10/15 and 10/16 Billie AMPS 287 PMBG 109 at ER

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-13-billie-amps-hi-bounce-4-363-kidney-issues.204809/

Thank you all for visiting our condo on Saturday. Billie and I really appreciate the vines.

We are at the ER now. She is dehydrated and lethargic. Her urine culture came back positive for e coli, so it does look like the kidney issues are related to an infection.

Her IM had initially said she shouldn't get fluids because of her heart issues and history of congestive heart failure, but her cardiologist is saying she can get IV fluids administered very cautiously. They want to give her 24 hours on fluids and see if that makes her feel any better. They're also going to try IV antibiotics while she is here. She has been on amoxicillin since Thursday.

I'm feeling like this might be the end of our balancing act, but I want to give her a chance, because it's Billie. One of our best friends nicknamed her "death-defying loofah cat" because she has beaten the odds so many times and because her belly fur is loofahlike.

I will keep everyone updated...keep the vines coming :bighug: Thank you so much.
 
Oh my goodness! Sending many healing vines for Billie! I hope they can get in front of this and bring her some healing relief. Hugs to you Deanna. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

PS - I totally want to rub her belly now. :cat:
 
Thank you all so much :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I went back to see her and she basically tried to break down the door of her cage when she saw me. I asked if I could open it to pet her, and the vet tech said yes. Billie proceeded to leap onto my shoulder, ripping her IV out in the process. I was then asked to leave :p. Honestly, she doesn't look good, and the vet does not seem optimistic, but she sure does have fight in her. I'm a mess, but she made me laugh.

Part of me wants to just take her home and call Lap of Love because she clearly does not want to be in the hospital, but she also doesn't seem like she wants to give up.
 
Thank you all so much for the vines. I just visited Billie again. She seemed comfortable. She didn't try to make a break for it this time.

Her coat looks shinier than it did this morning. I syringe fed her a jar of baby food since she still hadn't eaten anything, although they had put out a nice buffet of options for her. The main concern now is if her heart will be okay with the fluids, but this really is our only option. I'm glad we're trying. They're going to repeat bloodwork around noon tomorrow to see if the fluids are helping her kidneys.
 
Thank you all SO much. The vines and prayers are really comforting, and I greatly appreciate them.

I visited Billie early this morning and just now. She does seem perkier this afternoon than she did this morning. She was rubbing her head against things in the visitation room and she jumped up on a chair this afternoon, while this morning, she seemed weaker and much less animated. So, that's good. She's still not eating, which is not good. She is getting nausea meds. I did syringe some food this morning but didn't this afternoon. Her IM cautioned against it because she is concerned about aspiration pneumonia since Billie is fighting the syringe. She also said forcing food might be making Billie's nausea worse. I'm conflicted...I know she needs calories but I don't want to throw things off anymore than they already are. I'll be visiting again later tonight and will maybe try some baby food then.

Her kidney values did improve slightly and it seems like she is responding to the fluids and IV antibiotics. Her BUN went from 176 to 128. Her creatinine went from 5.9 to 5.1. So, moving in the right direction. She's going to spend another night in the hospital. I don't want to put her through hell if she isn't going to get better. But her IM said it is possible that she could pull through, get over the infection, and her kidneys could bounce back. There's no way of knowing. We will take it one day at a time. I feel like this is the right decision for today. As much as I'm sure Billie hates being in the hospital, she definitely feels better than she did yesterday morning, so that's something.

Her heart seems to be tolerating the fluids well so far... *antijinx* ...they are considering increasing the fluids slightly if it is okay with her cardiologist. They said that she is still more dehydrated than they would like her to be at this point. They're hoping that as her BUN comes down with fluids, she'll feel less sick and will want to eat. Paws crossed that her heart is okay with that. Kitty on a balance beam.

Thank you all again, so much.
 
Prayers that Billie easily tolerates the fluids and peace for your heart, Deanna. ❤️ Totally get the “ kitty on a balance beam” ... that’s my Elmo too :)
 
Thank you!!!!! Billie and I are so lucky to have your support! It really makes all the difference :bighug:

I just visited her again. She was pretty lively! She climbed up on my shoulder and purred a little. After I put her back in her condo, she curled up and fell asleep. She looks more comfortable than she did last night. Much less meatloafy. She's still not eating, though. I brought her some ground chicken thighs from home and left that out for her. She wasn't interested, but I'm hoping that her appy returns soon. One of the techs said they'll try to syringe some baby food when she's due for meds.

Something adorable...Billie met a boy in the hospital! His name is Stephen and he's in the condo right next to her. He has diabetes too, and he's also hospitalized for kidney issues right now. "Of all the gin joints," Billie said.

They didn't end up increasing her fluids after all. Her cardiologist must have advised that they keep them as is. She has been getting a reduced insulin dose of 0.5 units per my request since she isn't eating, and they are testing. They also tested for ketones which was negative, thank goodness.

Thank you all again from the bottom of my heart :bighug::bighug::bighug: It's so hard not having her home, but I know she is in good hands. I'm going to attempt to sleep, and I'll update in a new condo tomorrow.
 
{{{Deanna}}}

I haven't been on much lately and just heard about Billie's struggles today. I wanted to weigh in with a load of healing vines for her and some :bighug:s for you. I'll be praying that she starts eating and is looking even better tomorrow. Hang in there!
 
Back
Top