10/14 PurrFace PMPS 358 +8/323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
His BG #s are higher since increasing his dose by .25U. We didn't see the jump in BG #s when we took him from 1U to 1.25U. Is this something to be expected or is his body getting use to the insulin thereby causing it to have a lesser effect? Should I keep him at this dose if his BG #s are still in the 300> range after 6 cycles?
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306

Hi John

Thanks for your patience....I need to look at his SS and then I'll be back to help you.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306

It's possible he could still be bouncing off those blue numbers the other night plus might have had a little new dose wonkiness in the mix.

I'm not sure that I would have recommended you increase his dose. He was starting to respond to it and you had a green nadir. I might have given him a few more cycles....some cats are really slow responders. Having said that, since you took him up, we won't know. I'd see what he does tonight and if he doesn't come down, I'd increase his dose. Why? Because if you take him down and that dose wasn't the right one for him, he'll spend more time at high numbers. If you take him up, he will hit his breakthrough dose hopefully sooner rather than later. You'll just need to be vigilant about testing him.

Of course, you hold the syringe and so it's your choice. Others might have some different thoughts for you.

eta: one other thing....are you feeding after nadir? If so, I'd try to not feed after nadir. You could be slowing down the effects of the insulin.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306

I realize that the advice you received on 10/12 was based on the protocol, however the protocol is a static set of guidelines. We try to appreciate the whole picture and it's important to take the nuances on a spreadsheet into account. It helps if the person offering dose suggestions has experience.

I agree with Marje -- it seems likely that PurrFace was experiencing that lovely combo of bounce + new dose wonkiness. Since it took a while to see some movement on the 1.25u dose, I'd give the 1.5u dose some time to see how PurrFace responds.

From your SS, it looks like you've been giving your cat food at +8 or later. We definitely discourage feeding any time between +8 and shot time. Feeding that late in the cycle can cause the food to influence your pre-shot number. Like Marje said, if you feed after nadir, the effect of the insulin is waning so there's less available to offset the effects of food.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306

Marje & Sienne. Thank you both for your response. We try not to feed within 3 hours of taking a test but he gets hungry and stares at us meowing. We'll just have to be more determined. His nadir hits about +6 - +8 so it will be 4-6 hours before he would get food at shot time. We'll hold him off food after nadir. If he gets too bad I'll give hi some of his freezed dried treats. I'll also keep him at the current dose for several ore cycles and will post for advise then before increasing.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306 +8/328

You mean you don't feed three hours before taking a preshot test, right?

See how he does...and it will take a little patience because he does respond slowly. Either put "dose ?" in your subject line or PM one of us and ask us to look at his SS after a couple more cycles, ok?
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306 +8/328

Marje Yes, I do not feed 3 hours prior to his shot. We did have problems with him getting into our civvies dry food but I believe we have them converted to all can now. I'll put the DOSE? in the subject line for help if his numbers don't come down. Thank you, Marje, for you help. I appreciate it.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306 +8/328

Using freeze dried treats is fine. Some folks here will cook a piece of chicken, cut it up into treat size pieces, and then freeze it. They defrost enough for a few days. Using chicken or some other plain protein as a treat that's pretty much zero carbs would also work.
 
Re: 10/14 PurrFace AMPS 363 +2/338 +4/306 +8/328

Sienne. Thank you. I'll give the cooked chicken a try. PurrFace likes chicken. So far It's been 6 hours since he ate. He's asleep in bed with my DW. One hour to shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top