10-15-18 Jones AMPS 277, + 5 241

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Ok, the dry is just killing me. I understand where the vet is coming from, but all those extra calories are just going out with the urine at this point.


I am not going to type it in case I jinx it but there has been no bad outcomes at the LB since the fasting. o_O
In fact, I see hard nuggets and he is straining. I am to hold the metro dose until he has solid stool for 2 weeks but at this stage...things may be clogging up!

He continues to eat well, but seems dopey on the bupe yesterday vs. when I first started giving it. Then he just like he was comfy in his skin.

I did bump up his dose and I have reduced the dry to 1 tbsp this morning. Again, I think I rather get a higher carb wet then dry...the issue really is his diet restrictions. However the vet wanted to bulk up his food to slow down the pipework. I know fibre is important for humans...is it the same for cats?o_O


Thanks @carfurby and @Bellasmom for the thoughts and prayers this morning. In fact, thanks to everyone for the support.

Hugs for @Beck and Grandpa (GA) today. :bighug::bighug:


Extra scritches for the other members of the S.A.C.C - Noah and Phoebe (though I think she is gaining her weigh out of the club!).:smuggrin:
 
Let me run those by the vet and see what she says. Since he is so ill, I know she has been on a reduction of all meds and supplements to really see what works and what doesn't work.
 
I know fibre is important for humans...is it the same for cats?o_O

My understanding is that it is sort of and at the same time not the same at all.
Their digestive tracts are short so the need is not the same as for us but a feral cat would gain some indigestible matter via its prey so there is a natural need for some.

I think it depends on the type of fibre from what I could gather . Insoluble v soluble.
Pumpkin is a soluble fibre. It would help stop diarrhea perhaps.

Jones is constipated ATM perhaps from his meds so I am not sure that pumpkin would help matters.

However I have only Ty and me to go on. Others will have far more experience.
 
Back
Top