10/14 Reuben PMPS 167 1*189 2*119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

I am syringe feeding his homeade lc food today. I don`t understand what is going on. Just going to keep wagging the dog, as they say!

I hope everyone has a lovely Sunday, :YMHUG:'s and cat_pet_icon's to all the kitties and beans.


Ongoing Medications:
Clavamox 50mg bid
Pepcid 2.5mg bid
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben AMPS 126

Teresa and Poopy said:
Reuben, dude, youse gots to eat yer fuds, man! ~Poopy

well, ooookay, just because you said so, i ate a little fuds, but i made my bean hold it on a spoon... :lol: thanks poopy, you're the best.. it do feel a little better with a little fuds in my tummy!
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben AMPS 126

Dude, that's pretty cool...makin yer bean hold yer fuds fer ya. Gonna have to try that one soon. ~Poopy

Oh, great! Just what I need! ohmygod_smile

Glad to hear Reuben is eating a bit better. I don't know what I would do if Poopy became a finicky eater. Thankfully he's never met a food he doesn't like. :-D
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben AMPS 126

Hi Alexa, Glad Reuben is eating a little better. Did you tell him if he wont eat, a liver shake is in his future? Jasper likes me to feed him his yogurt from a spoon. When he sees me with the baby spoon, he knows its treat time. As cat servants go, I am pretty well trained by now :lol: .
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Got stuck in the drive thru line at KFC for 30 min and got home late. Reuben was animated and hungry. We were excited about the KFC which I bought for him. I took the 11.5*134 reading and didn`t feed him. He was still hungry. Right before PMPS he threw up, on an empty stomach, and it was NOT clear, it was dark, I assume it had blood in it.

Then I took the PMPS and it was 67.

HOLY MOLY COW.


I have no idea what to do!
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

AND He won't eat now. Poor baby. I gave him gravy, I'll give him more gravy, it`s the only thing he'll eat. And I'll syringe feed.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Alexa, I'm not the person to give advice, but I'm just sending big hugs to you and Reuben. I hope he starts feeling better and eating his fuds!

((hugs))
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Oh Poor Reuben, feel better! Hugs and scritches from us, boy. Don't know what to advise, but sure interested in what the experts say. (((hugs)))
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Thank you Deborah :razz: I`m going to see if he wants the KFC now. Seriously, 30 min in line, and some guy in a giant dodge ram truck a few cars behind in line was flipping out.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Thank you so much Lisa :razz: I`m just hoping he stops this fall that is worse than an Insulin drop!
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

If Marje doesn't check in, maybe send her a PM? I would be very reluctant to shoot with those circumstances.
Liz
ETA: Did you retest that 67?
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

Thanks Liz! They have both been PM'd (Marje and Sienne)... yeah, I`m not even thinking about shooting, I^m thinking about stopping the non-insulin related drop. I`ll post the retest in a sec..

He is INHALING the KFC!! That's why I brought it, that`s why I sat in the line with the crazy Ram Pickup guy for 30 min!! YEAYYYYYYYYYY
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

+13/167

I`m going to shoot now, an hour late. thanks you guys, for being here for us... :YMHUG:

Any ideas about the dark throw up? It would have been clear except ... I assume it was blood. :sad: Just offhand I guess I'd have to say that it doesn`t seem like a particularly good thing...
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben 11.5/134 PMPS 67 STALLING-DOSING ADVICE NE

I wouldn't be comfortable shooting.

I'm also concerned about what he's vomiting up. What AB do you have him on? It could be effecting his stomach. You may need an anti-emetic (a drug for vomiting) if this keeps up.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

People like that Ram truck guy irritate me and yet crack me up. Really? What good does it do to get all worked up like that? Is getting your KFC an emergency? Will people die if you don't get it soon? Or are you just a jerk with a big truck and patience issues?!

Glad to hear that Reuben is enjoying his chicken!!!! and much better PMPS number! Hope he continues to do well tonight. (hugs)
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

The color of the puke could have been from the gravy or what he was eating earlier. It is possible to break a capillary when you vomit. If Reuben isn't keeping food down, then by tomorrow it may mean a vet visit.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

Well, shoot, I didn`t see your post so I shot.

He keeps food down, but he throws up when his stomach is empty. He hadn`t eaten in 4 hours when he threw up.

He`s back on clavamox, it has never been a problem. He was doing the empty stomach throwing up before we started it a couple of days ago.

There was nothing at all in his stomach when he threw up.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

So now, I think I need to know what is going on that you wouldn`t have shot, since I did and now I have to deal with it. Instead of going to sleep.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

Deborah & Shasta said:
People like that Ram truck guy irritate me and yet crack me up. Really? What good does it do to get all worked up like that? Is getting your KFC an emergency? Will people die if you don't get it soon? Or are you just a jerk with a big truck and patience issues?!

Glad to hear that Reuben is enjoying his chicken!!!! and much better PMPS number! Hope he continues to do well tonight. (hugs)


Oh you made me laugh!! Thank you!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well, I shot but apparently I shouldn`t have. Shoot. :roll: It would help if I knew why I shouldn`t have...
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

It's not a problem that you shot. It's just that if you can't get food into Reuben, if his numbers drop, you may have a fight on your hands to get carbs into him. Likewise, if he's vomiting, then you can't be sure he'll keep the food down. Just keep an eye on things. Hopefully, it will all be a non-issue.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

Alexa

I'm sorry I just saw your pm. If he throws up when his stomach is empty, he might be producing acid ...does he throw up a clear vomit at that time (I'm talking generally, not what he threw up tonight). I know I have to keep food in Gus's tummy every three hours. You could talk to your vet about using Pepcid AC.

If you don't think that's what it is, I'd definitely get this checked out.

Ill be up three more hours so will be sure and check in on you. Can you get a +1 please just to see where he is?
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167

Sorry I forgot you give him Pepcid. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I was just trying to get a post to you quickly and also get food in Missy G who came into :mrgreen: tonight.

Please update when you can.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167 1*189

+1/189


Thank you so much Marje.

I slept from shot to +1, I am exhausted. I^ll wake up for +2.

This is how he acts when the intestinal infection is raging. I think I might have to add another anti biotic. It took 2 to get it under control originally. I can add metronidazole to the clavamox.

In the meantime, we are adept at syringe feeding.

Go Gracie!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167 1*189

(((Alexa))) You are one amazing lady!!!

Glad to see a bit of a food spike at +1 considering all things. Poor Reuben. You know him best and I'm glad you can get food into him.

Looking forward to hanging with you again ;-) ;-) See you at +2.
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167 1*189

Good Morning, Ladies!

(((Alexa and Reuben)))

Can you verify somehow whether he is throwing up blood (if he vomits again)?

My first thought (with the caveat that I am by no means certain - it's just an impulse) was to wonder about something like an ulcer?

Marje, did Gracie ever vomit blood when she was having her GI issues?

Alexa, is there any way you could get Reuben seen by a vet specializing in GI issues?

This blows. I'm so sorry. (Need another song?)
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/14 Reuben PMPS 167 1*189

Hey Janie Jane! Good to see you...early there isn't it and I hope you are having a lovely spring morn.

No...Gracie didn't even throw up.....
 
Hi Marje :mrgreen: Yes, it's a lovely (early) morning - Luca and Henry plays cops and robbers in and out of our bedroom from 6am, so sleep was essentially over with at that point :lol:

Are there any kitties with frequent GI issues that I'm not thinking of (because the coffee hasn't kicked in yet)? I'm not thinking of, say, Ann/Maggie (megacolon), more of kitties with frequent nausea/vomiting/other GI trouble?

Janie Jane :-D
 
+2/119

I syringed 20 ml of his homeade food.

Thank you Marje! :razz:

Hi Jane! :-D I wish there was a vet that specialized in GI issues. I'm afraid the vet situation is ... ah... less that than ideal.

I can not stay awake, argh, I'm sorry! Back at +3.
 
((Alexa))

Yup, I know, your vet situation is a bit crummy :shock: Maybe there is a vet further away, or in the US even, that would agree to a phone consultation of some sort? I'm not sure if that is possible. I do know that our vets will give some feedback over the phone in non-emergent situations. Just a thought. Do you visit the US regularly? (Is there a chance you could take Reuben along on your next visit and get him seen by a GI vet then?)

Sorry if none of this helps...
HUGS!
Jane
 
Hi girls,

My first thought was the same as Jane's, ulcers or GI trouble of some sort. I think he should see the vet tomorrow if it's blood he's vomiting. I'm also thinking he should have a totally new AB instead of switching back and forth between the two he's been taking. One or both of them may be irritating his stomach. Not to mention that if he stays on the same ones for too long he will become immune to them. It would be best to try a new one at this point if it's still needed.

I hope he's feeling better after the chicken.
 
I see he is at 76 at +3.5. I'm sure you err sleeping in between tests and I'm headed to bed. Looks like ill be doing the same. Jane is around if you need help.

Hope he feels better and you get some rest. See you mananananana.
 
+3.5/79

Soooo hard to wake up this time. This +3.5 is nadirish-y, often.

I will think about the points you both bring up, and be coherent tomorrow in answering them, is that okay? I'm so so appreciative of the help :YMHUG: just incredibly tired and can barely get this post typed.

I+m not worried about him going low from here. I`m going to torture him with a couple more syringes of food and go back to sleep for a few hours, and feed again at +7 or so.

:YMHUG:
 
Hello my dear!

I know you must be utterly knackered - still, if you can at all manage it, I would probably try to get one more sleep-test in an hour. If ouy can't be awake enough to post, just update your SS and I'll post it for you in-condo.

I'm off for a run now but I will check back in an hour on your SS, ok? Just in case you manage a sleep-test. Hang in there!

Hugs!
Jane
 
I`m sorry Jane, I just couldn`t do it ohmygod_smile Noodles!

I'm going to get the morning routine and ~O) ~O) ~O) going, and I`ll be back in the new condo in a little bit.

Thank you, marje, sienne, melanie and rhiannon for showing up in our condo last night :YMHUG:
 
Ahh Reuben. You are just wanting so much add'l attention. There are much better ways to do so.

I have no input on Reuben, Alexa, but just wanted to stop by and give you a :YMHUG:

Hang in there and hopefully the naps you get will refresh you beyond imagine!!!

Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top