10/14 Shylo +8 30 +9 80 +10 106 PMPS 140 +2 181 +4 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126911

Shylo had a good day yesterday, but overnight he vomited once or twice, and then again this morning... I think maybe once the day before, as well. He wouldn't touch his usual food, and only barely picked at some plain canned food with water. He's otherwise alert but I'm worried that it's something with his gallbladder again. I did try a different raw food mixed in with his NV but I'm not sure if that actually has anything to do with it or not. Usually he inhales his food in the morning... I haven't shot yet because he barely ate anything and I wasn't sure if it was safe to or not.

How long is safe to wait before I haul him off to the vet? Should I see if I can get some food in him via syringe feeding so I can shoot, or would it be safer to skip his dose? I literally rolled out of bed just now and this is stressing me out to the max, I really don't want a repeat of his gallbladder surgery as I'm not sure I nor my finances would be able to handle that. ):

edit; Right after I posted he went back over to munch a little bit more at breakfast, so we'll see if he eats it all on his own...
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 - vomited, no appetite? ):

I should add that Shylo definitely seems hungry (came running into kitchen, pestering me while prepping breakfast, etc) but once he sniffed his food seemed not as interested in eating... I think that's a symptom of nausea, if I'm correct? I've been discussing with some of my nutrition buddies and they seem to think it has something to do with the fact that I thawed out some Rad Cat to portion it out and then refroze it. Possibility? Both bouts of vomiting came after he got some of that in his meals, so I'm inclined to think that's part of the problem.


edit; Added a little more of the canned tuna flavor food to the mix and it seems to have coaxed him into eating, at least... he's working at the bowl with a little more interest now.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 - vomited, no appetite? ):

one thing you could try is to test and see if it's a food aversion and nausea.

with nausea, they will sniff and kinda smack their lips a little and turn away.....
most of us give ondansetron for nausea... 1 mg ( I think it comes in 4 mg and 8 mg so ask for the 4mg - it's easier to break the pill)

I've tried and tried to get my cat to eat raw but she won't.
But the other day I was cutting up chicken for our dinner and she got very interested and ate some of that. Guess she only likes raw when it's fresh and not frozen.

If he's willing to eat other foods, it's the food.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 - vomited, no appetite? ):

Yeah, I think it's a little bit of both? I offered him a plate of just plain canned food and right now he's eating that (it took him a minute to actually start eating but now he's licking the bowl clean). He's been eating raw for about a month now, but I'm going to toss the open bag of NV I have and the rest of the rad cat just to be safe and open a new bag, Don't wanna mess with that.

Where's the best place to get the ondansetron? Is that something I need a prescription for? Also thanks for dropping by!
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 - vomited, no appetite? ):

I'm not sure I'd pull out a big gun like ondansatron as a first intervention. You need a prescription -- in other words, a vet visit to get the drug. You might want to try a quarter of a 10 mg Pepsid AC (in other words, 2.5mg) to see if that settles Shylo's tummy. You may also want to try feeding some baby food (usually the Stage 2 of either Gerber or Beechnut -- all it should contain is a protein and broth -- no veggies or other stuff although the Gerber does contain some cornstarch).

If Shylo is still not interested in food after 24 hours or so, then it's a vet visit. Ondansatron tablets are expensive. It does come as an injection, which is much cheaper. Since you know how to give a shot, you might ask your vet if you can have the injectible form. The alternative is Cerenia. This is less expensive and is effective for many cats. (It sounds like he's eating though.)

If you are feeding a dry food, you should be aware that they are far more prone to going bad and to being the subject of recalls than canned food.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 - vomited, no appetite? ):

Hi Sienne, thanks for the input... I do have some baby food on hand, but Shylo did finally eat some plain canned food (one of the medium carb level one but better than nothing!)... a little bit less than his usual meal, but definitely enough so that I was able to feel comfortable shooting his insulin dose. We'll see how he feels later on... I'm home all day so I'll at least be here to keep an eye on him.

We feed exclusively raw/canned now, finally managed to wean him off kibble a week or more ago I think. If I end up going anywhere today I might pick up some pepcid just in case he decides he doesn't want dinner later. For now I'm going to leave some canned food out in case he decides he wants a little bit more, I think.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213

Just a little bit higher on his +2, he at least seemed more interested in treats than he was in food earlier. I'm going to test him again at +4 to make sure he's holding there.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213

If he holds this food down and continues to eat, I'd guess it's the stuff you gave him last night that you suspect already. Sometimes, if their tummy is already upset, the high fat in most canned foods makes them feel worse, so they avoid it. That's when chicken or turkey baby food comes in really handy!

Sending good tummy and appy vines for Shylo.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213

So far so good, Tricia! I coaxed him out from under the bed to test him earlier and he's back up sleeping on top instead... keeping everything down. I may just offer him the baby food for dinner with a liiiittle bit of canned to see if that gets him to eat a little bit more.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213 +4 173 +6 103

REALLY glad that I decided on doing a curve today.... I just tested the +8 and Shylo tanked all the way down to 30. I'm trying to get him to eat something right now but I'm going to give him a little bit of syrup by syringe right after I post this. Should I be testing every half hour now, or more frequently than that?
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213 +4 173 +6 103 +8 30

it takes 30 min for food to have it's full influence....
but at that low.... I would check more often just be sure. myself.... 10 minutes.... I'd want to know the number.....

the main thing is you are there....
it's good.... just breathe....
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213 +4 173 +6 103 +8 30

Just did a quick test, he's up to 51 so at least out of that danger zone... will wait another 30 minutes so the food has time to full kick in and check again.

Always full of surprises, apparently... lol.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +2 213 +4 173 +6 103 +8 30

I feel like part of the drop was definitely because he didn't eat a normal sized breakfast this morning, but I'm not totally sure haha. Just got the +9 and he's back up to 80.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +6 103 +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80

continue to test every 30 minutes or so for a while. sometimes when you've lifted low blood sugar, as the carbs wear off the blood sugar can wobble and drop again.

he's likely to bounce from hitting 30 - that was pretty low. don't be surprised if that happens. If he does bounce and is high at pmps, you have the option to give 1 more shot at your previous dose and then reducing in the morning. Since we don't know how he's going to handle the low number, it would be a good idea if you could at least get a +2 and make sure he's still going up before you call it a night. If you can't get the +2 tonight, or you can't continue to monitor after that if he's dropped at +2, then you might want to go ahead and take the reduction to 0.75 tonight even if he has bounced.

i can see why you were surprised at the +8 - there wasn't really any sign that was coming. i'm glad you caught it.

not sure if you still have a question - the ? icon is up. it might have been from this morning . . . i'm not sure.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +6 103 +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80

Whoops, forgot to take the icon down. I'll go do that now.

I kind of figured he might bounce after this... I can be up for a while tonight so I'll be around to test if need be. We'll see what he looks like as we get closer to preshot time before I try to decide what to shoot at.

Phew... never a dull day in sugarcat land. P:
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +6 103 +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80

Got a +10 of 106, so he's at least on the upswing for now... jeez, Shylo. At least this was today when I was home all day. P:
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +6 103 +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80 +10 106

I have been using ondansetron for about 6 years now, first for my cat that had lymphoma. It isn't expensive here. I get the generic from Costco or thrivingpets.com. I just looked and 30 of them are $15.81 at Costco. It has worked really well for Max when he has a pancreatitis episode.
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo AMPS 174 +6 103 +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80 +10 106

I'm pretty sure he was just queasy from the bad food at least, he's been inhaling the treats he's been given all afternoon. (:

+11 still only at 114... gonna test again soon (for preshot/dinner). Ive shot in that range before, so I'm comfortable doing it, but I think that a dose reduction would make sense tonight. Am I correct in that thought?

edit; PMPS is 140. (:
 
Re: 10/14 Shylo +8 30 +8.5 51 +9 80 +10 106 PMPS 140

Will do, thanks Julie. I'll post again later with his +2.

I had to pick him up off the bed, but he's eating dinner without me coaxing him into it this time. c:
 
Shylo seems to be hanging out in some nice blue ranges for now... I just gave him a snack to tide him over and I'm gonna see if I can catch a little bit of sleep. I need it after his earlier cycle, hahaha... zzzzzzz.
 
Nice job today, Emily. I'm glad Shylo recovered from that earlier bad food episode. It will be interesting to see if this reduction holds, since I suspect the 30 was partially from lack of food early on.

Sending lots of good vines for a successful reduction!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top