10/15 Leo AMPS 354 +1 325 +2 364 +8.75 406 PMPS 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday
AMPS 361
+4 204
+7.5 132
PMPS 182
+1 161
+2.5 56
+3 61
+4 88
+6 106
+10.5 272

~O) ~O) Good Morning - quicky start to get my question out - what do I shoot this morning?

I shoot in 1 hour. Leo likely would have earned a deduction if I hadn't steered with some 15% at PM +2.5. I must shoot and immediately leave, returning by +9. DH has luckily offered to stay and test until about +2. He may be able to stay a bit longer but I doubt until the nadir, but I have an automatic feeder that I can fill with MC.

What do I shoot? He's been on 1.5u for 2 weeks and we're working it down nicely. I'm nervous to give the full dose. I also don't want to skip a dose or have his shed dump out on me and drag him low.

Thanks!!!
 
Re: 10/15 Leo +10.5 Dose advice???

Hi Lisa

Great greens and blues these past few days :smile:

Looking at Leo's SS, he does lately tend to bounce into pink off those mid-greens. He did come down fast out of the pinks on the 8th. But in the past few days, he's been coming down more gently/slowly. Still, there's no way to predict what he'll do or how fast he'll come down, and I take it that you're anxious.

One option would be sticking to his current dose IF he bounces to the higher pinks, and otherwise hoping he did dip below 50 and you just missed it, and treat it as though he HAD earned a redux. (I can't remember if you have timed feeder?) Whatever you shoot, I would leave food out with a bit of a carbs booster in it (whether in a timed feeder or just left out).

How does that sound?
I'm not sure who else is on. Maybe by the time it's AMPS for you, some of the others will have had a chance to put in their 2CW also.
Hope this helps.
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 10/15 Leo +10.5 Dose advice???

Hi Jane

Thanks for popping over. AMPS is in bout 30 minutes. I just threw my Condo up early. I have the 5 compartment feeder. Yes, I am anxious. He probably could have earned the reduction last night. He recovers bounces better as you noted. I would treat this shot as at least a reduction from 1.5u to 1.25u. I am thinking even lower, like a partial fur shot. He will bounce some but probably not trip off his liver, which I'm nervous will happen if I just skip the shot. I think (my layperson's guess) that shooting a reduced dose and giving higher carbs is better than letting his LIVER provide the higher carbs if I don't shoot.) I am thinking .75u or 1.0u.

I PM'd Sienne and Marje but I think this is too early for them and most folks. This isn't a tragedy - just me trying to work out the best thing.

Thanks!
 
Re: 10/15 Leo +10.5 Dose advice???

Shooting a BCS dose and leaving out higher carb foods is always an option when you are scared, and can't be home.
I would think the 1.25 would be fine. It looks to me like he's going to be in the 300s by +12, but we'll see.
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354

Sienne nailed it. I think shooting the 1.25 with MC meals would probably be fine.
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354

Actually, I think with that 354, I wouldn't put out too much MC. He's on his way up now. ;-)
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354

Good luck with your dose this morning. I had to make a decision for Furball today too. She had a low blue AMPS and I have to go to work. I think leaving a little extra food out is a good idea. Then you don't have to worry.
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354

I had to go back and see what I nailed!

FWIW, I don't think about reducing doses until I either see a number in below 50s territory or someone is working very hard to keep numbers out of low waters. If LC brought numbers up a few points last night, I would not consider that reduction worthy. But that's me. You'll have to wait and see what the effect of reducing Leo's dose is. If the numbers don't stay where you want them, bring the dose back up.
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354 +1 325

Hi guys .. glad you got your advice before your shot .. thats a nice slow drop at +1, hopefully leo is just working his way down while you are out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354 +1 325 +2 364 +8.75 406

Hi All - Leo acted like he got sort of a fur shot and is coasting pinks/reds. I'd hoped he'd not climb this high, but I did also boost his carbs on his +1 meal. DH did the +1 and +2 readings, and based on those, I told him to head out of town. Leo would be fine. WHEW! All of that anxiety! I'm really glad I didn't shoot his full dose, though, because I would have been a mess at work. But back up to 1.5u we go!

And my presentation went great! It's a big deal where we justify our research projects - happens every three years. My boss is happy, higher-ups are happy, I'm happy and relieved ... and EXHAUSTED!
party0053.gif


@Sienne - I didn't want to consider last night a decrease - I didn't steer *that* hard, and I won't take a decrease. He was doing just fine working his way down on that dose IMO. (For what my inexperienced MO is worth anyway!) Thanks for the shooting advice!

@Jane - thanks again for your help.

@Dyana - thanks for your thoughts on the MC. I'd pre-made his feeder with meals, and based on what you said, I adjusted one down in carbs. And after DH reported his pinks, I had him change meal #3 back to Leo's regular 4%. It worked - he's high but fine. (Actually, I think DH put the feeder down in the wrong spot and it gave Leo two breakfasts one right after the other! So he got nearly ALL HIS FOOD in the first 2 hours!

@Carla - I hope it worked out for you shooting low - I'll get over to your condo in a bit.

@Devon - HA! Leo on his way down? I wish! I'm sure the little stinker took advantage of the reduced dose just to get me twisted with his pinks and reds! :lol:
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354 +1 325 +2 364 +8.75 406

Hi Lisa, I see Leo decided to go up a floor :roll: hope he does not stay there long. Soon you get to decide if your AM 1.25 shot was a dosecrease or BCS, looking forward to this next episode of Lisa and Leo's Learning Lab.
 
Re: 10/15 Leo AMPS 354 +1 325 +2 364 +8.75 406

Hi Lisa, glad it all worked out with Leo, and you did what was necessary for you both. You would not have been able to focus on your work had you shot the full dose. Congratulations on your presentation going so well! \M/ \M/
 
Hi Leslie - yeah, get that cat out of the elevator!!! He'll probably finish this bounce easily I'm hoping, back on this regular dose. I intended this AM to be BCS from the start, we'll see if Leo has other ideas! I think he had a little more time on that dose - I'd really like to see his cycles smooth out a little more.

Lisa and Leo's Learning Lab.
LOL! :: rolls eyes:: Here's what's happening - Leo poking his own liver over and over ...

thanim_monkey3.gif


Hi Ann - thanks for the affirmation. Looking back, I had myself quite in a frenzy about it, thinking about it for days, with all the other nerves and everything. I just fell so in loves with all those blues and greens!
 
Lisa, I'm glad things worked out for you and Leo today. Furball is pink this evening too. I figured she would be, but needed to make sure she was safe today. I'd much rather see a high number and not worry when I get home, than have her go too low. I'm glad your presentation went well.
 
Come on down Leo! It's always hard to know what to do when you HAVE to leave and you don't know what they will do.

Congrats on your presentation!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top