10/15 Buddy AMPS 401, PMPS 403

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good morning all!

Friday mornings are so much easier of a drive to work it's chilly but sunny here in NJ and it only took 1.5 hours and less stressful driving due to a bit less volume (apparently a lot of people take off Fridays). AMPS a bit higher than I would have liked, but I'm pretty sure I got a possible partial fur shot last night. He spends most of his time lowered on all fours which makes it hard to get a tent anywhere on his body, front/rear haunches or scruff of the neck. This morning was a bit easier to get blood, though. I definitely tried rubbing the ear more before even beginning anything else. I would love to go back to hand pricking the ear, but like I said, he yelps when I do that. He fights me a little with backing away sometimes and often folding over his ear, but most times 95% he doesn't say a word, so I'm stuck with figuring out the lancet pen pricking. It only took 4 tries today, and as someone said, I may be missing some of the time . . .
So we need to talk seriously about food spike here. He woke me up at 3:30 this morning for food (usually this time to 4am). I gave him ~3oz. LC 9lives wet. When I woke at 5:30, he so wanted to eat. I tried getting him to settle down, thinking this is perfect, he had a bite at 3:30 - that makes 2 hrs. But there was just no way. So he had been eating for about 10-12 minutes before I actually got the blood drop. Is this fast enough to not see too much food spike? There really is no way to get the sample short of holding him down (which would elevate his BG from stress anyway right?).
Now for daily journal type stuff, I am going to use AMPS and PMPS posts for other observations, so if you don't want to hear about the quality of his poo, stop reading now. I used to keep a written journal after his DX, but I need to keep things in one place, perhaps at the end of each week, I'll print out and paste into the journal so when I see the vet or talk on the phone, I have it all in front of me. . .
He has started pooing in piles again much like when free feeding on DM dry. And the color is lighter. I don't know if this is from high BG, the change in food again to higher fat content FF, 9lives and Evo95% from the DM wet, or if it is because he is eating soooo much and his body doesn't fully process it. They are lightly formed piles, not pudding not well formed tootsie rolls. He has taken to drinking water from the tub again (he can finally get in and out more easily). He is peeing a lot, not as much as when on DM dry. Also, while he still has some trouble jumping, he can get himself onto the dinning table from the chair to look for his bowl of food (I have a towel down for when he eats while I test and inject).
He still does not play and spends most of his time in the kitchen waiting to be fed again. He had a lot of food last night probably 13oz or so just with dinner/snacks for the night.
Happy Friday!

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 10/15 Buddy AMPS 401

Good morning guys! I know you have gotten a lot of great advice on ear testing I just wanted to add in that when it is time to test mocha, I set her on the counter and then I kinda wrap my body around her. Her rump is snuggled into my armpit and my right arm goes around the right side of her body and I tend to cover most of her left side with my body. I always have a folded piece of toilet paper on the inside of her ear when I poke so I don't poke myself. She doesn't fight me this way but if I was to try and grab a test from her anywhere else, she wiggles her body all over the place. Im not sure if anyone has mentioned this way or not but for us it works I think because mocha knows Im in charge over her body and she doesn't fight me, making it much easier to get her blood sample. Anyways, I am sure you will soon learn the best way to test for you guys ... have a great day!
 
Re: 10/15 Buddy AMPS 401

Great report this morning Tony. I think Buddy's water and food intake is keeping his LB action going and that is a good thing. When they are first dx and beginning on insulin, they are finally utilizing the nutrients from their food. Preciously, they were basically starving since they weren't able to utilize their food. So they do have a lot of catching up to do and many have a ravenous appetite in the beginning. This should taper off as time goes by.
We suggest waiting for at least 2 hours from the last meal before doing the preshot. For now, taking it while he is eating is not so much of a bad thing since it would be difficult to keep him calm if he isn't eating. But do keep trying to take the BG test before he eats. One day, he will be patient enough to accept that. He will know that food will follow the test and he will accept that if you keep trying to promote it.

Some kitties do better with much lower BGs if there has been a 3-4 hour fast between their last snack and the test. So if you fed at +7/8 you might see much lower BGs. But maybe this is something you can experiment with on your day off. I know you cannot know when he is eating when you are at work during the week. (I set an alarm each night so I can do BG tests and give a snack then. If they eat at that time, their numbers are usually lower at preshot.) He woke you last night at +10 so maybe there is a way you could feed him earlier on in the night...but getting up in the middle of your sleep is a personal decision.

Hope you have a good Friday! Great report...keep up the good work!
 
Re: 10/15 Buddy AMPS 401

Tony, I see you are trying really hard-Food should be taken away 2 hrs. before you test amps or pmps--I do know that cats are ravenous when first dx'd. so I do understand-
But he will be OK if you dont feed before those tests--Food takes about 15-20 min to get into the cat's system, when eating, so sometimes, I see Moonie eating right before I want to test, so I whisk her onto testing area & just do it--
About testing--1) always give a treat like dried chicken(purebites or livalittles) before testing--real chicken works too--While they are eating, take the ear(bending doesnt work too well) & go along the edge a toward the vein--DONT press too hard because then it hurts, & can go through the ear--I sometimes have to put a little pressure to get the blood up-- & just use lancet!--What gauge lancet & tester do you use, because I have lots of lancets if you need a sharper one. They work better.
2) you can use some vaseline on ear before you test as the blood pools into a nice drop with it. 3) it took me months to perfect this but if you dont stress & just be relaxed when you do it, the cat will be relaxed too! They sense our stress!
The pooping sounds like it is a Big improvement & is very important!--Look At the Whole Cat--a little improvement is fabulous!! You are doing well!
You will fall into a pattern soon & it will be second nature to you & Buddy--Patience & Consistancy--You are doing a good job!! Have a good Friday!--We are in L.I.-WINDY!!
 
Re: 10/15 Buddy AMPS 401

Roni,

It's windy here too. The lancets I use are from ReliON and are 30gauge. Syringes are 31 gauge from ReliON as well. By sharper do you mean smaller gauge or higher quality like BD or J&J? Lancets are one of the least expensive parts of this equation, so if I need to spend a little more $$ for a brand that makes my and Buddy's life easier, then no biggie. Biggest expense right now are test strips (still not that bad cause using ReliON) and food for a ravenous cat. Looking at timed feeders today, will probably buy one online to time a snack exactly 2 hrs before test time to see if this helps with the hunger at test time a little. Also thinking about having his blood checked for hyperthyroid again. The test was negative at DX 2 mos. ago, but I wonder if it is worth it to rule out again now. He really is a crazy man till he gets at least a full 5.5oz can. Then he calms down a little. Perhaps the feeder will help with this. Oh, and I'm not the one folding his ear, he is.

Tony
 
Re: 10/15 Buddy AMPS 401

Buddy will be eating a lot while you're trying to get him regulated. This is normal, and not to be concerned about. You may want to get some turkey cutlets and/or boneless/skinless chicken (either the breasts, or the tenderloins, or whatever), and cut them up into small little bites and boil them. Don't fry them in oil. You can use these as a treat before and/or after each test, and even after when the shots are given.

Blackie, too, had trouble jumping onto things, especially the couch and a few chairs. Eventually, though, she started getting the use of her hind legs back with regards to jumping, and she's back to jumping onto the couch, the chairs, and even up to the table where I test her.

Don't get discouraged. We were all where you are right now. It DOES take time, and a lot of patience. You WILL get there. :)
 
Hi all,

Until Buddy's hunger starts to subside, I don't think that I'll be poking him without food in front of him. Got it done in 10 min today. Hope I beat the spike. One of the cats puked today, not chunky, but kinda like thin pudding. Least he's hovering at the same number AMPS to PMPS. Still can't wait till the curve.

Tony and Buddy
 
A couple of thoughts...

I would try a thicker gauge lancet -- a 28 or 29. Once you have poking down to a science, you can switch back to the thinner lancet.

From your profile, you said Buddy is a Maine Coon mix who is considerably under weight. No wonder he's eating like he hasn't seen food in months! I agree that a timed feeder may help to make him less frantic. I'd suggest one that has at least 2 compartments. You can set it for when you're gone during the day as well as overnight. Spreading his food out so she's not gorging at meal time will also be easier on his healing pancreas. Until numbers start coming down, like others said, Buddy will be hungry -- a lot. It's the nature of diabetes.

Gabby had some poo issues when I switched her over from the crummy prescription (both wet and dry) food to canned food. I suspect things will get back to normal over the next couple of weeks.

Are you able to get a curve tomorrow? I suspect that Buddy needs his dose increased but since you can't get spot checks during the work week, it's safest to do this after we see what's going on mid-cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top