GraceAndAngie
Member Since 2013
Good evening LL,
Yesterday is here.
We went to the vet today and it was a bit of an ordeal - visit report below - blood work results to come.
Tomorrow I'm going to see a Chronic Fatigue Doctor who has a 6 month waiting list. She works in a clinic and research team headed by a doctor who has been treating CFS since 1985 and has run a CFS clinic for 15 or so years. I'm trying not to get my hopes up too much. Mum is taking me and we'll be out of the house from Angie's +3.5 to +6 or maybe +7.
Given that we haven't seen a lot of action on her current dose, I was thinking of giving her the right amount of insulin, testing at +11, amps, +2 and +3.5. If she's trending downwards I could give her some food (or food with honey) before I leave and ask our house guest to give her more at +4.5 and +5.5. Does that sound ok? Or should I reduce the dose?
Thanks,
Grace
Vet Visit:
Angie's amazing vet is on maternity leave at the moment but the other vet at the clinic is also great. Unfortunately she wasn't in today and I could only get Angie there today or Tuesday. We had the locum, who was a lovely man, but he admitted that he wasn't very up-to-date on feline diabetes. He only had experience treating with cansulin, was wondering if I should give lantus 3 times per day, and was happy with today's nadir of 148. We spent most of the appointment discussing insulin and protocols, even though the two clinic vets proscribe lantus and are happy that we're on the Queensland University protocol. Oh well... he took blood and it's off to the lab. He didn't think Angie had enough signs of a UTI to warrant testing but he took a sample anyway and that can be sent off for culture and sensitivity if the blood work results make it seem useful.
The vet started talking about maybe Angie has insulin resistance because her numbers haven't changed a lot as we've increased. Maybe she is resistant, but isn't this a low dose to start thinking in that direction?
He said her teeth needed cleaning but he didn't think they would be causing her diabetes - there was a little gum inflammation but not a lot. He didn't think it a good idea to put an 18 year old cat through a general.
He talked to me about over vetting animals for every little worry. Maybe I do take her to the vet too early. I can usually tell that she's not well before there's enough clinical signs for vets to see - but often those clinical signs do develop. I should have held out till Tuesday.
Yesterday is here.
We went to the vet today and it was a bit of an ordeal - visit report below - blood work results to come.
Tomorrow I'm going to see a Chronic Fatigue Doctor who has a 6 month waiting list. She works in a clinic and research team headed by a doctor who has been treating CFS since 1985 and has run a CFS clinic for 15 or so years. I'm trying not to get my hopes up too much. Mum is taking me and we'll be out of the house from Angie's +3.5 to +6 or maybe +7.
Given that we haven't seen a lot of action on her current dose, I was thinking of giving her the right amount of insulin, testing at +11, amps, +2 and +3.5. If she's trending downwards I could give her some food (or food with honey) before I leave and ask our house guest to give her more at +4.5 and +5.5. Does that sound ok? Or should I reduce the dose?
Thanks,
Grace
Vet Visit:
Angie's amazing vet is on maternity leave at the moment but the other vet at the clinic is also great. Unfortunately she wasn't in today and I could only get Angie there today or Tuesday. We had the locum, who was a lovely man, but he admitted that he wasn't very up-to-date on feline diabetes. He only had experience treating with cansulin, was wondering if I should give lantus 3 times per day, and was happy with today's nadir of 148. We spent most of the appointment discussing insulin and protocols, even though the two clinic vets proscribe lantus and are happy that we're on the Queensland University protocol. Oh well... he took blood and it's off to the lab. He didn't think Angie had enough signs of a UTI to warrant testing but he took a sample anyway and that can be sent off for culture and sensitivity if the blood work results make it seem useful.
The vet started talking about maybe Angie has insulin resistance because her numbers haven't changed a lot as we've increased. Maybe she is resistant, but isn't this a low dose to start thinking in that direction?
He said her teeth needed cleaning but he didn't think they would be causing her diabetes - there was a little gum inflammation but not a lot. He didn't think it a good idea to put an 18 year old cat through a general.
He talked to me about over vetting animals for every little worry. Maybe I do take her to the vet too early. I can usually tell that she's not well before there's enough clinical signs for vets to see - but often those clinical signs do develop. I should have held out till Tuesday.