Jill & Alex said:his next shot would be due at 1pm tomorrow.Perry and Sooty said:We were out tonight and got stuc, got home very late! Missed his 8PM shot time so soon as I could, I gave him his PM shot (3.0u) at 1AM (5 hours late) - I might be wrong but I decided this was better than missing it altogether...
Can anyone advise me please, should I still give him his regular (3.0u) shot tomorrow morning at 8AM, or make some other adjustment?
since tonight's shot was 5 hours late... if i were in your shoes, i would skip the AM shot tomorrow. this would allow you to get right back on schedule tomorrow night. granted, it's not ideal, but hey, stuff happens!
what i wouldn't do is shoot at 8am because it would mean you were shooting at +7... much too early for the next shot.
ps --- if you skip the morning shot, you have the opportunity to change your shot time if 8am/8pm is not convenient for you.
Perry and Sooty said:Sorry guys I'm at tbp and not able to get on here as often as I'd like... thanks for keeping an eye on us! I am very grateful that you do!!
I will correct that subject line in tne top topic as suggested - yes, it was AMBG not AMPS this morning!
I didn't go ahead with his 8AM 3.0u shot but since I also didn't want to go all the way from 1AM last night until 8PM tonight with nothing at all, I did give him a 1/2 dose this morning (1.5u) the thinking being that this should onset later today and carry him better toward 8PM than if he'd had nothing at all today.
We are keeping a VERY close watch on him through the day today (Cathy is at home and doing the testing) and so far he's registered 251 at 10AM and 247 at noon.
Thanks for all your concern - yes we are unfortuantely learning a lesson here the hard way... we've not missed a beat on his shots ever since we started back in June - but this goes to show that you can never get complacent... and things can go awry even with the best will in the world...!
At +7Jill & Alex said:at what +hour from the last shot was the 1.5u administered?
just to make sure everyone (including me) is on the same page...Perry and Sooty said:At +7Jill & Alex said:at what +hour from the last shot was the 1.5u administered?
Not quite, AM shot (1.5u) given today was at 8AM and this was 7 hours after the belated PM 3.0u shot the night before (which was due at 8PM but given at 1AM), PS before the 8AM shot was 259. Since then we have a +2 (10AM) which was 251, +4 (12noon) was 247. I now also have +6 (2PM) which was 256.Jill & Alex said:just to make sure everyone (including me) is on the same page...Perry and Sooty said:At +7Jill & Alex said:at what +hour from the last shot was the 1.5u administered?
AMPS 259 @ +7 (1.5u)
+2 251
+4 247
correct?
RIGHT!!! And I am sorry not to reply sooner somehow, I jumped over (missed) your post earlier... I shall go back and change the top topic line back to AMPS again then.Pat+Raja+Shadow said:Ok Perry...then that was a preshot number just the same. If you do not shoot, it is the number of the Blood Glucose alone...AMBG.
So. what you shot was a lowered dose...in the middle of the cycle....unorthodox, but I guess it works. I had been so concerned... nailbite_smile whew...okay, glad Cathy is watching him. Back to the old shooting schedule tonight then, right?
Hope so !!!!!Pat+Raja+Shadow said:Back on track then...good job! :mrgreen:
We opened a new vial on 9/24 (there is a note about that in the SS, between 9/23 and 9/24).Pat+Raja+Shadow said:Perry...how old is your insulin?
I just checked the notes on your SS and I don't see any notation about a new vial/cartridge or anything... @-)
Right, we went to a new vial, when we did (at the time we 'reset' Sooty's dosing), specifically to rule out any possible chance that our previous one had lost its potency. Word is that carefully handled & stored Lantus easily outlasts the 28 days minimum which as I understand it, actually applies to un-refrigerated, unsealed, Lantus.Pat+Raja+Shadow said:Oh, you mean the big yellow line in the middle of the SS eh,...well, okay...![]()
![]()
Now that you pointed it out...LOL...I was looking in the wrong place... ohmygod_smile
The manufacturer states that it is good once opened, for 28 days. So, now is as good a time as any to discuss the shelf life of the Lantus. I use Levemir myself but other Lantus users might say how long they use their insulin. Some get more than 28 days out of it. But I think that if the numbers start to get strange or inconsistent, it might be worthwhile to get a new one. Do you use the cartridge pens?
yes, keep opened and unopened pens or cartridges (whichever you purchase) in the fridge. most of us have found them to last longer. some have been able to use a lantus pen or cartridge for as long as 6 months.Perry and Sooty said:I had planned to get the cartridge pens next time though, since you get 5 x 3ml pens rather than 1 x 10ml vial (so the unopened ones can be stored MUCH longer). Also they (Lantus themselves) say the that Lantus pens do not require refrigeration after opening (even though we probably will keep them in the fridge anyhow!)