10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off again"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap 10/14

227 AMPS
217 +2
121 +7
193 +9
212 PMPS
165 +1
232 +2
201 +4
235 +6.5

Miss Polly's droopy tail again. Moving slowly. And scared of me. Sometimes. I'm herding her into the t/f/s place with lots of twists and turns as she tries to escape the oncoming looming beast, but she'll jump up on her counter, let me love on her there, and if I sit on the floor in there, she'll come for scritches. But out in the main house, if I'm around, she isn't. Just came home from walking the dog, she was in the living room window. Immediately got down and went to the bedroom, under the bed. Will go out into the enclosure if I go in the cat room, back into the cat room if I go out in the enclosure. Yet last night she slept on the bed and even nested on my chest for a bit during the early-dark morning. Just weird.

It's almost like the scaredy Polly of three years ago.

Eating, drinking, peeing and pooping just fine. No fever. Pink. Good respiration and capillary recall. Here we go again.

Last droopy tail lasted 4 or so days. Hope this fades more quickly!

If we're still droopy after a few days, I'll email CSU. But they'll tell me to take her to my vet for bloodwork, a curve, and to consider lowering her dose 'cuz she's probably getting close to hypoglycemia. That's what they said last time.

So, some light for the girl.

The good news. I'm liking that this dose is doing well.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

aw, miss polly, you're worrying your mom!

sending healing vibes to her - it's so worrisome when they aren't acting normally.

I find it hard to imagine that she's getting near hypoglycemia. you test plenty, in fact, you could probably skip a few of those hourly tests - i don't think there are hidden lows in there. I can't see anything that suggests she's getting close to 50's. In fact, if she were mine, I'd consider skootching up to 10.75u to try to get her back in greens again.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

Marilyn, I am sending tons and tons of healing light and vines for Sweet Polly!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: You're mentioning the droopy tail, and I know what you mean- there's a sixth sense of when our kitties are not feeling quite right that sometimes the vet doesn't undertstand. It's frustrating and I am hoping that whatever IT is, that Polly will overcome it! In the mean time, her SS has looked great- loving those blues!

As a sidenote, as Tiger increases up the dosing scale, it enters my mind that sometimes when I can tell her BG is dropping, she doesn't look quite right either. It's nothing I can put my finger on either. Just that she doesn't look like she feels great at times. :oops: It occurs to me that I have read, Lantus is acidic and I have read of other cats who did better on Lev for that reason. I have asked our vet and she is agreeable, but at our last visit, I decided to give Lantus a little while longer to see if we can get Tiger regulated. Just wondering if you had any input?
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

i think it depends on the cat. punkin got up to 15.5u and never reacted to his shots. Gracie reacted to even a tiny dose. I think the reaction is with the shot, though, not after it's injected.

Worth a try to switch, though, if you are done with your current insulin supply. Many cats seem to do well with the Lev.
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

Julie, I was seriously considering switching to Lev, but I want to give Lantus at least 6 months or more. Besides, I have 4 more pens to use up first :lol: I have just been reading about some kitties that never got regulated on Lantus, and their ill effects, and was wondering.
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

Most cats do fine on Lantus. It's a good insulin. The suggestion is to give it 6 months on any insulin before you switch. None of them are a quick fix!
 
Re: 10/14 Polly AMPS 285+2=265+5=149+7=164 PMPS 170 "off aga

I'm sorry Polly is feeling off. The first while when Neko started getting into green she'd hide under the bed. There is a period of adjustment as they get used to lower numbers. I hope that's it. :YMHUG:

As for changing to Lev, some people have noticed a personality difference for the better when they switch to Lev.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top