10/15/20 - Squeaky! AMPS = 363 +4 = 276 PMPS = 295

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...208-pmps-231-a-little-late.236876/#navigation

I don't have any urgent specific question, but can anyone comment? After last night's challenging time, we both needed a break for a while from the ear pricks. I could tell his number wasn't dropping (he ate periodically), and this morning the water bowl is his best friend. I am sad about the black number. There is nothing I can do to stabilize, right?
 
Last edited:
Hi Jan!

Looks like a bounce from those pretty blues yesterday. Nope, we just wait them out, until eventually they don’t feel they need to bounce as high or as long. It’s a waiting game :bighug:

Cosmo used to bounce for 6-7 full cycles (3-4 days), now, it is much less. Just takes time :) You are doing a great job with Squeaky, just keep it up.
 
Hi Jan!

Looks like a bounce from those pretty blues yesterday. Nope, we just wait them out, until eventually they don’t feel they need to bounce as high or as long. It’s a waiting game :bighug:

Cosmo used to bounce for 6-7 full cycles (3-4 days), now, it is much less. Just takes time :) You are doing a great job with Squeaky, just keep it up.

Thanks for the encouragement. I was a crybaby last night, had a sleepless night, and in tears this morning again. Squeaky, being the marvelous self that he is, kept trying to take care of me. He came under the covers and cuddled with me. He is such a love.
 
Hi Jan!

Looks like a bounce from those pretty blues yesterday. Nope, we just wait them out, until eventually they don’t feel they need to bounce as high or as long. It’s a waiting game :bighug:

Cosmo used to bounce for 6-7 full cycles (3-4 days), now, it is much less. Just takes time :) You are doing a great job with Squeaky, just keep it up.

Do you think I need to do BG before shooting? After all we know he's high...... give the ears a break?
 
I'm so sorry you're both still having a rough go of things with the home testing. :bighug::bighug::bighug: You are doing great!
The more Squeaky is in those blues, he will start to get used to them and eventually his body will stop fighting against them. I also know how awful and frustrating and disappointing it is to have some good numbers and then watch them skyrocket. I found it comforting to look at other people's spreadsheets and see that bouncing is very common. Lots of kitties do it and you can see how over time many of them do it less and less.
:bighug:

ETA: I seem to have forgotten to say that Butters was a bouncy kitty, so check out her SS. You can see how she bounced and bounced and bounced....until one day she just stopped!
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry you're both still having a rough go of things with the home testing. :bighug::bighug::bighug: You are doing great!
The more Squeaky is in those blues, he will start to get used to them and eventually his body will stop fighting against them. I also know how awful and frustrating and disappointing it is to have some good numbers and then watch them skyrocket. I found it comforting to look at other people's spreadsheets and see that bouncing is very common. Lots of kitties do it and you can see how over time many of them do it less and less.
:bighug:

ETA: I seem to have forgotten to say that Butters was a bouncy kitty, so check out her SS. You can see how she bounced and bounced and bounced....until one day she just stopped!

Mostly we are doing pretty well with the BG tests, we just had a bad day.

Thanks for your encouragement and sharing Butters Ss with me. WOW! I can't imagine you are getting all those readings from the ears!!!! Aren't they a sensitive mess?

What happened in October to push all those lovely greens back to yellow blue and purple? Oh that must be hard for you! Oh I just looked at the notes, you are both having a hard time. Sending hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bounces are completely normal....I wrote up an explanation about it once...quite the long story. @thebigfuzz - do you have that link?

They come, they go...

I hope you have a better day tomorrow!

And as mentioned above, always, always get a pre-shot test...others can be skipped if need be...but never the pre-shot. Too many things can happen...and it can be life threatening should those numbers change drastically - unexpectedly.

Luci can drop over 100 points in an hour...just saying...it's a practice that is not encouraged.

Have a good evening! No more crying :) Sending hugs to you both! :bighug::bighug:
 
Mostly we are doing pretty well with the BG tests, we just had a bad day.

Thanks for your encouragement and sharing Butters Ss with me. WOW! I can't imagine you are getting all those readings from the ears!!!! Aren't they a sensitive mess?

What happened in October to push all those lovely greens back to yellow blue and purple? Oh that must be hard for you! Oh I just looked at the notes, you are both having a hard time. Sending hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you:bighug:

Sorry for misunderstanding you! I'm glad you're doing well for the most part.:bighug:

Yes, they are all from her ears. :) I am very careful with my technique and found I got better and it got easier and easier over time. I will stick with one ear for two days and I work my way along the edge of her ear, up one side then down the other side. I put polysporin (neosporin) healing ointment on her ear and then I switch to the other ear. The ointment helps heal everything. When I go back to the ear two days later, there is no sign that it was ever used. :smuggrin:

I don't like seeing Butters' numbers creeping up. But hopefully my girl gets to come home soon and she gets back on track. I'm not too worried about that right now.. But I remember how frustrated and upset I got every time Butters bounced or got stuck in higher numbers. Squeaky is doing really well. As @thebigfuzz said, he is breaking bounces earlier! You're doing a great job and we are here to give you extra emotional support when you have a bad day. I know what those days are like. :bighug:
 
Try not to get discouraged by the bounces. It is part of the process. It seems like he is clearing them pretty fast.
Bounces are completely normal....I wrote up an explanation about it once...quite the long story. @thebigfuzz - do you have that link?
They come, they go...
I hope you have a better day tomorrow!
And as mentioned above, always, always get a pre-shot test...others can be skipped if need be...but never the pre-shot. Too many things can happen...and it can be life threatening should those numbers change drastically - unexpectedly.
Luci can drop over 100 points in an hour...just saying...it's a practice that is not encouraged.
Have a good evening! No more crying :) Sending hugs to you both! :bighug::bighug:

Thanks for the encouragement and information!!!!! Wow 100 points in an hour..... preshot yes. Thanks for the hugs too!

I am just soaking it all up, with gratitude!
 
Thank you:bighug:

Sorry for misunderstanding you! I'm glad you're doing well for the most part.:bighug:

Yes, they are all from her ears. :) I am very careful with my technique and found I got better and it got easier and easier over time. I will stick with one ear for two days and I work my way along the edge of her ear, up one side then down the other side. I put polysporin (neosporin) healing ointment on her ear and then I switch to the other ear. The ointment helps heal everything. When I go back to the ear two days later, there is no sign that it was ever used. :smuggrin:

I don't like seeing Butters' numbers creeping up. But hopefully my girl gets to come home soon and she gets back on track. I'm not too worried about that right now.. But I remember how frustrated and upset I got every time Butters bounced or got stuck in higher numbers. Squeaky is doing really well. As @thebigfuzz said, he is breaking bounces earlier! You're doing a great job and we are here to give you extra emotional support when you have a bad day. I know what those days are like. :bighug:

Wow thanks for the suggestion to minimize ear distress. I will try it! I just looked at Butters' SS. Wow it is interesting to see and I loved seeing all the green. So you are now down to no shot! Wow. Hope she will be home soon. Thanks a bunch.
 
Back
Top