10/15 Clyde AMBG: 87, +1 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106330

I did Clyde's AMPS and he is at 87. I waited 20 minutes, and the number dropped to 73. I will check in another 20 minutes and see where it is. I am not going to shoot a dropping number. (I had planned on getting a +6 last night but fell asleep soon after the +4)

What would you suggest I do since I need to leave for work in about an hour and will not be around during the day? I haven't feed him yet waiting to see what happens.

Right now, my plan is to keep testing every 20 minutes to see if/when the BG starts to increase. Beyond that, unless it goes up dramatically, I'm a little hesitant to shot simply because I won't be around.
 
Re: 10/15 Clyde AMPS: 87

At 40 min since scheduled AMPS, he's now at 97 so it's starting to go up. I can test again in another 20 minutes.

If it is ends up being high enough to shoot this morning, I will not be around at the adjusted time in the evening.
 
Re: 10/15 Clyde AMPS: 87

You are correct to skip the dose since you won't be around, unless he goes up dramatically.
One day, when you are going to be home to test and monitor, you can shoot a green number and see what he does.
You have not shot a green PS number yet, and a day when you will not be home is not the day to start.
 
Re: 10/15 Clyde AMPS: 87

And you are doing perfect, by not feeding and testing every 20 minutes to see which way his numbers are going.
Most likely, they will keep going down, since he hasn't been fed.

Someday, we will encourage you to shoot a dropping number, but you don't have enough data, yet.

Can you please change the AMPS in your first Subject Line to AMBG? AMPS means you shot the insulin.
 
Re: 10/15 Clyde AMPS: 87

fun2doimpossible said:
At 40 min since scheduled AMPS, he's now at 97 so it's starting to go up. I can test again in another 20 minutes.

If it is ends up being high enough to shoot this morning, I will not be around at the adjusted time in the evening.
So, if you happen to shoot at +13 (one hour late), then you will not be around 12 hours after that shot, tonight?
If that is true, then that's another reason to skip this morning's dose. We don't take skipping lightly, and usually don't recommend it, but in your case, it's looking more like skipping may be the best option.

If you end up skipping, you can re-adjust your shot schedule if you like. For instance; if you normally shoot at 6:00am and 6:00pm, and would rather shoot at 5:00am and 5:00pm, then you can go ahead and shoot at what would be +23 (5:00pm) if you skip. KWIM?
 
Re: 10/15 Clyde AMPS: 87

Dyana said:
fun2doimpossible said:
At 40 min since scheduled AMPS, he's now at 97 so it's starting to go up. I can test again in another 20 minutes.

If it is ends up being high enough to shoot this morning, I will not be around at the adjusted time in the evening.
So, if you happen to shoot at +13 (one hour late), then you will not be around 12 hours after that shot, tonight?
If that is true, then that's another reason to skip this morning's dose. We don't take skipping lightly, and usually don't recommend it, but in your case, it's looking more like skipping may be the best option.

If you end up skipping, you can re-adjust your shot schedule if you like. For instance; if you normally shoot at 6:00am and 6:00pm, and would rather shoot at 5:00am and 5:00pm, then you can go ahead and shoot at what would be +23 (5:00pm) if you skip. KWIM?

I tested him at AMBG+1 and he was 89. I'm going to skip the dose. I typically shoot at 6am & 6pm, which usually works out pretty well. For the 6am shoot, Max (the non-sugar kitty), gets me out of bed because he wants his breakfast. (He really wasn't happy today, that I delayed feeding him because of Clyde) :smile: The evening shoot is close to when I get home from work.

Hopefully, it will occur on a night or weekend so I can monitor him and attempt to shoot green.
 
Hi guys .. probably a good idea to skip if you won't be around to monitor .. but I have to say .. nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen: have a great day guys!
 
good call will. aren't we lucky to have dyana on so early in the morning!? even without her advice, you were on the right track. it's better to be safe if you have any doubt.

i hope clyde didn't go too high during the day today, but if he did, he'll get back on track. you're doing a great job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top