then once they hit that dose fly down the dosing ladder. Fd teaches us patience. It’s often frustrating. Hang in there. Follow the TR method. It’s proven to work. :bighug:
Thank you so much. This is really very helpful to hear your experience. How interesting also that some cats bounce all the way to OTJ!!!!! So there is hope of even that!!!! Thanks again.
 
He might just give you lower numbers tonight. You don't want to increase too soon and have him drop low only to bounce even harder after that. With TR, you give a dose at least 6 cycles when you see nadirs below 200 on it.
He was down to 317 at PMPS, best he's been all day! Let's see as you say!

Thank you!
 
OK. How much should I give at +3 and +4? Is a teaspoon enough?

(I haven't done +2 yet)
 
Last edited:
+3 268

Do you think as its not too low I can get away with going to bed now and not feeding in an hour. So shattered! Or is it really important that I feed at +4 now we know the BG


Abit later I remembered......
Ive put it in the timed cat thing - just a spoonful for an hours time.

I used to have a brain before I had a diabetic cat.......
 
Last edited:
OK. How much should I give at +3 and +4? Is a teaspoon enough?
Yes, just a tsp is fine.

+3 268
Do you think as its not too low I can get away with going to bed now and not feeding in an hour. So shattered! Or is it really important that I feed at +4 now we know the BG
Yes, it was okay to go to bed. Not much of a drop between PMPS and +3. You could always leave some food out or set the feeder for a snack at +4 or +5 on nights when you want to go to bed by +3 and he isn't seeing much action.

Let's see where he is in the morning and decide on the dose accordingly?
 
Thank you.

He wouldnt come in for his test this morning. Was determined to go out. I imagine he needed the toilet desperately and was waiting to be let out the front (as opposed to go out his cat door at the back). I shouldn't think he'll be long........I will write it in as soon as I have the bg.
 
Back
Top