10/15/18 Olive AMPS 345; +5=148; +8.5=91; PMPS 176; +4=84; +4.5=75; +5.5=97; +6.5=103. Theory below

What dose did you ahoot today? SS not up to date. If this is the cabergoline starting to work, be aggressive with the reductions, at least 0.5 units..

Quit yer bouncing Olive!
 
What dose did you ahoot today? SS not up to date. If this is the cabergoline starting to work, be aggressive with the reductions, at least 0.5 units..

Quit yer bouncing Olive!

Thanks for letting me know. Thought I did it. Is BG the only way for me to know if cabergoline is working? I guess she is going to re bounce from today's drop.

if she's in hundreds at PMPS should I drop another 0.25 then?
 
You know how we say cats seem to go lower at night and it's unknown why at night.

I have a theory on that. I don't know about everyone's routine but it could just be because at least in our house it's more active in the day. Phones ringing, tv on, people visiting, daylight, kitties watching wild life out the window, vaccuming, noise of power tools, dinner being made.

At night there's no tv on, no lights on, they can't see the wild life in the dark, no phones ringing, no visitors etc. We aren't stalking their every move. And it's just less stressful so they are more relaxed causing lower BG.

It could be just that simple.
 
I agree with Wendy about starting to take the full reduction of .5. Cabergoline has been known to kick in about 2 weeks after starting and your at day 10. There were times others had to start taking even larger reductions and doing BCS shots at times. What she did before starting cabergoline is now irrelevant.
 
Be still my heart. I go to test her. She is in a spot a little hard to reach but I do, I get the test and it reads 16!!!!!!!:nailbiting: So I struggle to get up off the floor and run to get another strip and maple syrup. I go to put in the new strip and realize the meter is upside down. :facepalm: .Got myself all panicked ready to go to ER. It's going to take awhile for me to calm down.
 
I agree with Wendy about starting to take the full reduction of .5. Cabergoline has been known to kick in about 2 weeks after starting and your at day 10. There were times others had to start taking even larger reductions and doing BCS shots at times. What she did before starting cabergoline is now irrelevant.

So should I take the other 0.25 tonight? That would make total 0.5 today.
 
I have a theory on that.

I live alone. My house is quiet during the day ,no TV .The cats are usually sleeping. In the evening I turn on the TV & I'm more active doing things. Ravan's BG nearly always drops in the evening.
Maybe it's just an internal thing, instinctive,when the Sun goes down ?
Found some Info :)
Research in animals has suggested that there is a relationship between melatonin and glucose metabolism.
We also know that glucose regulation and insulin secretion are naturally subject to daily rises and falls, which are independent of food intake and activity levels. They are regulated by the circadian system via melatonin.
 
Last edited:
More info:
During sleep energy needs fall, the liver pumps less Glucose.Blood Glucose naturally rises in the morning to give us energy.
Cortisol begins to increase in the early hours that contribute to insulin sensitivity. The Hormone Melatonin helps to regulate blood sugar.

Good to Know! :D
 
Be still my heart. I go to test her. She is in a spot a little hard to reach but I do, I get the test and it reads 16!!!!!!!:nailbiting: So I struggle to get up off the floor and run to get another strip and maple syrup. I go to put in the new strip and realize the meter is upside down. :facepalm: .Got myself all panicked ready to go to ER. It's going to take awhile for me to calm down.
Breath Paula breathe:bighug::bighug:
 
Be still my heart. I go to test her. She is in a spot a little hard to reach but I do, I get the test and it reads 16!!!!!!!:nailbiting: So I struggle to get up off the floor and run to get another strip and maple syrup. I go to put in the new strip and realize the meter is upside down. :facepalm: .Got myself all panicked ready to go to ER. It's going to take awhile for me to calm down.
Crap doodle!! Poor Paula. Deep breaths. And maybe some ice or heat for poor sore joints. (Later, perhaps a dram of something warming after the event?)
 
Be still my heart. I go to test her. She is in a spot a little hard to reach but I do, I get the test and it reads 16!!!!!!!:nailbiting: So I struggle to get up off the floor and run to get another strip and maple syrup. I go to put in the new strip and realize the meter is upside down. :facepalm: .Got myself all panicked ready to go to ER. It's going to take awhile for me to calm down.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes, go down the other 0.25 unit tonight. fWIW, most meters read "Lo" below 20. Ask me how I know. :rolleyes: It was Neko screaming down dose after SRT.
 
Since I wasn't going to be home I went down a full unit.

I tried the gabapentin at 25 mg this morning and 12.5 mg tonight. I think it's the right combo. She has not been lethargic today. She looks at me when I call her name and she comes when I call her today. She was even laying next to Tux on the chair and right now next to me demanding head scritches. Yep today is a good day.
 
And here we go again.

PM +4, 20% given to slow her down.

+4.5, 20% + maple syrup. Want to halt this quickly.

Probably over did it.
 
Last edited:
Oh my gosh! 16! It would take me a while to recover from that too! Looks like the Cabergoline is really working! Stay safe Olive!
 
Be still my heart. I go to test her. She is in a spot a little hard to reach but I do, I get the test and it reads 16!!!!!!!:nailbiting: So I struggle to get up off the floor and run to get another strip and maple syrup. I go to put in the new strip and realize the meter is upside down. :facepalm: .Got myself all panicked ready to go to ER. It's going to take awhile for me to calm down.

Mentals. :p
 
You know how we say cats seem to go lower at night and it's unknown why at night.

I have a theory on that. I don't know about everyone's routine but it could just be because at least in our house it's more active in the day. Phones ringing, tv on, people visiting, daylight, kitties watching wild life out the window, vaccuming, noise of power tools, dinner being made.

At night there's no tv on, no lights on, they can't see the wild life in the dark, no phones ringing, no visitors etc. We aren't stalking their every move. And it's just less stressful so they are more relaxed causing lower BG.

It could be just that simple.

I'd go with that.
 
Back
Top