10/14 Michael amps 269 +5 250 pmps 267 +2 307

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/14 Michael amps 269 +5 250

Oh, oh. Flat yellows, Michael? Could mean you're saving up for some action later. Be good.

Marilyn and Polly
 
another bounce has started (I think) Pmps 267 +2 307. Michael sure likes that "stinky" grr_red pink
 
Hi again
I read a post and now I can't find it. It went something like this. (I Think) If the +2 is higher than the ps , a bounce could start and we don't have to test and could get some sleep. If the +2 is lower than the ps , it might be an active cycle. If the +2 is about the same as the ps, then it might be a pretty normal cycle.
Whoever posted, could you repost this :?: (I should have bookmarked it.)
Thanks,
Paula :smile:
 
you have it basically right. It's on the New to the Group yellow starred sticky. The first part of the quote below are actually links, so if you'd like to read about them go to the New to the Group page and click on the links.

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve - a simple explanation

NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
I think this is what you're thinking of Paula

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that can mean that he's going to go much lower during that cycle and it's really important for you to get more tests in later in the cycle

If the +2 is about the same as the PS, then it's usually going to be a more "normal" cycle, where they gradually go down until nadir and then gradually go back up

If the +2 is higher, then he may be starting a bounce, and those are the times you may be able to take a break on the testing later on

Now make sure you notice I say "Usually" and "may be".....ECID but we've seen the +2 be just about as close to a crystal ball as you can get in this dance
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top