10/14 -Scratchie-AMPS=264,+2=299,+5.5=327,+9.5=329, pmps-279

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

10/13 Condo

Very frustrated today. This dose doesn't seem to be doing anything and he keeps going up? Anyone have any ideas? No ketones. I'm doing what I'm supposed to do, but nothing!! Sorry I feel so bad for him as all this bouncing just keeps taking more of a toll on him. He won't eat when he's in the 3's (or at least not well), there's no fever, I don't think anything is wrong with him. Could it be the insulin? Do I need to change to a different type? I read that some have changed to Lev when their babies kept bouncing, would that work? Sorry, I know I'm rambling but I was hoping we would start getting somewhere and really hoped that this dose would work!! I can't up him again now until the weekend with my work schedule. DH will be home a bit tomorrow and said he will test, but he will be at the VA for an appointment and we don't know how long that will take. Why does he keep going up???? Please - any suggestions....

Recap:

AMPS = 362
+3 = 340+5.5 = 331
+9 = 324
PMPS = 331
+3 = 350
+10 = 300
AMPS today = 264 then he started the rise again.

The vial of Lantus I am using I just purchased on 9/15. I want to move to the pens, but haven't gotten with the vet yet as I need a new prescription to do that.

Jo
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327 - Help??

No advise from me about the dosing, but I'm sorry this is so frustrating. Especially since the higher numbers seem to affect Scratchie. Calming vines and I hope someone can give you advice on how to go forward.
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327 - Help??

Sometimes when I've given Furball a dose increase, she goes up for a couple of days before she settles into the new dose. Sometimes she goes up for one PS and then settles into the new dose. It is so hard to tell what she is going to do. You haven't been on the new dose very long. I would give Scratchie a couple more days to see if he settles into the new dose. Hopefully he'll start coming down for you soon. We all want to see instant results, but it doesn't happen that way most of the time. Hang in there.
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327

Thanks Carla and Lisa. Guess I am impatient on this one. Thank you !
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327 - Help??

Scratchie'smom said:
Very frustrated today. This dose doesn't seem to be doing anything and he keeps going up? Anyone have any ideas? No ketones. I'm doing what I'm supposed to do, but nothing!! Sorry I feel so bad for him as all this bouncing just keeps taking more of a toll on him.
i can feel your frustration. scratchie is certainly a bouncy boy! you ARE doing everything you're supposed to. some cats just bounce more than others. scratchie happens to be one of them. good job checking for ketones!

Sorry I feel so bad for him as all this bouncing just keeps taking more of a toll on him. He won't eat when he's in the 3's (or at least not well), there's no fever, I don't think anything is wrong with him.
if you question if something may be going on with him... you're best bet is to have the vet check him out.

Could it be the insulin?
it's *possible* it's the insulin, but more often it's simply a matter of not yet reaching an optimal dose. that said, check your insulin carefully for floaties. in the beginning they're so tiny. the only way i've been able to see them is to hold the insulin up to a bright light (preferably sun light) and use a magnifying glass to check for any particles.

Do I need to change to a different type? I read that some have changed to Lev when their babies kept bouncing, would that work?
switching insulins is really up to you. some have had better luck with levemir. others haven't. the only way to find out if another insulin is better for any cat is to try it.

Sorry, I know I'm rambling but I was hoping we would start getting somewhere and really hoped that this dose would work!! I can't up him again now until the weekend with my work schedule. DH will be home a bit tomorrow and said he will test, but he will be at the VA for an appointment and we don't know how long that will take. Why does he keep going up???? Please - any suggestions....
no apologies necessary!

what you're seeing with scratchie right now is imo, the most frustrating part of dealing with this disease. we see some nice drops in the BG levels and then kitty goes right back up again... often stalling out on that same dose causing the need for another increase. it's enough to make you want to tear your hair out!

scratchie is bouncing from seeing blues. it happens. since you can't increase the dose until next weekend let's see what this dose can do. you may be pleasantly surprised. who knows?

i guess what i'm trying to say is while i know you're frustrated, i want to assure you... this kind of response is not unheard of. kitties have been known to go along without a whole lot of improvement after one increase after another and then BAM! all of a sudden things change once an optimal dose has been reached.

try to hang in there, ok? you're doing a great job with scratchie!

(((((hugs)))))
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327

Thanks Jill, I appreciate you taking the time to help mellow me out! I'll be patient.
 
Re: 10/14 - Scratchie- AMPS=264, +2=299, +5.5=327

And we'll just keep hoping for that "bam".

I know you want to see it ....me too!
And being home on the weekend, made you want it today. :lol: me too for that as well. :razz:

I would ask DH to get a before appt check and another check when he gets home from the appt. that probably will be a good couple
of hours at the very least. VA appts take lots of time. Then you'll know at least how Scratchie is fairing tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/14 -Scratchie-AMPS=264,+2=299,+5.5=327,+9.5=329, pmps

Thanks everyone for stopping by, down a bit now....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top