10/15 Catcat AMPS 96,+2.5=138,+5=155, PMPS 121,+2=149

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...156-7-258-pmps-324-3-285.220281/#post-2458357

are you as glad to see us as we are to get back in here finally?

it's been a crazy few days and I am partially to blame I think, was trying to set up my new Android phone and managed to mess up a bunch of apps and sites on my computer -- historically I was a data entry person and don't understand all this new IT stuff

DS said, it's all easy Mom, no sweat -- yaaah shurrrrre ...

you can catch up on the spreadsheet which I managed to update just now -- from a high of 394 to a low of 32 (!!!!), plus an unfortunate episode of Catcat peeing a bucketful on the bed, on the new-ish comforter that he'd apparently liked for several days, and yes it went all the way through to the mattress even though I caught him in the act and applied towels immediately -- the washing machine could deal with older ratty poly blanket, top and bottom sheets, and fleece quilt throw, but NOT the king size comforter -- I may have to wash it using the hose, out in the yard .... and we have rain in the forecast ...

Catcat earned a reduction with that 32 ... he has been trending low late in the cycle but that was a bit much ! applied the usual precautions and he pulled through without noticeable hypo behavior .. he may have gone low again late last night but I did wake enough to give him a snack at 4 AM .. maybe I need to get a timed feeder, DS will probably complain about Catcat being expensive, as I had to buy new mattress protector and mattress pad, full retail price, neither was worth saving, and it was too late in the day to check the thrift stores for less expensive options

we'll see if he can hold the reduction this time, last few have not worked .. but I'd really like to get him on less juice ... in seven weeks we'll be gone to Maui and DS will be the caregiver; I have the awful feeling I'll be signing Catcat's death warrant, but there are compelling reasons I have to go, and can't afford a pro caregiver nor will Catcat deal with boarding out for that length of time (about 4 months)
 
Great to see you back Candy! Sounds like an insane time in the house!

Catcat is looking some good! Good luck with the new dose and fingers crossed the reducie takes :)
 
(about 4 months)

WOW 4 months? Am I reading that right??? 4 months in Hawaii!!! WOW! Again.

I hope that won't be Catcat's death warrant... :nailbiting::nailbiting:

Maybe an alternative housing arrangement for that period of time??? Hope you can get that peeing under control... time to shut that bedroom door and keep that fellow off your king sized comforter...

Glad you're back...technology is wonderful...when it works...bane of our existence when it doesn't!
 
the peeing was only that one time, and I discovered that he had used the alternate litter box in the bathroom, which features lentils, and I hadn't noticed, so hadn't scooped nor emptied it -- he might have been trying to tell me that it needed changing .. or it could be that he went unexpectedly low and couldn't hold it (but he did look ashamed when I looked over at him and noticed what was happening)

have to go to Maui because our medical plan works ONLY there (DH is a HI state retiree, so the union's retirement contract says we have to BE there) --- we need to keep our doctors that we've had for all these years .. they understand us

but to get all the appointments necessary, especially for DH's various concerns, does take 3 to 4 months even if scheduled way ahead of time

just have no idea how long Catcat might live without frequent testing and timely injections -- DS has a needle phobia (maybe he inherited mine from me though most of his growing-up years were spent living with stepmother, I don't think it has the same root cause), is gone for work 11 hours a day, 6 days a week, so little possibility of midcycle testing, and not sure Catcat would tolerate him doing the ear pricking if he would even do it ...

so far no luck finding anyone local who could manage at least a twice-a-day test and shoot ...

DS *does* get the barn cats fed while we are gone, at least -- Kurry was very friendly today, came up to me, rubbed against legs, wanted extensive petting -- still definitely an outdoor cat but has decided that I am more or less trustworthy -- he disappears if anyone else goes back there, including DS

so I'm hoping for, and working toward, the smallest dose that would keep him alive (and healthy if poss) until we come back
 
oh -- 4 months in Hawaii and many years we never even get to the beach -- one is about half an hour's drive away (waves usually too big for comfortable swimming in the winter, plus a chronic homeless encampment), others are further -- our place is in the "bedroom community" basically, where many of the bluecollar, pinkcollar, and tourist-serving employees live -- we can SEE the beaches on both north and south sides of the island, since we're partway up Haleakala at 1500 feet, but it's quite a drive, or a three-bus transfer each way, and the water is often murky if it's been raining -- yes, there IS a winter season, snow up top, rain at our altitude
 
oh, by the way, no door to the loft, which is where our bed is -- many moons ago Catcat peed on DS's bed on the main floor which is why we took him to vet, got the diagnosis ... no issues since

can, if we have to, wedge a baby gate across the stairs to the loft -- but that disrupts a lot of the system, since he eats, gets tested, and sleeps up here -- I like to think that the exercise of going up and down 1-1/2 stories of stairs, several times a day, is good for him -- main floor is half a story (6+ feet) above ground level

giving me a stink eye -- guess he has decided he doesn't really like SpecialKitty chicken&tuna .. I'll give him some better stuff in the morning, this was sitting around so since I'm too tired to assay the stairs myself, I opened it and fed him that
 
so far no luck finding anyone local who could manage at least a twice-a-day test and shoot ...

I was sorta thinking about asking if anyone would 'adopt' him for the four months that you're away? I'm going to tag @Chris & China (GA) - she works with DCIN and there are all sorts of unusual requests that are posted...ya never know. Perhaps someone who already has another diabetic kitty and has the twice a day thing going on ...never know.

It does sound like a lot to have to return to HI for medical care...but you gotta do what you gotta do.
 
Back
Top