10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180, +3=43, PMPS=342. What gives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Corduroy's AMPS was a little better this morning, 180. I'm still giving him the .10. He went for a long walk yesterday. He loves to walk down the street, like a dog. Anyway, at one point, he saw a squirrel up ahead quite a ways, but this didn't stop him from taking off after it like the little hunter that he is! I ran right along behind him to let him get the exercise. I know my neighbors think I'm crazy, but I don't really care! ;-) Then, a family was walking down the street with a little boy, probably about three years old. Corduroy walked right up to him and let the little boy pet him. We were out for about 40 minutes altogether.

Also, I've been noticing that he is still having trouble jumping up onto things sometimes, and notice that he slides a lot on his back feet. Well, there's A LOT of long fur in between his pads, so I trimmed it yesterday in hopes that it might help a little. Who knows? I've been giving him Zobaline since 9/28. I'm hoping to see improvement here sometime soon. :?
 
Re: 10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180

That's a great amps! I love how Cord goes for walks (just "like a dog", complete with squirrel-chases and pets from a kiddo :-D :lol: :-D ).
So sweet!
Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180

Hi guys .. awww, what a sweet condo to read! Love hearing about all these kitties who so enjoy their outdoor time .. my girls are too scared to venture past the couch .. I hope the fur trimming helps with the slipping .. our boy Cheddar had really long hair, and had to go to the "beauty parlor" for trim jobs around his rump, and once they cut all his toe fur away .. I was sad, as I loved those little tufts .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180

and once they cut all his toe fur away .. I was sad, as I loved those little tufts

I know, I actually saved them in a little jewelry box because I love them so much! I'm weird. ;-)
 
Re: 10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180

You're not weird...you're one of us: we LOVE our kitties and everything about them! How adorable that Corduroy not only goes for walks, but has a MamaBean who will run along side of him so he can chase squirrels. I love it! And, I hope the neighbors learn a thing or two from it, too...that kitties are just awesome critters.

My civvie Petey has hairy toes, too, so his hind feet slide all over the place when he runs. And we have hardwood floors/no carpets and he LOVES to play, run, and slide. I've never trimmed his toe tufts, but I have taken a picture of them and posted it on my FaceBook page...so tell me, who's weird :lol: ??

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 10/15, Corduroy, AMPS=180, +2=64, +3=43, +3.5=65, +4=77

Nice numbers today Brigitte!! Maybe you should take Corduroy out to chase squirrels more often!! :lol:

Surf them pretty greens Corduroy!

cat_surfing.gif
 
Hi all!

Thanks for the kind words and support! I just got home from work, tested Corduroy's BG level and it was a whopping 342! I honestly don't think there's any rhyme or reason to the numbers! It's crazy...I mean, his curve went like this: 180, 64, 43, 65, 77, 234, 342. Why in the world is it sooo high tonight? :?
 
He's bouncing Brigitte!! That 43 was pretty low, and his liver freaked out and released hormones and sugar to bring him back up to where it's "used to"

How much high carb food did you feed earlier? That could have contributed too

Hopefully, since he's been on this dance a little while now, he'll clear the bounce quicker, but it could still take up to 72 hours
 
Corduroy decided to bounce and he did so in style! The more time your kitty spends in those lower numbers, the more he'll get used to being back in normal BG range. The bouncing is a normal part of the process for most cats -- it's annoying but part of the dance.
 
Should I have lowered his PM dose to .05 tonight because of the 43 earlier today? I went ahead and gave him .10 though because his PMPS was 342. Now, at +2, it went all the way down to 193!
 
Chris, I only gave him a spoonful of the high-carb food today because I was worried that, in the event that he needed more, he wouldn't eat it if I gave him too much.
 
A lot of us "shoot through the bounce", so it was probably fine....when they bounce up high on the cycle after they go real low, you can either shoot through it (go ahead and give one more dose at the higher dose) and take the reduction on the next cycle, or you can go ahead and take the reduction immediately.

Neither one is right or wrong. It just depends on your comfort level, your ability to test, and knowing your cat.

As fast as he's dropping, I think I'd keep testing until you're sure he's done dropping. With Corduroy's history, I think I'd definitely get a +5 or +6 and see where he's at and decide if you might want to set an alarm for other tests.

If you look at China's SS, she went to 31 yesterday during her AM cycle, but bounced to 255 for the PM one. I went ahead and gave her the same dose and "shot through the bounce" and took her reduction this morning. I usually do shoot through the bounces, but I know China well at this point, and test a lot, so I'm comfortable doing it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top