10/14 Sooty PMPS 249 +3 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday..
Happy Purrsday, LL'ers!
ETA: Here's a piccy of Sooty!
 

Attachments

  • DSC00030.JPG
    DSC00030.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 855
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMPS 259

Did you shoot this at 8am Perry?
here is Jill's post from last night...not sure if you read it...
Jill & Alex said:
Perry and Sooty said:
We were out tonight and got stuc, got home very late! Missed his 8PM shot time so soon as I could, I gave him his PM shot (3.0u) at 1AM (5 hours late) - I might be wrong but I decided this was better than missing it altogether...
Can anyone advise me please, should I still give him his regular (3.0u) shot tomorrow morning at 8AM, or make some other adjustment?
his next shot would be due at 1pm tomorrow.
since tonight's shot was 5 hours late... if i were in your shoes, i would skip the AM shot tomorrow. this would allow you to get right back on schedule tomorrow night. granted, it's not ideal, but hey, stuff happens!
what i wouldn't do is shoot at 8am because it would mean you were shooting at +7... much too early for the next shot.


ps --- if you skip the morning shot, you have the opportunity to change your shot time if 8am/8pm is not convenient for you.

If you are waiting until 1pm, then the number you got would be AMBG (AMBlood Glucose instead of AM Pre Shot)
If you did shoot, that will mean that an early shot is like a increase in dose and Sooty will have to be watched very careful this morning. Can you get a +1 and depending on what that number is, retest in either an hour or a half an hour? maybe give him some LC food at that time...
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMPS 259

I agree with Pat about whether you shot. If you shot this morning at your usual time, you are shooting very early -- you essentially shot at the time your PM shot would be approaching nadir and there will be a great deal of overlap.

Please clarify if the 259 is your AMPS or your PM +6 (or +7).
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMBG 259

Sorry guys I'm at tbp and not able to get on here as often as I'd like... thanks for keeping an eye on us! I am very grateful that you do!!

I will correct that subject line in tne top topic as suggested - yes, it was AMBG not AMPS this morning!

I didn't go ahead with his 8AM 3.0u shot but since I also didn't want to go all the way from 1AM last night until 8PM tonight with nothing at all, I did give him a 1/2 dose this morning (1.5u) the thinking being that this should onset later today and carry him better toward 8PM than if he'd had nothing at all today.

We are keeping a VERY close watch on him through the day today (Cathy is at home and doing the testing) and so far he's registered 251 at 10AM and 247 at noon.

Thanks for all your concern - yes we are unfortuantely learning a lesson here the hard way... we've not missed a beat on his shots ever since we started back in June - but this goes to show that you can never get complacent... and things can go awry even with the best will in the world...!
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMBG 259 +2 251 +4 247

Ok Perry...then that was a preshot number just the same. If you do not shoot, it is the number of the Blood Glucose alone...AMBG.
So. what you shot was a lowered dose...in the middle of the cycle....unorthodox, but I guess it works. I had been so concerned... nailbite_smile whew...okay, glad Cathy is watching him. Back to the old shooting schedule tonight then, right?
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMBG 259

Perry and Sooty said:
Sorry guys I'm at tbp and not able to get on here as often as I'd like... thanks for keeping an eye on us! I am very grateful that you do!!

I will correct that subject line in tne top topic as suggested - yes, it was AMBG not AMPS this morning!

I didn't go ahead with his 8AM 3.0u shot but since I also didn't want to go all the way from 1AM last night until 8PM tonight with nothing at all, I did give him a 1/2 dose this morning (1.5u) the thinking being that this should onset later today and carry him better toward 8PM than if he'd had nothing at all today.

We are keeping a VERY close watch on him through the day today (Cathy is at home and doing the testing) and so far he's registered 251 at 10AM and 247 at noon.

Thanks for all your concern - yes we are unfortuantely learning a lesson here the hard way... we've not missed a beat on his shots ever since we started back in June - but this goes to show that you can never get complacent... and things can go awry even with the best will in the world...!

at what +hour from the last shot was the 1.5u administered?
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMBG 259

Jill & Alex said:
Perry and Sooty said:
Jill & Alex said:
at what +hour from the last shot was the 1.5u administered?
At +7
just to make sure everyone (including me) is on the same page...

AMPS 259 @ +7 (1.5u)
+2 251
+4 247

correct?
Not quite, AM shot (1.5u) given today was at 8AM and this was 7 hours after the belated PM 3.0u shot the night before (which was due at 8PM but given at 1AM), PS before the 8AM shot was 259. Since then we have a +2 (10AM) which was 251, +4 (12noon) was 247. I now also have +6 (2PM) which was 256.

Hope that is clearer. Thanks again for your care and concern!!
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty AMBG 259 +2 251 +4 247

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ok Perry...then that was a preshot number just the same. If you do not shoot, it is the number of the Blood Glucose alone...AMBG.
So. what you shot was a lowered dose...in the middle of the cycle....unorthodox, but I guess it works. I had been so concerned... nailbite_smile whew...okay, glad Cathy is watching him. Back to the old shooting schedule tonight then, right?
RIGHT!!! And I am sorry not to reply sooner somehow, I jumped over (missed) your post earlier... I shall go back and change the top topic line back to AMPS again then.
Phew! his has been an interesting few hours..!
It will be good to get back to normal (wow, listen to me, just when exactly did doing two shots a day and a bunch of ear pokes, become "normal" ??? LOL!)
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Back on track then...good job! :mrgreen:
Hope so !!!!!
Thank you for your help and support - I know there's a lot more to worry about than me and my mess-ups but I wanted to say that it is very good to know that you "have my back" like that! Awesome!
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Perry...how old is your insulin?
I just checked the notes on your SS and I don't see any notation about a new vial/cartridge or anything... @-)
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Perry...how old is your insulin?
I just checked the notes on your SS and I don't see any notation about a new vial/cartridge or anything... @-)
We opened a new vial on 9/24 (there is a note about that in the SS, between 9/23 and 9/24).
So it should be OK. Exp date on the vial is 05-2011... (we get our Lantus from our local Publix pharmacy).
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Oh, you mean the big yellow line in the middle of the SS eh,...well, okay... :oops: :oops:
Now that you pointed it out...LOL...I was looking in the wrong place... ohmygod_smile

The manufacturer states that it is good once opened, for 28 days. So, now is as good a time as any to discuss the shelf life of the Lantus. I use Levemir myself but other Lantus users might say how long they use their insulin. Some get more than 28 days out of it. But I think that if the numbers start to get strange or inconsistent, it might be worthwhile to get a new one. Do you use the cartridge pens?
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Oh, you mean the big yellow line in the middle of the SS eh,...well, okay... :oops: :oops:
Now that you pointed it out...LOL...I was looking in the wrong place... ohmygod_smile

The manufacturer states that it is good once opened, for 28 days. So, now is as good a time as any to discuss the shelf life of the Lantus. I use Levemir myself but other Lantus users might say how long they use their insulin. Some get more than 28 days out of it. But I think that if the numbers start to get strange or inconsistent, it might be worthwhile to get a new one. Do you use the cartridge pens?
Right, we went to a new vial, when we did (at the time we 'reset' Sooty's dosing), specifically to rule out any possible chance that our previous one had lost its potency. Word is that carefully handled & stored Lantus easily outlasts the 28 days minimum which as I understand it, actually applies to un-refrigerated, unsealed, Lantus.
We now do not ever shake or roll it, I use a fresh syringe for every shot, I do not inject air nto the vial (even though the Lantus website tells you to do that!), nor do I reinject insulin nor air bubbles (after drawing a little too much, those now go onto a piece of kitchen roll!)
So our current vial is very unlikely to have any problems...
I had planned to get the cartridge pens next time though, since you get 5 x 3ml pens rather than 1 x 10ml vial (so the unopened ones can be stored MUCH longer). Also they (Lantus themselves) say the that Lantus pens do not require refrigeration after opening (even though we probably will keep them in the fridge anyhow!)
 
in the spirit of keeping comments on the board, subject to peer review, i am copying and pasting my reply to a PM from perry:

first of all, i don't think it was a mistake starting over at 1.5 unit. if 1.5u was too high, i really think you would have seen some big drops on that dose.

thinking out loud...

--- i also expected to see some effect from the overlap of the two doses today. however, given the late shot (shed emptied) last night combined with not being at an ideal dose yet (not enough insulin)... it became a non-event.

--- it's also possible that you'll could see more of a drop tonight or tomorrow because of the cumulative nature of lantus. after all, sooty remained as flat as flat can be today. oftentimes when we see such a flat cycle, within the next cycle or two we see a substantial drop.

--- it's possible we are nowhere near a breakthrough dose, so a reduced dose given at +7 had little to no effect.

--- it's also possible there's some insulin resistance going on.... could be from a high dose condition such as acromegaly or insulin auto antibodies (IAA). personally, i don't usually go there until kitty is receiving 5u - 6u bid with no response.

sooooooo, i'm all full of possibilities, but short on answers. one of the weird things with lantus is you can go along for quite some time without much of a response and then BAM! all of a sudden everything clicks and falls into place.

take a look at this ss: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html.

max had more movement than sooty has, but overall max's numbers were higher. there was a distinct possibility this cat had acromegaly or IAA, but all it took was getting up to 5.75u to cause a break in the numbers. then max stalled out a little bit. randi increased the dose to 6u bid. shortly after that, max began to race down the dosing scale until he went OTJ.

sooty is leading this dance. you and your wife are doing everything right. you're doing all you can possibly do. things will fall into place. they always do.


~ jill
 
Re: 10/14 Sooty PMPS 249

Perry and Sooty said:
I had planned to get the cartridge pens next time though, since you get 5 x 3ml pens rather than 1 x 10ml vial (so the unopened ones can be stored MUCH longer). Also they (Lantus themselves) say the that Lantus pens do not require refrigeration after opening (even though we probably will keep them in the fridge anyhow!)
yes, keep opened and unopened pens or cartridges (whichever you purchase) in the fridge. most of us have found them to last longer. some have been able to use a lantus pen or cartridge for as long as 6 months.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top