10/14 Regs PMPS +10 145 AMPS 388 +1 511 +2 447 +6.5 352

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Last post
Regs had a really good day yesterday! I think it was actually the first time he managed to stay in yellows for two full cycles, with some beautiful blues overnight. Unfortunately, those blues seemed to be a little too much for him, and this morning his preshot number shot up to almost 400. I'm honestly a little afraid to even check his +1 😬

He also wasn't quite as hungry this morning, but he did have an extra ounce of LC food overnight because I wanted to slow down his drop. I was worried that if he went too low, we'd end up with another big bounce. Well, looks like we got one anyway!

I've been wondering about his feeding schedule. Regs usually gets a snack around +9, but would it make sense to split that snack into two smaller portions, giving half around +5 or +6 and the other half at +9? Could that possibly help prevent those late-night drops? Or is there anything else I could try to avoid these massive bounces? I love seeing those beautiful blues, but the roller coaster that follows is exhausting and I'm always worried about DKA and Ketones and so.

EDIT yes I knew it, his +1 is 511, poor baby. How do you all manage not to panic with this kind of numbers?

And of course, Regs couldn't resist striking a pose for the camera! 🥰❤️

B61D719B-FEAD-4273-B007-508A52626BD2.png
 
Last edited:
Handsome boy!!! The higher numbers from bouncing are so frustrating but unfortunately just a part of feline diabetes for many of us 😭

I hope he breaks this bounce gently for you!

We feed at both +6 and +8, mostly after trial and error. It’s because sometimes Moonie drops steeper at +6 and sometimes after +8. So feeding twice gives us two chances to blunt the drop.

Moonie is a gravy fiend so we are unable to feed pates sadly. So we feed the Omg Gravy Weruva pouches alternating with some other Weruva options like Lamb Burgini. You can always try different proteins within FF and Sheba pate if you know that he tolerates them?
 
Handsome boy!!! The higher numbers from bouncing are so frustrating but unfortunately just a part of feline diabetes for many of us 😭

I hope he breaks this bounce gently for you!

We feed at both +6 and +8, mostly after trial and error. It’s because sometimes Moonie drops steeper at +6 and sometimes after +8. So feeding twice gives us two chances to blunt the drop.

Moonie is a gravy fiend so we are unable to feed pates sadly. So we feed the Omg Gravy Weruva pouches alternating with some other Weruva options like Lamb Burgini. You can always try different proteins within FF and Sheba pate if you know that he tolerates them?
The bounces are so frustrating, especially when he goes in the 400s and 500s. Thankfully by lunch he was down to 350 but still not super hungry.

I know I am overprotective and watch for every tiny little thing that’s different, especially now when Rob is not home and since Merlin is gone. And in may the doctor at the vet clinic told us in may Regs has only 3-6 month with his chf, and almost 5 month are over, so I guess I’m watching everything more carefully because I’m bracing for impact 😓

Maybe after the bounce breaks I should try giving him 1 night meals. 1 might bring him back up a little if he is low, but the second one might prevent that he is even dropping that low.

with the food I made the mistake that I did let him lick out the empty bowls of the other cats, so maybe that could be just a game to get something better, and he absolutely wins that one.

I think Regs loves gravy’s so that’s awesome. Maybe I will order one of those to mix up his food. For a while he was really into flaked tuna, now he doesn’t eat that anymore and he is in chunky chicken, that’s now also bad so I need to find something that’s new. And ff chicken pate is boring anyway 🙄
 
Last edited:
The bounces are so frustrating, especially when he goes in the 400s and 500s. Thankfully by lunch he was down to 350 but still not super hungry.

I know I am overprotective and watch for every tiny little thing that’s different, especially now when Rob is not home and since Merlin is gone. And in may the doctor at the vet clinic told us in may Regs has only 3-6 month with his chf, and almost 5 month are over, so I guess I’m watching everything more carefully because I’m bracing for impact 😓

Maybe after the bounce breaks I should try giving him 1 night meals. 1 might bring him back up a little if he is low, but the second one might prevent that he is even dropping that low.

with the food I made the mistake that I did let him lick out the empty bowls of the other cats, so maybe that could be just a game to get something better, and he absolutely wins that one.

I think Regs loves gravy’s so that’s awesome. Maybe I will order one of those to mix up his food. For a while he was really into flaked tuna, now he doesn’t eat that anymore and he is in chunky chicken, that’s now also bad so I need to find something that’s new. And ff chicken pate is boring anyway 🙄
Good luck with the feeding schedule. You can try different things to see what works better.
I’m glad Regs is seeing blues!
The bouncing is so frustrating. I still have it with Ivy too.
I’m sorry he’s got chf and sending many prayers 🙏🙏🙏 for him to continue to feel well. He’s such a sweetie💗💓💓
 
Good luck with the feeding schedule. You can try different things to see what works better.
I’m glad Regs is seeing blues!
The bouncing is so frustrating. I still have it with Ivy too.
I’m sorry he’s got chf and sending many prayers 🙏🙏🙏 for him to continue to feel well. He’s such a sweetie💗💓💓
Thanks so much Staci. I'm very happy that he has some blues now, and hopefully the bounces get less or weaker over time. Thankfully he came a little down during the day. So sorry that Ivy is still bouncing into the 400s I guess thats really something we just have to deal with.

I know I said it in your post sometimes bloods are wrong so maybe sometimes vets are wrong too. And I know without me he would have died on May 20th, so every day he is having is a gift for both of us. I hope that sounds convincing because I say it like a mantra to convince me eventually 🤣
 
The bounces are so frustrating, especially when he goes in the 400s and 500s. Thankfully by lunch he was down to 350 but still not super hungry.

I know I am overprotective and watch for every tiny little thing that’s different, especially now when Rob is not home and since Merlin is gone. And in may the doctor at the vet clinic told us in may Regs has only 3-6 month with his chf, and almost 5 month are over, so I guess I’m watching everything more carefully because I’m bracing for impact 😓

Maybe after the bounce breaks I should try giving him 1 night meals. 1 might bring him back up a little if he is low, but the second one might prevent that he is even dropping that low.

with the food I made the mistake that I did let him lick out the empty bowls of the other cats, so maybe that could be just a game to get something better, and he absolutely wins that one.

I think Regs loves gravy’s so that’s awesome. Maybe I will order one of those to mix up his food. For a while he was really into flaked tuna, now he doesn’t eat that anymore and he is in chunky chicken, that’s now also bad so I need to find something that’s new. And ff chicken pate is boring anyway 🙄
Everyone ends up experimenting with their food schedule - we’re still doing it - so don’t worry if you feel like you need to make adjustments! Plus I feel like over time your kitty enjoys throwing you a curve ball here or two and forcing you to adapt :)

You have such much you’ve been dealing with and I think you’re such an extremely loving and dedicated caregiver. Regs is so so lucky to have you.

If he loves gravy definitely try the OMG Gravy pouches! Weruva publishes their nutrition info (including carb as % ME) so all you have to do is check on their website. Moonie loves them so much. They’re higher LC - mostly between 4-7 percent - but some kitties do better on higher carb LC anyway. And after seeing Moonie’s entire face light up, I couldn’t force her to go back.

Moonie is allergic to beef so we haven’t tried any of the beef options. But the lamb and tuna, chicken and tuna, duck and salmon, and chicken and shrimp all have extremely gravy like textures. She didn’t love the chicken and chicken and turkey ones as much sadly.
 
Thanks so much Staci. I'm very happy that he has some blues now, and hopefully the bounces get less or weaker over time. Thankfully he came a little down during the day. So sorry that Ivy is still bouncing into the 400s I guess thats really something we just have to deal with.

I know I said it in your post sometimes bloods are wrong so maybe sometimes vets are wrong too. And I know without me he would have died on May 20th, so every day he is having is a gift for both of us. I hope that sounds convincing because I say it like a mantra to convince me eventually 🤣
Thanks Britta, I do appreciate your comments. Makes me think more!

I’m so glad you are there to advocate for your sweet boy. Every day is truly a gift with these sweet lovable kitties 💓💓💓💓💓💓
 
Everyone ends up experimenting with their food schedule - we’re still doing it - so don’t worry if you feel like you need to make adjustments! Plus I feel like over time your kitty enjoys throwing you a curve ball here or two and forcing you to adapt :)

You have such much you’ve been dealing with and I think you’re such an extremely loving and dedicated caregiver. Regs is so so lucky to have you.

If he loves gravy definitely try the OMG Gravy pouches! Weruva publishes their nutrition info (including carb as % ME) so all you have to do is check on their website. Moonie loves them so much. They’re higher LC - mostly between 4-7 percent - but some kitties do better on higher carb LC anyway. And after seeing Moonie’s entire face light up, I couldn’t force her to go back.

Moonie is allergic to beef so we haven’t tried any of the beef options. But the lamb and tuna, chicken and tuna, duck and salmon, and chicken and shrimp all have extremely gravy like textures. She didn’t love the chicken and chicken and turkey ones as much sadly.
Thank you so much Connie, I just wish I could have appreciated the time with Regs before he got sick more 😥

He still did not really want to eat tonight, in the end he had all 5 oz but it was a lot of chicken hearts involved. I gave him flaked trout, that was new and he never had that, and that was more interesting than the chunky chicken, I hope he is just picky because I spoiled him and Regs is smart, I'm sure he figured out that I come with something better if he is not eating. But maybe some variety would be good, even if they are slightly higher carb. Maybe that motivated him to eat.

I guess I will go to the pet shop on the weekend and buy some test cans/pouches, how many times did I buy some packet with 24 cans in the past and they didn't like it?!
 
Thank you so much Connie, I just wish I could have appreciated the time with Regs before he got sick more 😥

He still did not really want to eat tonight, in the end he had all 5 oz but it was a lot of chicken hearts involved. I gave him flaked trout, that was new and he never had that, and that was more interesting than the chunky chicken, I hope he is just picky because I spoiled him and Regs is smart, I'm sure he figured out that I come with something better if he is not eating. But maybe some variety would be good, even if they are slightly higher carb. Maybe that motivated him to eat.

I guess I will go to the pet shop on the weekend and buy some test cans/pouches, how many times did I buy some packet with 24 cans in the past and they didn't like it?!
You’re appreciating the time you have with him now and I know he appreciates you so much. He always looks so happy and loved :)

And the picky behavior is the behavior of a spoiled boy who knows his mom will always produce something better 🤣

When Moonie first came home, she would wolf down any can of food. And now if she wants another flavor, she just looks at me until I get the one she wants and then expects me to spoon feed it to her 🤣. And yes! The more cans I buy the more likely it is that she’ll decide she no longer likes it. Such is the life of a cat servant 🤣
 
Hi Britta! What are you thinking about in terms of an increase? He's been at this dose for a week now with only one nadir below 150.
Hey Mary, Thanks for looking into my ss. I did not even think about that yet, was so happy with all the yellows we got. You think we could? Maybe I should wait until Saturday to be home the first two days to monitor him.
 
You’re appreciating the time you have with him now and I know he appreciates you so much. He always looks so happy and loved :)

And the picky behavior is the behavior of a spoiled boy who knows his mom will always produce something better 🤣

When Moonie first came home, she would wolf down any can of food. And now if she wants another flavor, she just looks at me until I get the one she wants and then expects me to spoon feed it to her 🤣. And yes! The more cans I buy the more likely it is that she’ll decide she no longer likes it. Such is the life of a cat servant 🤣
He is very loved and spoiled now yes but that will not make it easier 😓

No doubts Moonie figured that out very fast that there is always space for an upgrade in the food 😂 Unfortunately they learn that way too fast


This morning I try to sit it out, he got his night snack and his normal food and he had 3.3 oz already out of his 5 so I assume that is enough for the lantus and just sprinkled some chicken on top, thats it. Last night he had a tiny amount of food left in the bowl and that was gone later.
Also Regs is back to a weight that is close to the one before he got diabetes, so maybe his body does not need to catch up so much anymore, And to be fair 13oz of wet food is too much for him in the long run.

The issue is more the emotional one, Is he just spoiled? Or is something wrong with him? Maybe the heart (RR 20-24) maybe the kidney (I read somewhere that Zobaline is bad for the kidneys) maybe something else? Maybe his time is up (and I think about that way too often) Why is he not drinking? Why I he drinking so much? Rob always say I need to get out more and I think he might be right
 
He is very loved and spoiled now yes but that will not make it easier 😓

No doubts Moonie figured that out very fast that there is always space for an upgrade in the food 😂 Unfortunately they learn that way too fast


This morning I try to sit it out, he got his night snack and his normal food and he had 3.3 oz already out of his 5 so I assume that is enough for the lantus and just sprinkled some chicken on top, thats it. Last night he had a tiny amount of food left in the bowl and that was gone later.
Also Regs is back to a weight that is close to the one before he got diabetes, so maybe his body does not need to catch up so much anymore, And to be fair 13oz of wet food is too much for him in the long run.

The issue is more the emotional one, Is he just spoiled? Or is something wrong with him? Maybe the heart (RR 20-24) maybe the kidney (I read somewhere that Zobaline is bad for the kidneys) maybe something else? Maybe his time is up (and I think about that way too often) Why is he not drinking? Why I he drinking so much? Rob always say I need to get out more and I think he might be right
I totally get it. But to be fair he’s probably right. I always find myself staring at Moonie thinking about all the questions that don’t have answers. But that’s probably the road to insanity 🤣

The important thing is that you’re trying your best and Regs is a happy boy who knows he is loved and the absolute center of your (the) world. That’s what I tell myself anyway.

Hope you have a wonderful day today!
 
Hey Mary, Thanks for looking into my ss. I did not even think about that yet, was so happy with all the yellows we got. You think we could? Maybe I should wait until Saturday to be home the first two days to monitor him.
If it were me, I would keep raising until his nadir is reliably in the greens. But you can always ask for a dosing review!

And I do the same thing - I try to only raise doses in the mornings when I can be with Moonie. The new dose rarely does anything the first cycle but it always makes me feel better :)
 
I totally get it. But to be fair he’s probably right. I always find myself staring at Moonie thinking about all the questions that don’t have answers. But that’s probably the road to insanity 🤣

The important thing is that you’re trying your best and Regs is a happy boy who knows he is loved and the absolute center of your (the) world. That’s what I tell myself anyway.

Hope you have a wonderful day today!
Yes staring at Regs and way too long at his ss to try to find similarities and where his cycle might be going🤣

Doesn’t matter how much time he has left but I will try to give him the best time possible with the most treats etc.

Thanks so much and I hope your day will be wonderful as well, hopefully Moonie will finally break her bounce 🤞
 
If it were me, I would keep raising until his nadir is reliably in the greens. But you can always ask for a dosing review!

And I do the same thing - I try to only raise doses in the mornings when I can be with Moonie. The new dose rarely does anything the first cycle but it always makes me feel better :)
I think I might ask for dosing review tomorrow that we could start Saturday, I know after the first dose nothing happen because the depot needs to build up but better safe than sorry.

I’m sure Regs will have a drop today since I even thought about an increase 😂
 
Hey Mary, Thanks for looking into my ss. I did not even think about that yet, was so happy with all the yellows we got. You think we could? Maybe I should wait until Saturday to be home the first two days to monitor him.
Here is the SLGS dosing blurb for increases:

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit"

On this dose, he's only seen one drop below 150 in seven days. Unless he drops lower, if it were Jude, I would definitely take him up .25units. You don't want to hold them too long at those higher numbers.
 
Here is the SLGS dosing blurb for increases:

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit"

On this dose, he's only seen one drop below 150 in seven days. Unless he drops lower, if it were Jude, I would definitely take him up .25units. You don't want to hold them too long at those higher numbers.
Thanks so much Mary! Regarding the guide he really deserves a little bump to 2.75. But I will wait to the weekend that I can be home in case he needs me and do the curve beforehand. I’m pretty sure there won’t be big surprises but we will see😊
 
Back
Top