10/14 Teronto PMBG 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Sorry I've been MIA since my last post. Working on getting my mid-term done and studing for a proctored exam this coming week.

Anyways, I'm could really use some help with dosing. I did a curve on Teronto yesterday. BG every 2 hours up until 11 pm when I passed out on the couch. This morning his BG was 190. For some reason his BG always seems to be low in the morning and I don't know why that is.

I gave him a normal dose of 1 unit and just took his BG at +4 it was 40! I quickly gave him some food with a dash of honey and I have to say this because I don't know if it's useful information or not. He left his dish with food in it. He NEVER does that. He licks it clean. I just retook his BG and he is up to 60 now, so it appears to be going up.

My spreadsheet is up to date and looking at the numbers it appears that he has a HUGE drop between +2 and +4. I'm thinking of droping him to .50 units

I'm still very new to all of this and I guess i need to add my Condo from monday
Hope I did this right.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

I just posted to your thread in Health, when I saw that 40 on Teronto's ss.
You did the right thing by feeding him. I'm glad he has come up. I would test again at +5 and again at +5.5 as the honey high will wear off.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

As far as the dose question goes. We normally do the dose adjustments in 0.25 unit increments. That would make your next dose 0.75 or 3/4 of a unit. Do you have the syringes with the 1/2 unit markings on them?
Are you able to be home to monitor him tomorrow?
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

He's 71 not (+5).

I can't be home on the weekdays. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I come home at lunch time to check on him. That puts it at +5 from when I give him his shot.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

Good. I'm glad he's continuing to come up. You can back off on the honey if you haven't already done so.
And good, that you have the syringes with the 1/2 unit markings.

I would reduce to the 0.75 units tonight, and if you feel uncomfortable with his BG numbers when you have to leave for work tomorrow, you can leave out extra food for him around the house, and/or leave out some medium carb food for him. I'm glad you can get home for a +5 check, tomorrow.

It's up to you. If you want to go with 0.50 as his new dose, it's your decision. You can always come back up, if it doesn't work out.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60, +5 71, +5.5 90

We are at 90 now.

I can't leave any food out....even human food. He is an over eater. I have another cat and have to supervise all meal otherwise he pushes her out of the way and will eat her food too. She's a slow eater....seriously, it takes her between 20 to 30 minutes to eat 1/2 can of wet food. I made the mistake last week of leaving the room for about 10 minutes and he had not only eaten his food but her food as well in the 10 minutes I was gone.

I guess I'll have to decide on what to do when PMPS comes around.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

on work days, do you leave the house right after his shot, or do you have time to get a +1 before you leave? Either that, or get a +10 or +11 when you get up, then test again at +12 for AMPS. Either of those options will tell you whether he is rising or falling at AMPS time, and that will give you an idea of what the rest of the cycle will look like.

It's tough at first, for sure. The key is to get as many tests on weekends and evenings as you can, so you will start to understand Teronto's patterns enough to be able to know what he is doing when you're not home to test. Since you're just starting out, you don't have the benefit of all that data yet. Still, it's a GREAT problem to have, with him responding so well so quickly!

I would definitely reduce Teronto's dose tonight, get a spot check or two before bed, then see where he is in the morning. Good job today!
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

GREAT IDEA!! I like the +10, +11. I leave for work about a 1/2 hour after his shot.

He is responding pretty good. It will be nice when we have this under control.
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60, +5 71, +5.5 90, +6.5 9

3:00 my time was +8 he's at 96 so it looks like we are hovering in the 90's right now. Humm...I think I'll test him here in another 1/2 hour and see what he's doing. That will be a +9
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

sounds good. The more data you can get when you're home, the easier the decisions will be later on. Nice job!
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60, +5 71, +5.5 90, +6.5 9

Thanks! This was my first REAL scare with Teronto. I guess being a mom to a football player and cheerleader (both teenagers) have taught me NOT to panic. Lord knows I've seen some serious situations with them and their sports. I just went into auto mode. Better to go into calm mode and do what you can physically and let the Kitty God take care of the rest.

I'm sure I'll freak out later. :smile:
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

+9 and we are not at 75....is this normal for it to go down like this? Is it the honey high wearing off?
 
Re: Teronto AMPS 190, +4 40, +4.5 60

At what +time did you give the honey? You have the actual hour on your SS but since all of us are in different time zones, having the clock time is meaningless. (It's better if you put the +time on your SS.

The HC, whether food or honey, does wear off and number can drop. A lot depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and when in the cycle the numbers and feeding occur. In addition, some cats do experience a second drop during their cycle or can have a late nadir. That's the long version of saying that it's not uncommon for numbers to drop later in the cycle. The 75 is still very safe.

Just a note if you need help or have a question -- If you need a hand, put a question mark or make a note in your subject line. You'll need to go back to your first post in the thread and edit the subject line there. Only the subject line from the first post is visible on the Board.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto AMPS 190 +4 40 +4.5 60 +6.5 97 +8 96 +9 75

We are at +10 66

I'm stuck...I'm not sure if I should give him a little food or wait it out. What is the safe zone. Through everything I read I don't remember seeing anything about that or maybe I did and just can remember it.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

he's surfing! It's beautiful. You don't really need to feed this, and in fact it's probably better if you don't, since it's not too far from shot time. If you feed now, the number will rise because of food, and what we really want to see at shot time is how much the number would rise due to the natural end-of-cycle action (insulin wearing off) without the influence of food.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

I didn't feed him. :) I just figured I'd test him A LOT between now and PMPS. I plan on getting a +11 and +11.5

He's being a trooper letting me poke at him as long as I snuggle him in his blanket.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

I think you're fine to wait. How about getting the +11 and see where Teronto's numbers fall? If he's on the rise, I'd wait until PMPS for the next test.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

Just got the +11 he dropped back down to 60

I have to run my kid to the movies. It's just down the street. So I should be back for an +11.5

Is it me? I feel like I'm going crazy watching his numbers go up and down like this.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

+11.5 96

Guess the big question is going to come up soon enough. Might as well as it now. Do I give him a dose or not? And if I do what should I give him?
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto +10 66; +10.5 85

Here we go. PMPS is 114.

Not sure what to do from here other than feed him. He's prowling the house looking for food. One of my kids left a cup with a little milk in the bottom in the living room and I heard it drop to the floor. Even though he wasn't any where to be seen I know who it was.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 What now?

Stay calm & revise your topic line as" shoot or not?" if you have the question. Somebody will come to give you the advice
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 What now?

Some of the up and down is due to meter variance. There's approx. 20% variance in any test number that's due to any meter.

The big question is whether you're comfortable shooting and do you have any flexibility with your schedule in the AM? It sounds like you really aren't in a position where you can stall for too long tonight. If you stall, your shot in the AM is 12 hours from whenever you shoot. Could you stall for 15 min? (Don't feed.)
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

He's eating right now. Didn't see your post until after I feed him.

I'm okay giving him a shot but certainly not at 1 unit.

And ya, there isn't much wiggle room. I'm the only one taking care of the cat and dog children at this point. No help from anyone.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

I just don't think you have the data to shoot this low. There's no pattern yet to know when Teronto's Lantus onset is. I want to see if I can get some other eyes on your SS. If you give a reduced dose tonight, can you stay up to monitor? If not, I'd skip.

BTW, this is why getting some PM tests is important especially since you leave the house early in the PM. (That's my shameless plug for PM tests.)
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

Ya. I really did try to stay up last night to take PM BG's but I passed out sometime between 11 and 1. The couch I learned is a nasty place to sleep the night.

I don't know if i can manage staying up late. And that seems to be my biggest issue. I already feel like I run myself on little sleep as it is and now the added illness on top of everything else in my busy life I'm feeling a little worn down. (There's my whinning)

I just took a BG about 15 minutes ago and he was up to 157
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

I'm not sure what you're planning on doing. If you're going to skip, get another test before you go to bed. In fact, it's always helpful to get a before bed test.

It looks like numbers are rising and it should be OK to shoot. You will be off schedule, though, for the AM shot and it doesn't sound like that's feasible for you. In other words, due to schedule, you may need to skip.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

How late are you with that 157? If its within 30 mins of your normal shot time, you could shoot and then shoot on time tomorrow morning.

I agree with Sienne that it looks like he's going up. I can stay up the next three hours with you just to see where he is. If you shoot, I'd get a +1 to start.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

We are an hour late now. So if I shot now his next dose would have to be at 7:30 and I'd have to leave for work right after and my other question would be what dose? If I shot now could I give him a .50 or .25 and see what happens in the next few hours?
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

If you shoot now, his next dose would be 11.5 hours from when you shoot,if you are in a pinch. Usually, we would say 11.75 hours but...I know you need some wiggle room.

You can shoot .5u but the rate he went up, and as low as he got today, I think he will bounce. I'd would want to get his new dose, .75u, into him. Either dose you shoot, you will really need to get a +1 and probably a +2.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

Thinking out loud....

Maybe I should wait til AM and change the time to 6. That way I can get a +1 and almost +2 in the am. It's the between +2 and +4 that gets me worried. Looking at his numbers yesterday and this morning that's looking like when he drops the most on the 1 unit.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

If you want to readjust his shot time by a lot, then skipping allows you to do that...just pick your new shot time and shoot the .75u dose. It's up to you, what you need to do, and how you feel in terms of testing tonight.

If you decide not to shoot, the subject line would be changed to PMBG instead of PMPS. Also...be prepared that his numbers will likely go high but it's ok....he will come back down. You just have to not worry about it, k?

If you want to shoot, I'll be here to help you.
 
Re: 10/14 Teronto PMPS 114 Shoot or Not?

I think I'll wait and change his time. That will give me some wiggle room in the morning and in the evening. And I can start getting some better numbers for the +1's and +2's maybe even get to throw in some +11's :-D
 
Sounds like a plan, Pauline. Hope you get some rest...and remember...shoot .75u in the morning. Congrats on the reduction. :-D
 
Thanks! I hope the new time will be more helpful and meaningful. I'll get some more PM data before I go to bed.

And praying I don't pass out on this couch anytime soon. Rhiannon, if your couch is anything like mine I TOTALLY FEEL FOR YOU!
 
I hope the new time works better.

Did I ever tell you I was raised in Fairbanks until I was 9 and then I moved back when I was 25. I was a wildlife biologist for the Feds and my area was SE AK inc Juneau, Sitka, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Wrangell, etc etc. loved it. Do you live in the mendenhall valley?
 
it's the pull out sofa, 14 years old , and I've got pillows shoved under the mattress trying to escape the bars. :lol: :twisted: :lol:
but it's better than waking the BEAR. ( DH )
 
No! That's awesome. and yes, I live in the Valley. I'd have a really nice view of the glacier if it wasn't for the neighbors trees.

No other place like Alaska.

Hummm...my husband has to be to work at 4 am....guess who's going to get to do his first BG Reading. LOL!!! Hope Teronto doesn't bite him, he's become a momma's boy.

Rhiannon REALLY Feel for you. I have one of those sometimes too...He likes to bark at me sometimes....It usually ends with me kicking him cause he's taking my space. LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top