10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot? Not.

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

G'Morning LL, hope all is well today.

I can't wait to talk with the Vet this week to see if there is something else going on with Mr. Zeus. Poor little guy, I hate to keep seeing these high numbers day after day. I did give a dosecrease today, and i think a little last night as well. need to get some stronger reading glasses :lol:

I have to say that, Zeus is acting fine. Yesterday, he actually played with a little catnip filled square. It was really cute, he licked it over and over, then hugged it, and bit it, and rolled on it. Oh my, so cute. But the funny thing is that the square is really old so I can't imagine that it had any smell left to it. I tried to get the camera, but Zeus became camera shy all of a sudden. Little stinker.

With full tummies, and lots of presents left in the LB, Zeus and Smokey have decided to go back to bed. I need to figure out how to keep Smokey up more during the day, she is a night owl... A very noisy night owl. I think she was exceptionally noisy last night because the cats both had pedicures before bed.... Something that she really hates (and she has all four double paws, so it takes a little longer), and it wired her right up.

Have a happy day. Hugs to all,
Kathie
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus AMPS 299

Morning. ~O)
It's always neat when they play with their toys. Guess you'll just have to keep the camera on your lap so you are better prepared to catch
that action.
Hoping for nice numbers.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus AMPS 299

Ha ha! Zeus caught the Catrurday Catniptini bug! Love it!

And pics would be great! :-D I understand about the being camera shy. Seems when ever I pull mine out, Poop disappears or gets grumpy.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus AMPS 299

Yes, it was so great to see Zeus play with the catnip thing... He doesn't usually play with toys, and has never really shown an interest in catnip. I am going to buy him a fresh catniptini to see if maybe he has changed his mind.... Would love to see him more active with the toys. :smile:

Hope you guys are having a great day.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus AMPS 299 A 52 at +8, really?

Holy cow, look at that... A 52 at +8. Wish I could have gotten some tests a little earlier to see if he had gone lower than that. He didn't eat all of his breffies this morning, so I didn't put out any more food, just left what was there. He didn't really graze too much though. I am giving him some LC right now. Will be interested to see what he does the rest of the day.

On a separate note, I tested Smokey today.... First time ever, she was 88.... But she was sooooo easy to test. Other than being a little squirmy, she didn't even flinch or jump or anything when the pen clicked and she got poked. And I got a good sized drop of blood, first time. Boy if Zeus had only been this easy in the beginning.... He is good now, but for a while it was tough.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus AMPS 299 A 52 at +8, really?

Looks like Zeus was tired of the high numbers too and decided to enjoy a nice mid green :o These cats do like to surprise us. Hope he stays in the safe surfing range for you. Enjoy your afternoon.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

Zeus was 52 at +8. He ate, and rose to 86 at +9. I can't believe he dropped to 65 for PMPS. I am stalling at this point, need to test again in 10 min. I don't know if I dare to shoot 2.75 at this low of a number. I just increased him this morning, thinking it might have been too much for him? I don't know what I should shoot if I see a rising number? Should I go back to 2.5?
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

+20 min... Same number. 65
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

it's hard to say. Zeus did hit 50s on 2.5u, so the increase might have been premature. Today's cycle might be the result of the bounce clearing after the PM cycle on 10/10. Another test before shooting might be a good idea (and I almost never say that!).
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

Thanks Libby and Lucy. No increase at our +20 min test. Zeus is not happy that I haven't fed him after two tests. I am going to test again in 15 min.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

Still no increase, +40 min. I think I am skipping the shot. I don't want to mess with shot times, and he isn't rising. I feel terrible because I know he will be high tomorrow, but I am just so scared to shoot this low when he isn't coming up at all.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

does he usually go up after eating? Are you able to test tonight?

I see that on 10/11 and 9/24 he went up 200 points by +2, and on 10/1 he went up 80 points at +1. The Lantus doesn't usually have onset until around +2, so if that is his usual pattern then you should be fine to shoot. That is, provided that you can monitor and steer the cycle with food if necessary. You would want to get a +1 and +2 to help you with next time this happens, so you can see how carb sensitive he is and when the Lantus starts to kick in.
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

He does, most of the time, come up after eating, but sometimes has a huge drop in the cycle... Like the PM cycle of 10/10. I don't know how soon food comes into play, one vet told us to test 10 min after Zeus started to eat. If that is the case, he only went up 1 point (which was about an hour and a half from the PMPS test). I am going to get in some more tests tonight to see where Zeus goes from here.

I think I am going to back to the 2.5 units tomorrow. Thanks for the advice :smile:
 
Re: 10/14 Zeus PMPS 65. To shoot or not to shoot, that is th

Your vet gave you misinformation. He's thinking in terms of a short-acting insulin. Lantus onset is typically at around +2. It takes a minimum of 20 min. for food to enter the bloodstream. I don't know that I'd expect to see any change in 10 min.

I'd weigh Libby's suggestion carefully. She's one of my go to people for help. She's very experienced and very knowedgeable.
 
I would get hourly tests until he starts to go up, just so you can see at what point that happens. The information will help you next time this happens, which it will. ;-)
 
Thanks Libby and Sienne... I am not discounting Libby's advice, hope you don't think that. I truly appreciate all advice, and I have learned so much from all of you.... And will continue to learn from your experience.

Thanks again.
Kathie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top